We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Makuto Guesthouse Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights in the four-people room with ensuite bathroom. The bathroom light was tricky, but the room had plenty of light and ventilation. The common areas are really cozy, even in the winter. Their walking tour, which ends at the caves in Sacromonte, was a really out-of-the-box experience for us. The neighborhood is picturesque, but the streets to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is much worse than what the reviews are really are. I've been traveling for almost half a year in europe, this isn't gonna even make it to one of my top 50 hostels. Stayed there for few nights, wouldn't recommend staying there honestly. The hostel is considerably more expensive and overpriced compared to others in Granada, for no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoav L
Sonia S, Propietario at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel, responded to this review

You were super happy with the hostel extending nights every day until you slept last night in the house of a girl that you met at night, and tried not to pay your accommodation in the hostel claiming that you had not slept there. Deceiving us saying that you checked out but keeping the hostel key, your things in the...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

The hostel is really lovely and the people working there is really kind and helpful. They make free tours that include the best views to Granada and the Alhambra. They also made an optional dinner that was really nice and cheap. They have a bar where you can drink beers and wine, and a chill out zone to watch movies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lautaro A
Zaragoza, Spain
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Makuto doesn't prepare its guests for this, but you have to trudge up steep, cobblestone hills to get there, so having a suitcase is a very bad idea. I would've appreciated a warning so I could've booked elsewhere. They sent a long email with directions on the day of my reservation, which--since I had no data--I couldn't access, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kahutch1214
Islamabad, Pakistan
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I had a great time at Makuto! Very helpful staff, a great walking tour of Mirador and Sacromonte, and a delicious dinner. The hostel is uphill in the Albaicin, which is an area worth exploring itself. However, if an uphill climb isn't your thing, this is not for you. The rooms were clean and the 4-bedroom dorm has its own...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hassan M
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

I am to Makuto after staying at an Air BnB in town. When I had walked a friend to his hostel they were extremely welcoming to me as a non-guest to join (and pay appropriately) on some activities, meals, and spend time with my friend. After my paid nights at the Air BnB I quickly switched to be a part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kodee317
Reviewed 5 December 2016

It's a magic place which attracts interesting people all over the world, lots of people will go back again and again which illustrate its glamour. I love the walking tour a lot where the staff take you to the top of the Monte Sacre to see the sunset. The view was astonishing. Also we're provided the chance to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yue C
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I loved this hostel. I had a comfortable bunk cabin (to myself the second night). Vibrant decorations, hammocks, and people everywhere. The "chill-out room" was so comfortable and a wonderful place to meet people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I had an awesome time at Makuto's. It is a beautiful and charming set up. It feels a lot like a camp, everyone socializing and going on adventures together. The food they serve there is delicious, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the kind of people staying there are very open and adventurous. The accommodations were minimal, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex33388
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Super friendly staff, lovely artistic atmosphere within a unique setting in the heart of the moorish neighborhood. I enjoyed hanging out there just as much as walking around the city. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vera N

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
895 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
874 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abadia Hotel Granada
#61 of 125 in Granada
350 reviews
Albaicín
White Nest Hostel Granada
White Nest Hostel Granada
#10 of 136 in Granada
282 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Granada Inn Backpackers
Granada Inn Backpackers
#5 of 136 in Granada
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tired of crappy accommodations and impersonal hotels? Come stay in our backpacker 's hostel and enjoy a new concept of lodging. Hammocks - Chill Out area - Tree House - Wifi and Internet - Kitchen - Bar - Patio - BBQ and Lots of fun! Makuto Guesthouse Hostel is a charming historic mansion located in the oldest and most attractive neighborhood of Granada, the Albaicin. Moroccan markets, sunny plazas, amazing viewpoints ... Come and discover the perfect mix of classic Moorish architecture with a unique touch of character; find yourself in a relaxing and informal atmosphere, perfect for independent travelers. Loved by travelers for its location, personality and the most friendly, relaxed and chilled out atmosphere. Our friendly and multi-lingual hostel staff will welcome you and provide best tips for you to experience the life of Granada outside of the typical 'tourist attractions'. Makuto Guesthouse Hostel Granada offers a home away from home and we'd love to have you join our backpacker's family. Come and stay with us. Turn your trip into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makuto Guesthouse Hostel

Address: Calle Tina 18 | Barrio Albaicin, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Price Range: €19 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Makuto Guesthouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makuto Guesthouse Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Makuto Guesthouse Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room by the toilets so you don't have to walk across the whole courtyard to pee at night.”
 of 5 bubbles Alex33388, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Put fans on before going to bed so you don't wake people up suddenly”
 of 5 bubbles Corinne_TSV, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“the all girls dorm is way bigger than the other rooms but it can be quite a hike to get to your bed.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The hostel has and incredible super relaxed and chill atmosphere, thanks to the location and the staff”
 of 5 bubbles K8149VJalessandrog, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Either dorm rooms with 6 or 8 beds which share a big bathroom. Or a four bed room, which has its own bathroom and kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles bollyanddom, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5