We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vienna House Sonne Rostock

Save
Share
Neuer Markt 2, 18055, Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$113
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$99
View deal
FindHotel
US$88
View deal
TravelocityUS$99
Expedia.comUS$99
PricelineUS$113
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 56 hotels in Rostock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Steigenberger Hotel Sonne is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Rostock, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Steigenberger Hotel Sonne is a family-friendly hotel offering a minibar and a desk in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a fitness center and an on-site restaurant, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Rostock. For guests with a vehicle, parking is available.

Close to some of Rostock's most popular landmarks, such as Standehaus (0.1 mi) and St. Petrikirche (0.3 mi), Steigenberger Hotel Sonne is a great destination for tourists.

While visiting Rostock, you may want to try some schnitzel at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Zwanzig12, Braugasthaus Zum alten Fritz, or Restaurant Hopfenkeller.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular government buildings, such as Rathaus and Kerkhoffhaus.

Enjoy your stay in Rostock!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
57Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
49Attractionswithin 0.5 km
354Reviews5Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 158
  • 57
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
whalepower wrote a review Jul 2022
Stockholm, Sweden145 contributions47 helpful votes
Very large room with a very large bathroom. Very good! Hotel was nice and tidy. Located very central. Garage under the hotel to a resonable fee 15 eur. Negative is price for breakfast, quite expensive. Continously waiting for the elevator. Do recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GuidoKarp wrote a review Feb 2022
Los Angeles, California405 contributions171 helpful votes
The hotel is nicely located and is generally OK, but we have made rather meh experiences (which is a polite understatement) with service and particularly banqueting. The Neptun hotel will send them flowers for literally pushing us into their hands ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
IbnBatutta3000 wrote a review Aug 2020
Bangkok301 contributions248 helpful votes
Just a sad, rundown hotel, which once was the pride of the city. Staff who is absolutely not interested in helping or serving, sad rooms, snobbish waitress at breakfast, no reason to spend your money at this place. When it was a Steigenberger I had recommended it before, sadly I rembered that and came back. Last time for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ulrike Ehlers, Marketing at Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear IbnBatutta3000, thank you for the time you have taken to give your impressions about the Vienna House Sonne Rostock. Bearing in mind that our customer is our priority, it’s important for us to know your point of view to continue improving our services. We are sorry to hear that you had some issues at our breakfast, please accept our sincere apologies. We already have a meeting with our staff. If you come back to the Vienna House Sonne Rostock, we will make sure that your future stay will be better. Feel free to contact Sonja Höppner our Guest Relation Manager by email at the sonja.hoeppner@viennahouse.com. She will be happy to help you organize your next stay. Sincerely yours Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sosofar wrote a review Aug 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands506 contributions160 helpful votes
We stayed two nights in this hotel in early August during Corona times. We have mixed feelings about our stay. The location of the hotel is excellent. Our room was comfortable enough. For fresh air we would like to have opened the windows, since there is no airco. However, this was not a viable option because of heavy traffic noise. The bathroom was big enough. However, there were only liquid soap dispensers and no bath amenities whatsoever. We liked the breakfast buffet. The wearing of face masks was required in the buffet area. The reception staff was friendly and helpful upon check in. Aside from that there was little contact with the hotel staff during our stay. The availability of lifts was also a problem. With only two persons allowed in a lift, there often was a long wait for an available lift.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with no traffic noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonja Höppner, Guest Services / Front Office at Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Responded 9 Sep 2020
Dear sosofar, we thank you for your time spent sharing your experience at the Vienna House Sonne Rostock. We are pleased to see that you and your family have had a pleasant stay with us and that you have particularly enjoyed. We are really sorry that we can´t offer you anmenities and the lift made some problems because of the corona guidelines. Do not hesitate to ask us to prepare a future stay in our hotel, we will be delighted to welcome you again. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Sonja Höppner Guest Relations Manager Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D Cook wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Delta airline lost my luggage and I was going on a cruise the following day. The front desk tried several times to call the airport on my behalf to retrieve my bag. Although, I didn't get my luggage until after I returned from the cruise, when I went back to the hotel, my luggage was held without any loss or damage. The hotel was convenient to the train, top customer service and the room was clean. A special shout out to Sina at the Front Desk. What a pleasure to deal with you...and thank you for finding me at dinner to remind me that the local stores close on Sunday so I had better pick up a few things for my cruise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SteigenbergerRostock, Guest Relations Manager at Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, we thank you for your time spent sharing your experience at the Vienna House Sonne Rostock. We are pleased to see that you and your family have had a pleasant stay with us and that you have particularly enjoyed Do not hesitate to ask us to prepare a future stay in our hotel, we will be delighted to welcome you again. Sonja Höppner Guest Relations Mananger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meander61515 wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
I have raised this matters by email but two weeks after still no acknowledgement - and none asked me upon check-out how my stay was. This just ads to the experience and I believe it is OK to review here: No AC in the room and even with a noisy fan it was intolerable hot! Together with the mosquitos in the room I could hardly sleep during my stay. Housekeeping very sloppy: After a sweaty night bedsheet were not changed, towels were not replaced (not even the one on the floor), garbage not removed and cups not washed! Except for a bottle of soap, no bathroom amenities no hand soap, no paper tissues, no conditioner, no lotion (I support 'no plastic' but expect at least the basics)! There was no coffee in the mini bar, only cacao. I hear the receptionist explaining a “shortage” to other guests complaining. Really? – Or just forgot to order? During a storm, television was not working! Internet slows and outdated. Each use you have to sign in again! Bed very hard and uncomfortable. They combine two twins intending to make it a king! I wanted to raise all this matter with the FO staff, but there was a long cue of other guests. I didn’t want to wait and didn’t have the time. Food quality was good – but the service extremely slow. I choose the Steigenberg brand as I wanted to relax in the hotel after long days of meetings. Sadly thsiwa snot bpossibel and I do not recommend thsi hotel and have doubts in Steigenberg (previosuly a good name in German hospitality)!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid in summer
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aprilqueens wrote a review Aug 2019
New York City, New York66 contributions19 helpful votes
We were only staying one night before leaving on a cruise. One piece of luggage had be lost by Delta airlines. Hotel receptist Sina went above and beyond with assistance . The hotel was very comfortable, elegantly decorated. Brunch was amazing, so many choices! It was located near public transportation. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SteigenbergerRostock, Guest Relations Manager at Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear aprilqueens, we thank you for your time spent sharing your experience at the Steigenberger Hotel Sonne. We are pleased to see that you have had a pleasant stay with us and that you have particularly enjoyed Do not hesitate to ask us to prepare a future stay in our hotel, we will be delighted to welcome you again. Looking forward to welcoming you Dear aprilqueens Yours Steigenberger Hotel Sonne Sonja Höppner Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pete wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
The shower was broken and untidy. Only one elevator was working. To park the car in their garage is a miracle, if you dont wreck your car. They closed the hotel bar at 11 pm thoug it should have been open to 01 am. It is simply not worth the money they charge for a room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SteigenbergerRostock, Guest Relations Manager at Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Responded 13 Aug 2019
Dear Mr. Roudari, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. I will ensure that your feedback will reach all our staff. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints will be solved. So everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then. Yours truly Steigenberger Hotel Sonne Sonja Höppner Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ScaniaSwede wrote a review Jun 2019
Malmö, Sweden1228 contributions174 helpful votes
+ Right by the municipal square. Ok, not the most modern interior or design, but felt clean and the bathroom was spotless. Didn’t try the restaurant, breakfast or sauna so no comments on those. + minibar + safe +spacious
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SteigenbergerRostock, Guest Relations Manager at Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Responded 17 Jun 2019
Dear ScaniaSwede, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely Steigenberger Hotel Sonne Sonja Höppner Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard K wrote a review Mar 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia238 contributions77 helpful votes
I found this to be a very nice stay. Room was spacious and well appointed, with a comfortable bed. However, I woke up during the night because of the sounds of traffic on the street below. The cobblestone pavement on Große Wassstraße creates a disturbing, rumbling noise as late night and early morning traffic passes by. The hotel has shampoo and body wash in the shower in a dispenser on the wall. There was no lotion. Otherwise, a very pleasant hotel, just off a large square with access to trams, food stands, and easy walk to Kröpeliner Straße, which is a lovely shopping and dining street, free from automobile traffic. It leads to the Kröpeliner Tor, a tower gate through the old city wall, a portion of which exists nearby. The hotel offers a nice breakfast buffet off the lobby. The lobby provides ample seating in a quiet space.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you like a quiet sleep, try to get a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SteigenbergerRostock, Front Office Manager at Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Responded 29 Mar 2019
Dear Richard, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Anja Schmidt Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
steigenberger hotel rostock
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
LOCATION
GermanyMecklenburg-West PomeraniaRostock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vienna House Sonne Rostock
Which popular attractions are close to Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Nearby attractions include Sankt Marien Kirche (0.2 km), Rostock City Wall (0.2 km), and Rathaus (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Conveniently located restaurants include Altstaedter Stuben, Old Western, and Ratskeller12.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Vienna House Sonne Rostock located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Rostock.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Vienna House Sonne Rostock?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Vienna House Sonne Rostock offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.