We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Hotels.comUS$78*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$92*
US$78*
Great Deal
US$81*
US$80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Start your review of MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
 Click to rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Another German hostel with a name problem. It is actually in quite a handy location but I have no idea why it's called City Centre and not Altona as it is nowhere near the Hbf and the centre of Hamburg but really just around the corner from busy Altona station. As chains go Meininger is a step up from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Battipaglia, Campania, Italy
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very near to Altona station where you can travel all over the city.. Our room was a bit small but had all the necessary.. Plus there was a nice view.. There is a bar.. A luggage room and a guest kitchen.. The price for a room was very good compared to others.. Satisfied!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucia M
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a trip with 18 lads to Hamburg and we stayed at the Meininger Hotel. We arrived just after lunch time and even though we had been told we may not be able to check in until 3pm 3 of the 4 rooms were already ready for us. Checking in was quick and easy we were advised to the no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andycbrown
manchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just come back from a stag do with 18 lads, the rooms were fine, free WiFi, the renovation work didn't affect us because we were pre warned, but we normally eat out all the time, the bar/lobby is small, compared to the size of the hotel/hostel. Only a couple of negatives - no warning that you had to all paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bolton78
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. The information about the deposit is mentioned on the homepage of booking.com when you book a room in our hotel. Our house rules allow us to take a deposit from our guests for their stay and it is also said that alcohol is not allowed in our...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights as we was visiting hamburg for a stag do. there was 16 of us in total, when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the hotel having major refurbishment and no breakfast room available for breakfast in the morning.This was not made clear to us during our booking or the run up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. The information about our construction work in the breakfast room was mentioned on our homepage for this time. Our house rules allow us to take a deposit from guests for their stay and it is said that alcohol is not allowed in our rooms for all of...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a good 3 night stay here for a stag do, we had 2 rooms of 4 people and 3 rooms of 3 people, 17 of us overall. We got a taxi from the airport here, it was €28 and took around 30 mins. Train station is nearby, but think the journey is approx 45mins. Check in was very complicated!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J7Y
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to give us feedback. We are sorry about the misunderstandings. We are constantly trying to improve our work at the reception. Sometimes it's difficult for us to find a big Taxi for such a big group of people if the day is busy. You can pre-order one as well if you want,...

Gouda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room suits 5 persons very well. Room well equipped. Stayed here during refurbishment, which was not communicated in any way up front, which I personally don't understand (massaging expectations?) Cancelled breakfast because were not able to even sit down to have it with the family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frkzr
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the inconvenience you had because of our construction work. Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER Team

Bebington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel/hostel for my sons stag weekend. Rooms were basic. They were having construction work carried out on the ground floor. We were told in advance but it wouldn't affect our stay, rubbish. There were grab & go facility in the tiny reception area for a huge hotel & about 8 stools to sit on. I felt sorry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal D
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are sorry about the inconvenience you had because of our construction work. When they are finished we will have a huge lobby with more space to take a seat, grab a drink and so on. :) Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Recently returned from staying at the Meininger Hotel/Hostel for 3 nights with 6 people. We had our own dorm which was spacious and clean for a Hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only drawback was that there is a lot of work being done at the moment so there is no social area or bar. about a 10/15 mins walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Hello Chris, thank you very much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel in Hamburg. Hope to welcome you again soon, your MEININGER Team

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Went here for a stag do. For the price the trims were clean spacious and shower facilities were decent. Close to the metro system with easy access to anything you need Staff were a little abrupt and found the rule of no alcohol in rooms without a large fine a bit odd (surely spilling a bottle of coke would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PSemple90
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback and sorry for the misunderstanding about the football tickets. Best wishes from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 318 in Hamburg
324 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#215 of 318 in Hamburg
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
1,365 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center is located directly by Altona railway station. It is the ideal starting place if you want to explore the tourist attractions of the Hanseatic city. The 116 low-cost, well-equipped rooms all have a TV and telephone. The hotel bar, free WiFi in the lobby, guest kitchen, fireplace lounge and gaming area means there is no time for boredom. For a small fee you can use the underground car park and the seminar room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Address: Goetheallee 11, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: €46 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at front noisy”
SarBeh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, but away from the entrance because of smokers is recommended”
S2373JWdavidl, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room on the 4th floor is quiet!”
LittleChatterboxNat, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“had room 308”
thaikwai, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are quieter.”
Padmalekha, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$81
HOTEL.INFOUS$80
CancelonUS$92
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates