We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Direct neighbourhood is up- and coming and features number of great bars and eateries. The lobby bar is a popular place for a cocktail and busy when we were there. Downside is that it is not easily reached by subway or train, ie from the airport. And city center is 20 min walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daan d
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daan d, Thank you very much for staying at The George Hotel in Hamburg - St. Georg and for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the atmosphere of the hotel. While we understand that you would have preferred staying closer to the central station...

Islington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very disappointed by my recent stay The George, mainly by the fact that my room was so hot that I couldn't sleep on the first night and had to call reception at 4am to be told that the air conditioning was broken and would be fixed the following morning.... the next day at 12pm I called to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle G
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rochelle G, Thank you for choosing the The George Hotel in Hamburg and for your contribution on Tripadvisor. It is with regret to hear that your recent visit was below your expectations. It is true that we do not have a proper air-conditioning system in the guest rooms. Guests do however have the possibility to regulate the heating manually...

Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a stunning hotel in a great location in Hamburg. I stayed here on business but must say that I did enjoy a few beautiful gin and tonics on the last night...the bar is one of the longest in Hamburg and was sophisticated and very enjoyable. The rooms are well appointed - spacious and very comfortable. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaydiva840
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holidaydiva840, thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hamburg and that you stay with us again in the future. Thank you for highlighting the Bar DaCaio as well as the guest rooms in vour review. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, your The...

Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is definitely not a good choice. The rooms do not have soundproofing from the corridors of the hotel : it is impossible to sleep overnight without being woken up several times. The phone works so badly that it is impossible to order a breakfast to be delivered in the room. Despiste its nice appearance, this establishment bas extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gérard M
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gérard M, Thank you very much for staying at The George Hotel in Hamburg and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. It is with regret to hear that your recent visit was below your expectations. We work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a more than pleasant experience. Please be informed that your comment regarding...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Our hotel accommodations where nice, with king size bed and a very small balcony on the back side of the building. The only complaint is the noise during early morning hours of trucks doing there morning routine. The one thing that exceeded my expectations was the lounge. The service staff and the mixologist where superior to any I've ever witnessed...we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen L, thank you very much for your review and your lovely words. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were especially satisfied with the Giovanni and his crew at Bar DaCaio. At the same time we very much regret that you were effected by noise of delivery trucks around the...

Perth
Reviewed 20 November 2016

I enjoyed two nights here whilst on business. Pluses Very helpful and friendly staff Rooms large and airy. Very comfortable bed with Pillows of various sizes rather than large 'men only' neck sizes Attractive art and decor. Nice small touches such as lavender bag in wardrobe Free wifi Option to turn on one bright standard light (really enjoyed this as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JillDerry
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JillDerry, Thank you for your excellent review and lovely comments. We are pleased to learn that your stay at The George Hotel was a successful one and thank you for all the nice compliments. We hope to be your host again in the future. Best regards, Your The George Hotel team

Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Hamburg is my hometown but since I have been living in Switzerland for the last 10 years it is a hotel when I am visiting (since I am not a fan to crush in somebody's guest room or even on the couch). So I tried a few hotels over the years and The George is the latest in the collection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frank B, thank you very much for staying at The George Hotel in Hamburg and for your excellent feedback. We are delighted to read that your stay was a successful one and that you enjoyed the Bar DaCaio, the design of the hotel as well as the breakfast buffet. Further we would like to thank you for informing us...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Having read some very positive reviews we decided to book the george hotel and it really lived up to expectations. The hotel is very modern but has a nice atmosphere and very helpful staff. Our room was a little small, but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was lovely and the room was spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seanspacifica
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seanspacifica, Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that had a great time at The George Hotel and that we could convince you with the design of the hotel and the cleanliness as well as the friendliness of our team members. We hope to welcoming you again in...

Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This hotel offers very nice rooms, a cosy bar, a nice italian Restaurant. The location is very close to the city, and from the upper rooms you may see the Binnenalster. The staff was very friendly and always looking for your needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joerg W
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joerg W, We would like to thank you for staying at The George Hotel in Hamburg and for your review on TripAdvisor. Many thanks for the praise which is a huge motivation for the entire team. We do hope to be your host again in the near future. Warm regards, Your The George Hotel team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The George Hotel is well situated in a vibey street with plenty of restaurants to choose from in close proximity. You are one road from the lake and central enough to reach businesses in Hamburg to the north or a short walk to the railway station, central Hamburg and the harbour. The breakfasts were vey good with a large variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert B, thank you very much for staying at The George in Hamburg and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your stay was a successfull one and that you enjoyed the central location, the breakfast and your room. Hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Your The George Hotel Team

662 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (435)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Junior Suite (97)
Viewed
Medium Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Small Alster Room (59)
Viewed
Small Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 320 in Hamburg
1,327 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#20 of 320 in Hamburg
593 reviews
St. Georg
Relexa Hotel Bellevue
Relexa Hotel Bellevue
#96 of 320 in Hamburg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wedina
#62 of 320 in Hamburg
219 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 320 in Hamburg
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant DaCaio
Restaurant DaCaio
Cuisines: Italian, European, Mediterranean
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
„The name is George, The George!“ Find British tradition with a contemporary touch and intercultural reminiscences of colonial times. In the colourful St. Georg district of Hamburg, close to the recreation area of Außenalster, The George welcomes his guest with discreet elegance and DaCaio Restaurant with Italian cordiality. All areas of the hotel can be booked exclusively. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Barcastr. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: €132 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hamburg
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not travel in the summer as apparently there is no air conditioning so you will bake in your room!”
 of 5 bubbles RochelleG212, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 976g_rardm, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quit may be the East site is a little bit nicer”
 of 5 bubbles axel158, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Subscribe to Design Hotels Newsletter as I did and got a 3 night for the price of 2 deal!”
 of 5 bubbles Duncraig, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Alster view room!”
  • Sunset Alster view from the room
  • Pillow
 of 5 bubbles Kamsalaun, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay