We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Schwartzestr. 1-03 Taborkirche, 04229, Leipzig, Saxony Germany
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#48 of 109 hotels in Leipzig
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Romantisches First Class Hotel im Südwesten im Stadtteil Kleinzschocher. Liebevoll antik möblierte Zimmer im italienichen Barockstil. Gegenüber der Taborkirche & einem wunderschönen Park. Eigener Hotelparplatz. 100 m Haltestelle Straßenbahnlinie Nr. 3 15 Minuten bis zur Innenstadt.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
69Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 15
  • 10
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zuzana H wrote a review Feb 2019
10 contributions3 helpful votes
We had big, nice looking spacious apartment with big bathroom, but I expected better services. When we needed something we had to ask for it twice. Room could be cleaner (no big issues but some dirty plate in kitchen, small splashes on floor or wall... ). My husband loved breakfast - various antipastos, chees, hams and so, I was missing fresh vegetable and fruit (there were e few old apples and small bunch of grapes). Lady taking care of us during breakfast was quite nice. But I guess this hotel is litle bit expensive for what it is... far from center and with average services.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from DonGiovanniLE, Inhaber at Hotel Don Giovanni
Responded 14 May 2019
Thank you so much for your nice Feedback! Best regards Silvia
Read more
Sinanand M wrote a review Oct 2018
Arachova, Greece5 contributions1 helpful vote
We had booked the suite with jacuzzi but to our surprise a different room was given! They couldn’t change the room because the hotel was full... they tried to make a good gesture by giving us breakfast for free. However, we had ordered food by room service, terrible antipasti plate for two which was very expensive as well...but their pizza was good, however they forgotten bring us the bruschetta. They called us at 21:30 to say that they need to collect plates and pay!!!! This was very annoying because our baby was a sleep and she would wake up with every time they called and we had changed our clothes after we were already comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from DonGiovanniLE, Inhaber at Hotel Don Giovanni
Responded 14 May 2019
Thank you for your nice Feedback! Best regards Silvia
Read more
Petros wrote a review Feb 2018
Limassol City, Cyprus305 contributions47 helpful votes
Clean, warm room, nicely decorated. Free parking (limited spaces) but also at the roads around the hotel. Ideally for those with car. Room had an espresso machine and 3-4 capsules provided for free. Is not centrally located but there is a tram station almost outside of the hotel. From some room the characteristic sound of the tram maybe noticeable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from signora007, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Don Giovanni
Responded 28 Dec 2018
Thank you so much for your great feedback! Best regards Silvia Droese, GM
Read more
syl302 wrote a review Jan 2018
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
We arrived on the 1st of January (end of the day) with our two children. Unfortunatley the restaurant was closed, but the lady of the house gave us a very warm welcome and prepared us a fresh pizza from the woodoven; the best ever! Togehter with one of the great wines on the winelist, this was a perfect start of the new year. The rooms are very clean and provide everything you need. We had two connected rooms, which was very convenient with the children. Next morning breakfast buffet was great, lost of fresh food to choose from including a perfect cappucino. Thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from signora007, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Don Giovanni
Responded 28 Dec 2018
Thank you so much for your great feedback! Best regards Silvia Droese, GM
Read more
zengrafix wrote a review Mar 2017
Chatham, United Kingdom32 contributions18 helpful votes
Very easy and free parking in their car park, but also on street parking. Nice friendly lady on reception. They upgraded us to a suite which was a lovely gesture. Room was fantastic with a big bedroom, separate lounge and kitchen area. There is a tram stop literally a 3 min walk away which gives easy access to the town 10 mins away. Quiet location so had an undisturbed sleep. The only negative was the price for breakfast was a little steep at 9 Euro each and it was a limited continental breakfast plus the waitress spoke no English and she also checked me out of the hotel. Just kept speaking to me in German! I feel a bit rotten in saying this as they upgraded me, but it is worth pointing out. It is a little outside the centre, but its worth staying there and very easy to get into the centre if you don't mind jumping on a tram.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ivo V wrote a review Oct 2016
The Hague, The Netherlands128 contributions38 helpful votes
