We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Hotel Koeln West

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Waiting half an hour at the counter being a premium customer and visibly sick.... The service is slow and terrible at the restauant. A bit.better the restaurant but still.....incredibly expensive for the quality. Avoid and never again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bio84
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear bio84, thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry that you have not been satisfied during your stay. I am sure you did not wait half an hour at the reception, even at peak times during check in you will never wait longer than five minutes. Also I apologise that you have not been happy with our...

Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms. Wi-fi available. A pool, a fitness room, and sauna if you feel like exercising a little. The staff was very friendly and polite. No need to speak German everybody spoke very good English. Breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Luis, thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and I would be happy to welcome you back here in the future. Kind regards from Cologne, Bart Vaessen General Manager

Trieste, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After Christmas family holiday to see Cologne. The hotel is a bit outside the city but the nearby tram takes you in 20 min exactly in the city center. Köln card available at the reception is a must as it gives you a daily pass for transport a good discounts to almost all the museums you must see. Nice was...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giulio T
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Giulio, thank you so much for your positive feedback. I hope to welcome you back in our hotel anytime soon. Kindest regards, Bart Vaessen General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was ideal situated just off the motorway so easy to get to and to explore Koln whilst able to leave the car without paying excessive city parking (but you do have to pay to park). check in was very easy with friendly, polite fluent English speaking staff. The rooms (we had two booked) were generally clean and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moirg
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Moirg, thank you very much for your feedback. I will make sure to forward your warm words to my team. Have a great 2017! Kindest regards from Cologne, Bart Vaessen General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed just for 1 night, arrived around 1pm and the room is ready so they let us checked in. As we're hungry when we arrived we decided to have lunch there, it was a buffet style lunch but you can choose if you want to consume only appetisers or main courses and get charged separately for it. The nearest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alindi D
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Alindi D, thank you very much for your feedback. I will make sure to forward your warm words to my team. Merry Christmas and a happy new year for you! Bart Vaessen General Manager

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Upon check in was charged immediately, price was higher than expected, upon examination of the invoice we realised we had been charged for breakfast which we didn't request. We had booked our accommodation with an evening meal in the restaurant, we new this offer was a limited choice ( we have done this before at other Mecure hotels) but when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve e
Bart V, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your feedback to your stay with us. First of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I can absolutely understand your disappointment and your anger. To show you that we can definitely do better I would like to send you a voucher for a one night stay including...

Ga
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The building has been very nicely remodeled. The staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. The location is convenient, depending on why you're visiting the area. If you have you're own car then it is about 5-6 min drive to center Köln if you needed transportation I'm not sure what is close to the area to get you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie K
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Kimmie K, Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us! I am sure that a future stay will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards,

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Was here for 2 days business in Cologne. Was surprised by just how busy the hotel was. Occupancy levels appeared very high, but the hotel seem to run without issues. Room was clean and tidy. My only complaint would be that my view from the room window was directly onto some sort of brightly lit shopping centre and that there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happy L
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Happy L, Thank you for your positive review. I will share your comments with my team. I am looking forward to welcome you back to us and remain with kind regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I travel to Cologne on business at least 4 times a year and always choose the downtown hotels. I broke my routine and thought I would fore-fit a central location as I was traveling with my family and wanted a larger hotel with a pool so my wife and kids were comfortable during the working half of my trip. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonathan r
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan, Once again I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. As stated in my second email on the other platform I just wanted to explain the issues you mentioned in your review and never intended to be insulting. Of course I will be pleased to give you a refund. I...

Hulst, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 October 2016

+ Very very good restaurant! Nice staff, nice atmosphere and great food. I am a vegetarian and they offered me multiple veggie options + Nice room + Friendly staff at reception + Felt very welcome! - Nothing to complain!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marjolein J
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Marjolein, thank you very much for your warm words. I will make sure to forward the compliments to my team. I hope to welcome you back in our hotel anytime soon. Kindest regards, Bart Vaessen General Manager

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Novotel Koeln City
#37 of 276 in Cologne
1,172 reviews
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#75 of 276 in Cologne
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#10 of 276 in Cologne
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in our comfortable 4-star Mercure Hotel Koln West in the west of Cologne. It has great transport links and 191 rooms offering free WIFI and high-speed DSL. Enjoy our leisure facilities with pool and sauna. Our spacious events area offers conference rooms - some accessible by vehicle - and optional outside spaces, and can be put to many uses. It is 5.6 Miles to the main train station and 15.5 Miles to Cologne/Bonn airport. Reach us by car via the nearby A1 and A4 highways ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln West

Address: Horbeller Str. 1, 50858 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Price Range: €55 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln West 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln West
Mercure Hotel Cologne
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#25 Family Hotel in Cologne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Hotel Koeln West staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Hotel Koeln West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All OK, but not suitable for more than one child”
 of 5 bubbles 599jonathanr, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room seemed good to us, but as one would expect, higher floor is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles X9488FSrichardg, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Please respect do not disturb signs”
 of 5 bubbles Maevean, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms are equal.”
 of 5 bubbles UrbanBur, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Basic rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 410hannesd, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay