We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have just returned from a lovely trip to the Christmas Markets @ Dusseldorf . We stayed at this hotel and we're not disappointed . The most impressive thing about the hotel is the staff. Very helpful & efficient. They even helped us out by lending us an iPhone charger as we left ours at home. Rooms comfortable . Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sybiltheswan_11
KENT
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We took a taxi from the airport to the Hotel at a cost of 20 Euros although it can easily be reached via public transport as the hotel is next to Nordsrasse Underground. The reception area was very warm and inviting and nicely decorated for Xmas. We arrived at midday intending to drop off our bags but the very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank macca26g
Taranto, Italia
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Large, clean and comfortable accomodation, with two beds in one room and one in another room. Rules to avoid, as much as possible, noise during late evening and night time. Very kind people at the front desk. Breakfast of good quality and variety. In the end, a nice experience few minutes from the city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VinGi04
England
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel was a perfect base near to (but not in) the Altstadt and a short walk to the main shopping area. The hotel was a short taxi ride from the main railway station (approx 7 euros) and the Nordstrasse U-bahn station is a 30 sec walk away. Upon arrival we were greeted by a pleasant member of staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewAgeTraveller34
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked a room with 4 friends for a citytrip in Dusseldorf. I though it would be 4 beds next to each other, but we got a suite with 2 seperate rooms. The rooms were very clean and we had a modern bathroom (see image). What a luxury! Everything in the hotel was very clean and the breakfast was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidDemeyer
Rauma, Finland
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great location for visiting both Altstad and Messe Düsseldorf. Rooms are big but a bit "oldish", especially bathroom but overall quality worth **** classification. Free wifi, great breakfast, nice beds, good service. Also quiet enough although the room was facing busy Kaisesstrasse. 10 min walk to Altstad through a nice park, U-bahn station Nordstrasse around corner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulixon
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We booked a family room for four and we were delighted to discover that we actually had a suite with an entrance hall, two bedrooms and a bathroom. The location was wonderful for us - a ten minute walk to old town in one direction - in the other direction we discovered a shopping street full of great bakeries, fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IGDM
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review

Dear IGDM, Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate you feedback ! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the central location. Thank you once again for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Dusseldorf! Warm regards, Your Hotel...

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Friendly staff and a decent sized room for a city-centre mid-priced hotel with a modern bathroom. Good breakfast selection, free WiFi, safe in room and only about 10 minutes walk to the old town. The only downside, as with many city-centre hotels, is that you have to use the multi-storey public car park over the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angu5
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review

Dear Angu5, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and thank you for your kind words about our staff. We always strive to improve us and deliver the best service to our guests. Welcome back to us the next time you visit Dusseldorf. Your Hotel Excelsior Team

Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We used the Excelsior for a one night stop in Düsseldorf. The hotel is very well presented with a nice traditional feel as soon as you walk into the entrance. The building is mature but there could be no complaints about its cleanliness, condition or efficiency. Our room was not big but had lovely comfortable beds and the bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turnhill
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review

Dear Turnhill, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Such great feedback is definitely a motivation for us to always give our best! As you correctly point out, we do not feature air conditioning at the hotel but however we do try and keep the rooms as cool as possible by opening windows, placing...

Turku, Finland
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel location is just perfect, walking distance from the old town or if you don't feel like walkin both tram and metro are running next to the hotel. Our room was large, bright and clean as well as the bathroom. The breakfast had enough variety for me and over all the staff was really friendly. So far my absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ByQuinn
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review

Dear ByQuinn, Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate you feedback! Our location truly is one of the best, just around the corner of everything! We hope to welcome you back to Dusseldorf soon! Your Hotel Excelsior Team

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Melia Duesseldorf
#17 of 244 in Dusseldorf
733 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#20 of 244 in Dusseldorf
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Duesseldorf Hafen
#15 of 244 in Dusseldorf
692 reviews
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
#22 of 244 in Dusseldorf
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome home in Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf. The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Dusseldorf can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a spacious hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Address: Kaiserstr. 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Price Range: €45 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel düsseldorf
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was toward the main street (Kaiserstrasse) on the second floor, but street noise did not disturb.”
 of 5 bubbles JukkaPaananen, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles WindyRoad, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that overlook the side street are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles cliffw566, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“level 4 was lovely and quiety”
 of 5 bubbles 725judithb, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“First or second floor, so you don't need the elevators...”
 of 5 bubbles Laotse2, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay