We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 161: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has excellent location and very friendly staff, but there are unfortunately far more things on the bad side. My non smoking room smells really badly of tobacco. I was not allowed to change to another room, but a cleaning lady sent to fix the smell. She was able to take some of it away, but the bathroom stinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauri G
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for your open words, honesty and that you took your time to send us your opinion. We are very sorry, that your stay was not as satisfactory as we wished. All MEININGER houses are non-smoking that we tell all our guests. Still it happends sometime that guests just dont care and smoke anyways. The pictures... More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights from 25th to 30th May whilst attending a language course in the vicinity. My room was a double room for single use on the 7th floor (street side) with a sunny balcony which I requested offering great views over Berlin. It was basic, very clean and well-equipped including small table and chairs, TV, hairdryer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna498
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear A., Your feedback means a lot to us and we are pleased reading your words. Every satisfied guest is a proof for us making a good job. Your were staying in one of our best rooms and we are glad to know, that you liked it. For sure, the view from there above is quiet fantastic and you are... More 

Ledbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent value for money, clean and great location. Spot on for our needs visiting the city as a group for a weekend. The 'black out' blinds and late check out option for 10 euros were particularly welcome after sampling Berin's (all) night life.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello MEININGER guest, We are happy to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin with us. Satisfied guests are our aim and we are pleased about everyone that have had a good time here. For everyone who want to explore Berlins night life our late check out is always welcome! So, thank you for taking your... More 

Hradec Králové, Kralovehradecky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a four person room with a private bathroom. Room was quite cleen (not 100% though) but the bed sheets and towels were clean. Staff was very friendly,always eager to help and advice us about which places to visit and how to reach them. Breakfast is not included,and it costs 5.90 per person , but I doupt if u... More 

Helpful?
Thank ptatemvan
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest! We really enjoyed your postive review and your recommendation. The feedback of our guests is very important for us, because it helps us to develope our services. We hope to welcome you again in our house and a next vacation here in Germany's capitol city. Kind regrads Yours MEININGER-Team Berlin Alexanderplatz More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had a tree person room but got a dorm for six. Bunk beds and everything. Found those maggots which like moist places in the floor at night, disgusting! One staff member was pretty rude, we felt like we diaturbed her webhopping when we asked if she could make us a reservation. Other staff members were great. Hotel had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauliina K
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Guest! We are terrible sorry about your bad experience in our house. Unfortunately we were sold out that time and we had no triple-bed-room avaiable. We are very sorry about our rude staff member. Usually all our employees are friendly and helpfull within all guest matters. Maybe you will give us a second chanceand we are lokking forward to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I really liked my experience at the Meininger Hotel. It is extremely well located, close to downtown with the subway right in front of it. One must keep in mind that it is a mix of hotel and hostel, which means that it is frequented by many young adults. I would recommend a double superior for individual use where you... More 

Helpful?
Thank brigitte235
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Berlin visitor, Thank you so much for your friendly review and that you have taken your time for a feedback. Yes, in our houses we welcome all kind of guests. We do not want to exclude travelers, groups, or business people. Due to our central location in the middle of Berlin East we house a number of young people,... More 

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Meininger is a big hostel with some private rooms that have private bathrooms. I stayed in a private (double room used by one person) and didn’t use any of the “hostel features” of the Meininger at all. The hostel is on a busy street at the southern part of the Prenzlauer Berg district. I had originally planned to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndrewHHH
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for detailed review. Your Feedback was very comprehensive and give us the change to enhance our service and our technical devices. It happens not as often, that guests take their time to report everything in detail about their stay and our house. Our house, like many other hotels, have daly rates and no fixed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Travelled November 2012 but better late than never! ... We requested a room with three single beds but were placed in a room with three bunk beds. It was a very small room for three females and three bunk beds. We had to change the same sheet twice and resorted to spreading our personal clothing over the pillows. Bathroom facilities... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keesha T
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Keesha, thank you very much for your late feedback. We are sorry that your stay was not as good as it should. It's too bad that we couldn't treat you with the bigger room. Generally, we are putting a lot of emphasis on making sure that our customers needs are being fulfilled. May we could prove it to you... More 

Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hostel is really well located and one of the best i've never been. The rooms are always clean and organized, with bathroom inside. There'n no breakfast included but a really good service option or a guest kitchen you always can use. Around the hostel, you can find a lot of restaurants and a lot of options of transport: it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ana C
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest! We'd like to thank you very much for your positive feedback and your good review for our house. The meaning of our guests is very important for us, because it helps us to develope our services. And maybe you will book a further reservation, than don't forget to make that inclusive breakfast. We hope to see you soon... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked a room for two of us and ended up with a four bed room so we had plenty of space. Was nice and sunny and warm. Staff were friendly and I'd say I had one of the better coffees in Europe there. Bathroom was clean and a good size. The shower was on a timer which was a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank MataiWest
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MataiWest, Thanks for your detailed feedback and that you share your positive feedback with world. We would like to apologize for the issue you had with the washing machine. This give us the reason to make the direction for use of the washing maschine also in English. Hope we can host you again here in the Meininger Prenzlauer Berg,... More 

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#74 of 662 in Berlin
215 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#389 of 662 in Berlin
89 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Prenzlauer Berg
Pfefferbett Hostel
Pfefferbett Hostel
#29 of 361 in Berlin
262 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: €53 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group”
 of 5 bubbles Thundering_Raiden, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great place if you need some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 207waynek, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“7th floor rooms have terraces”
 of 5 bubbles 652micha_p, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles the0harish, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Double check that you'l get the rooms you've booked!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles wibutee, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay