We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel as part of a fairly large stag group of 23 guys (March 2017). Very clean, breakfast was reasonable and location was ideal. Can get slightly noisy in and around the hotel in the early morning but staff are very good at trying to keep this under control. The bedrooms exceeded our expectations size wise and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Hello Gareth, thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely feedback. :) We are really happy to hear that you had a good time in our hotel. Hope to welcome you again soon, your MEININGER-Team

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would recommend for large groups Rooms spacious and clean, beds comfy enough. A good 25-30min walk to Reeperbahn or 5mins in taxi (around €12) Decent shopping centre nearby with everything you may need (10mins walk) Good value overall

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Hello Jonathan, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We're glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel. Hope to welcome you again in Hamburg soon, your MEININGER-Team

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is really somewhere between a hotel and a hostel, with group rooms but perfectly decent quality and cleanliness. Perfect for big groups, which unfortunately means it's full of absolute knackers. They're actually pretty strict for keeping people from getting too out of hand, but we had a hell of a weekend and didn't have any trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear Simon, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Very, very disappointed with the stay. Firstly I'd like to comment on the rooms, brilliant rooms for a great price. However surely the price you pay doesn't deserve horrendous customer service. 2 of the staff were brilliant with my friends and I, the rest were rude and obnoxious. As the person who booked the trip I was disappointed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom Y
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Hello Tom, thank you for taking the time to write us a detailed feedback. We are really sorry that you had such an experience during your stay in our hotel. We will talk to our staff in the next team meeting. And please don't hesitate to inform the receptionists, if towels were not changed or bins not emptied so that...

Pirbright, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Where to even start! English are borderline not welcome! 250euro deposit which ruined our spending money as we didn't get it back until final day! Pretty much a glorified school trip hotel! Never again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paine3418
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are really sorry that you hadn't a good experience during your stay in our hotel. In our terms and conditions it's said that we are allowed to take a deposit: "...The Hotel reserves the right to demand a deposit of up to €500.00 or £500.00 per booking on arrival or...

Saint Leonards, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Your staff are embarrassing! I will never stay with you again in fact would never go back to Germany again! You were rude from day 1, charging us €250 deposit when talking to other groups we was the only ones who had to pay this, told to be quiet in the lobby one afternoon when all we was doing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark W
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are really sorry that you had such a bad experience during your stay in our hotel. We will talk to our staff in our next team meeting. In our terms and conditions it's said that we are allowed to take a deposit: "...The Hotel...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I stayed here with around 15 others for a friend's stag do and the hotel served it's purpose. The rooms are small but practical, with each room holding around 4 people. The beds are a little uncomfortable but nothing that keeps you up all night. The bathroom is well equipped and there's plenty of hot water. We did have an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dipesh P
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed feedback. If you have any problem with the hair dryer or similar, please don't hesitate to inform our staff at the reception so that they can find a solution for this problem cause we have a 24hr reception. :) Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This is a superb budget hotel. It's in a great location, the staff are helpful and kind, the rooms are clean and warm. It's not luxurious, but the rooms have a lot of space and I'm at a loss as to what else you would need. Also, the hairdryer wasn't terrible. It's not one of those keep your finger on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosieRoRo
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear Rosie, thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had a good time with us. Hope to see you again soon, your MEININGER-Team

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We had 3 rooms of 4 for my best mates stag. The place was easy to find and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean with all basic needs met. Great value overall and very happy with our visit, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a good feedback. :) We are happy to hear that you had a lovely time in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in our MEININGER hotel Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic hotel for the prices. Lovely and clean fresh towels every day. Big spacious rooms. Good mix ib hotel -families, couples and groups. No trouble didnt hear a peep off anyone. Comfy beds. Would definetly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leighlufc
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your great feedback. :) We hope to see you again soon in our hotel, your MEININGER-Team

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 318 in Hamburg
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#53 of 318 in Hamburg
797 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
753 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center is located directly by Altona railway station. It is the ideal starting place if you want to explore the tourist attractions of the Hanseatic city. The 116 low-cost, well-equipped rooms all have a TV and telephone. The hotel bar, free WiFi in the lobby, guest kitchen, fireplace lounge and gaming area means there is no time for boredom. For a small fee you can use the underground car park and the seminar room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Address: Goetheallee 11, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: €47 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HostelWorld so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at front noisy”
 of 5 bubbles SarBeh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, but away from the entrance because of smokers is recommended”
 of 5 bubbles S2373JWdavidl, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room on the 4th floor is quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles LittleChatterboxNat, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“had room 308”
 of 5 bubbles thaikwai, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Padmalekha, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5