We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Koeln City

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Spa
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
393Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
88Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
1,502Reviews
340Photos
19Q+A
63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 372
  • 735
  • 289
  • 68
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
+2
Stopped here from the 6th / 10th for cathedral and Xmas markets , first impressions was lovely clean hotel with friendly reception staff , we had room 242 which was clean with a lovely big comfy bed and nice large TV , bathroom was lovely and modern with speaker inside so you cou
Read more
Response from hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Mark_Carter_2712, Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy about your comment and really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Ruediger Schild General Manager
Read more
Gave wrong info by one receptionist that my son who is under 16 will have free breakfast; found out we got charged to the room. Manager won’t honor his staffs mistakes and was rude. Staff in the bar were not much better. Should hire people who speak better English.
Read more
Response from hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Anna L, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Köln City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rüdiger Schild General Manager
Read more
No frills. Clean room. No amenities. Just the basic shower gel and shampoo. Go get your own slippers and iron if you want it fast. Gym was basic. No weights though.

Get a room facing the back if you like quiet. We got a front room. It was noisy as we kept the window open for fr
Read more
Response from hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City
Responded 3 days ago
Dear T_fion, you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Köln City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rüdiger Schild General Manager
Read more
It is very rare to meet such an arrogant person like the chief of reception on that first weekend of December 2018. Even the staff present at the weekend complained about her behaviour with guests. They urged us to contact Accor Hotels customer services (which I did as soon as I
Read more
Response from hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Anon_3427, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Novotel Cologne City. We´re happy about your positive comments regarding our new Novotel room concept and breakfast buffet. However, we are very sorry that your stay in our hotel did not meet the level of expectation you had and would like to apologize for this. Best regards, Rüdiger Schild General Manager
Read more
We stayed at the Novotel in Cologne for a recent trip to the Cologne Markets.

The Hotel is in a good location for the Markets and is about 20 min walk to the cathedral, and about 10 Mins to the local Market.

The rooms are grand and big and clean. The room we had had a double be
Read more
Response from hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear AnthonyC5402, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Koeln City. I am sorry that your experience in the Bar did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rüdiger Schild General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
hmmm... no cap for water flow. Need to keep it flowing.
60 inch TV set
USB charging outlets at both sides of the bed
Previous
Can anyone advise if river cruise suitable for 9 and 10 yr old children ..New year's eve ??
We were there this summer and did a river cruise lasted about an hour. Our 8 and 10 year old daughters enjoyed it. They didn’t pay attention to the commentary, but enjoyed a glass of cola as we sailed down the river and back. It wasn’t very busy at that time so they could walk around freely.
1 vote
Show all answers
We are staying in your hotel on dec 30th ..can you advise nearest train station from airport please..or would taxi be better? We arrive after 10pm ..many thanks
Up date on taxi costs. Yes it cost €40 from airport to Novotel city hotel. As taxis were shared it eased the pain a bit.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there an iron and ironing board in each room?
No, they will send the iron and the board to your room upon your request, subject to availability. Don't think it's available at night, only during office hours, my guess. I requested in the evening and they told me to request again next morning.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there an iron and ironing board in each room?
Hi Not each room is equipped with iron and board. You better ask reception. Regards Peter
1 vote
Show all answers
How much is the evening meal for two adults and two children thanks
Dear 38kathy77, Main courses are starting from 14,90 EUR / Special Children Menu available ;-) Greetings from Cologne
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
"Not relevant as staff did not consider special requests."
"Ask for a connecting room if traveling as a family."
"Higher floors rear facing will be quieter. Front rooms overlook busy road"
"You need the keycard for the lift."
"Even numbers face garden; odd face road and river. 5 is highest floor."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel koeln city hotel colognenovotel hotel colognenovotel hotel koeln citynovotel colognecologne novotel
LOCATION
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaCologne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
222
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing