We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hamburg

Save
Share
Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg Germany
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$108
View deal
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (449)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (50)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Hamburg
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#153 of 339 hotels in Hamburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Hamburg! A trip to Hamburg is always worth while, regardless of business or pleasure, Holiday Inn Hamburg is delighted to be your host in the famous 'Hansestadt'. Hamburg, has indeed, a vast range of exciting attractions to offer, stunning architecture, famous land marks, nature, culture and entertainment to name a few! The Speicherstadt once the tax free warehouse area located in the harbour now houses many museums and visitor attractions. The German Custom Museum, The Speicherstadt Museum, Spicy s Spices Museum, The Harbour City Info Centre, Miniature Wonderland famous for the worlds largest model railway and not forgetting Hamburg s Dungeons with its historical and gruesome attractions. An outdoor alternative and not to be missed is a boat trip around the harbour itself. Afterwards you still have time to explore Hamburg s shopping mile, the famous Moenckebergstrasse or Jungfernstieg, a shopper s paradise! Finally to round off a perfect day why not reserve seats in one of Hamburg s many theatres and musicals. With so many to choose from there is sure to be something for all the family. Feel at home in one of our comfortable 385 guest rooms, or enjoy the fantastic views over the roof tops of Hamburg from one of our 12 spacious suites. All rooms have SAT-TV, radio, mini bar, direct dial telephone and a safe for your valuables.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Car park
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
42Car recommended
Grade: 42 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
1012Reviews14Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 382
  • 292
  • 87
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HeHaSch wrote a review Aug 2020
Pattaya, Thailand311 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Unfortunately not much to recommend! Best is the Breakfast Rooms are ok but not very good, cleaning not on a frequent base (due corona I was told), even a sign (clean room) is not enough, you have to tell reception. worst is the Lunch and Dinner options, 4 warm meals and two differrent sandwiches, without a chance of a daily change (never book a full board!!!) I tried the Meatballs With Onion sauce and mashed Potatoes (15€). The Meatballs and the onion sauce were ok but mashed potaoes with that much frosted carrots were disgusting, you could barly find Potatoes the hotel reception staff is not much interested in changing anything or even taking notice about complaints. the breakfast room staff is very friendly and doing their best due this difficult times ;-) definitely also not a friendly hotel for elderly or disabled person without mobility. NO SHUTTLE SERVICE!!! If I would have a chance to swap Hotel that easily I definitely would do and I won't come back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Stendel, Inhaber at Holiday Inn Hamburg
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time for a review. We are glad, that you enjoyed our service at breakfast. During this situation we try very hard to provide a balanced offer for our guests at the table. We regret even more that we could not meet all your expectations. In order to provide you with a room during your stay which nobody else enters except you, we only clean the room before arrival and after departure. Of course, we will be happy to change your linen or dispose of your rubbish on request. We are sorry that we could not convince you with our Lunch and Dinner options. We attach great importance to fresh and high-quality products. Please be assured that your experience at the front desk does not correspond to our standard and that we will discuss your feedback internally to improve our services. Our hotel is easily reachable by public transport. About 300 meters from the hotel there are several bus lines to the main station. It takes about ten minutes by car from here to the centre of the city. We would be delighted to prove better service during another stay. Kind regards, Julia Stendel
Read more
Mortenhoegh wrote a review Jul 2020
130 contributions68 helpful votes
Visited this hotel with my daughter to relax and enjoy the pool. Imagine our surprise when it was closed and the staff told us that we should have read BOTH their websites, rather than only the one we booked via! On the English version of the website, it said that pool, sauna and fitness were open. This was not the case (due to COVID). During my check-in 10 other guests were surprised by the closed facilities but only one other family could choose to go elsewhere because they didn’t pay in advance. However, when we pointed this out to the General Manager (who could only be reached by email), claimed that a parking voucher was a reasonable compensation for this?! Furthermore, all services except from breakfast were suspended (including free soft drinks) 'due to COVID’ - when in fact they just sold it at mini bar prices from the reception instead. What’s even more disturbing is that the GM fully embraced the rude and disrespectful arrogance from the reception/manager on duty, who claimed that it was our own fault that we didn’t review both websites prior to our visit. In all of my years travelling in all parts of the World, I have never been dismissed with such a disrespect. I urge you not to support this facility.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Stendel, Inhaber at Holiday Inn Hamburg
Responded 15 Jul 2020
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to give us a review regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret that we could not convince you during your time with us. Please be assured that a friendly and professional service is always our top priority. We are sorry that you have had a different experience with our reception staff. This makes your feedback all the more important to us and we will discuss it internally to improve our service. Nevertheless, there are still some restrictions in our hotel at the moment, which we point out under the following link: link For example, our pool, sauna and fitness area unfortunately have to remain closed at the moment. We will check whether we can also place these notices on external booking portals. Otherwise, we also recommend to have a look at our hotel's own website. Dear guest, despite the inconvenience, we hope to welcome you again in the future and would be delighted to prove better service. Best regards, Julia Stendel (Guest Relations)
Read more
Mohit Saluja wrote a review Jul 2020
Berlin, Germany23 contributions27 helpful votes
We really didn't expect such an horrible experience. They gave us 7:30am as the only time for breakfast. They should ask breakfast timings at the booking time itself. We did call to let them know that we would arrive late for our check-in and even then they didn't bother to ask us about preference for breakfast timing. On top of all this, we did book queen bed beforehand and we did get two twin beds joined together. Book your stay in Holiday Inn Hamburg only if you are willing to spoil your mood and trip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Stendel, Inhaber at Holiday Inn Hamburg
Responded 12 Jul 2020
Dear guest, many thanks for giving us an evaluation regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret that we could not convince you of our house and our services. Due to the current legal requirements we offer our guests different timeslots for breakfast. We are sorry that we could only offer you the slot at 7:30 am. We always try to meet the wishes of our guests, but unfortunately we cannot guarantee the desired times. The current situation is also a challenge for us and we are working hard to adapt and optimize processes and procedures. Your feedback is very helpful and will be discussed in detail internally in order to further improvement. We hope that you give us the chance to welcome you again despite the inconvenience. Best regards, Julia Stendel (Guest Relations)
Read more
TheOnlyDutchLion wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions
I arrived in the Holiday Inn Hamburg at the Billwerder Neuer Deich 14. After 2 nights I discovered that my bathroom floor was full of thick black mold, where after cleaning myself I had been walking on that with my bear feet. When I complained, I received another room. After watching TV for a few hours an insect that we all recognise (see picture) flew on my open suitcase, meaning if I had not seen it go in I could have taken it home with me. Completely unacceptable of course, I catch the insect and call the night manager. She saw the animal in the glass where I caught it, recognized it and brought me to a suite on the 16th floor. After sitting there for 10 minutes I noticed dead bugs on the ceiling and wall in the living room, prompting me to call the night manager up again to change rooms again. I finally settled on room 1703 as it looked the least dirty of the 4 rooms I was shown. In the morning I spoke to someone who had the nerves to tell me he heard about 'my little inconveniences. He confirmed to me that the hotel recognized the insect and had a specialised team clean and check the room. He declined to share the results of this. When he told me he would not make it up to me in any way, I refused to pay any of the nights. He then offered 20% off on the first two nights, which I declined. How do you expect people to pay 80% for a nasty bathroom floor?! Clean it, its your job to clean it, not the customers job to pay for it. I responded by informing that all I want now is that last night in room 1703 I have a clean room and that I would check. All other rooms have broken furniture, desks and weeks of dust on surfaces. After returning back from my work, I checked the room and NOTHING was cleaned. I checked my bed and the housekeeping tried to hide bloodstained sheets with towels. It was clearly hidden, while it could have been easily replaced. This looks to be done on purpose, as revenge for complaining about previous topics. As I said, I have over 15 videos and photos of thick mold, bad insects in basic rooms and weeks of dust and bloodstained sheets in executive suites. They refuse to compensate me and even have the nerve to say that compensation is that I don't have to pay for these 4 nights!!! How can they compensate something I refuse to pay?!? And how can they think they can still charge me for anything?! I advise everyone to avoid this hotel, as when something is wrong they will make you feel like you are at fault for complaining. The breakfast is basic at best. Best thing about the hotel are night managers, as they show more empathy than the day managers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Sukimeow wrote a review Dec 2019
Palm Harbor, Florida52 contributions61 helpful votes
Stayed three nights in December 2019. Visited the Christmas markets. Average room. Nice lobby and easy check in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Didn’t use the restaurant so I can’t review. Very nice bar. Pool and sauna a plus after a day of walking around the city. Bus #3 was a two minute walk from the hotel then 10 minutes to the markets. Overall a good choice. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HI_Hamburg, Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time for writing a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Hamburg and that you could visit the christmas markets. There is a special atmosphere in the city this time of the year. We are happy that you enjoyed it. We will forward your positive feedback to our team. This is a great motivation for our daily work. We look forward to your next stay with us in the future. Kind regards, Julia Stendel (Guest Relations)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn hamburg hotel hamburg, hamburg holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Forum Hotel
LOCATION
GermanyHamburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
385
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Hamburg
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Nearby attractions include Baaken Park (1.1 km), PEM Theater an den Elbbruecken (0.3 km), and Deutsches Zusatzstoff Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Café Entenwerder 1, 100/200, and Altdeutsche Küche Elbbruecken.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Hamburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Hamburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Hamburg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alter Elbtunnel (4.3 km), St Nikolai Memorial (2.9 km), and Wasserkunst Kaltehofe (1.9 km).