This hotel is very unique! I stayed here 2 years ago, and it's even more decorated. Hard to describe as you need to see it! The owner tried to make "little" italy on this place. Restaurant: Good! Full of local people and with a reason, fresh italian food. Breakfast buffet: Nice choice of cheeses, sandwiches, cereals, eggs, coffee and juices. Rooms, very beautifull decorated, every room is unique... what an experience. Location, not the best but for us, close to the customer okay. there is a street train behind that you hear as a deep dark sound, so if you are a light sleeper, you might need earplugs, i am one, and i always have them with me, but it was no real downside for me!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Room 207 was great!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Stephen M wrote a review Oct 2013
Long Beach, California15 contributions16 helpful votes
I think I died and went to heaven. I've been to Rome, Venice, Florence and Pompeii to name a few, but never to the Italian Alps, or Sicily or even Capri. Now imagine staying in an Italian villa in all of these places rolled into one. This the only way I can describe (using both past experience and sheer imagination) Hotel and Restaurante Don Giovanni. Directions from Leipzig Haupthahnhof (main train station): 1) In front of train station catch the #3 tram (toward Taucha), and get off at Scwartzestrabe, approximately 20 minutes. 2) Hotel and Restaurante Don Giovanni is approximately 100 m around the corner. We we're welcomed by the hard working family managing this menagerie as we entered the Alice and Wonderland meets Pinocchio and Tinker Bell oases. We stayed on the top floor in room 5 with vaulted ceiling, multiple skylights, recessed LED lighting, and custom mosaic tile. The suite was furnished in a hybrid Tuscan Classic Contemporary style, with glitter-ball chandelier included. And the bathroom styled in much the same way was then peppered with modern sleek nickel fixtures including the contoured jacuzzi tub built for two. Free multiple device wifi included in room and throughout the complex. For a modest €9.50 per person we ate breakfast in the winter garden, surrounded by green indoor foliage, marble water fountain, high opaque circus ceiling, knight armor, and various multiple jars of Italian olive, tomato, and green red pepper jars. And I can't forget the bird and lizard habitat on the far end of the garden, where I swear to God I saw the chameleon, with lightning speed, nab an insect. Enjoy.....
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for room #5 on top floor!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
333EuropeanTraveller wrote a review Oct 2013
Berlin, Germany5 contributions10 helpful votes
We were nicely received by an Italian Mama. Cosy but small rooms, clean and nice bathrooms. Very very nice breakfast in the morning with different kinds of cheese, salami, different home made marmelades, teas, and tons of different Italian sweet specialities. You're sitting in the restaurant near the fountain. GOOOOD price-quality! We paid only 75 euros with breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: we didn't have a bath tub... try to ask one!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Xen_Paul wrote a review Jul 2013
Melbourne, Australia407 contributions187 helpful votes
I loved my stay at this quirky hotel. The staff were wonderful. The bed super comfortable and the area was great to explore. If you are after something a little unique this is well worth consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
patbrownett wrote a review May 2012
worcs245 contributions259 helpful votes
firstly be warned that this hotel restaurant is not anywhere near the centre,secondly it follows that for it to have been going for many years it has to be good,so we stayed and ate. Took a bit of finding as it is not in a very salubrious neighborhood but the room was delightful and the meal and wine tasty and good value.I would recommend this to anyone.from the outside doesnt look much but its actually a pretty big restaurant done out with lots of quirky things.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanySaxonyLeipzig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Don Giovanni
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Don Giovanni?
Nearby attractions include JUMP House Leipzig (1.1 km), Täubchenthal (1.1 km), and elipamanoke (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Don Giovanni?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Don Giovanni?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Don Giovanni?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Don Giovanni?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Don Giovanni?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chulo, Roots - Pflanzencafé, and Ristorante Don Giovanni.
Does Hotel Don Giovanni have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Don Giovanni offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Don Giovanni?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Don Giovanni?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Don Giovanni offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Don Giovanni?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mendelssohn-Haus Leipzig (4.5 km), St. Nicholas Church (Nikolaikirche) (4.5 km), and Das Chemnitzer Rathaus (4.3 km).