We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The first time I staid here was because of the great location, close to Alexanderplatz as well as clubs and other venues around the Eberswalder Str. metro station, plus a very good price. Downstairs the place is pleasant---a colorful reception area plus a room with seating where breakfast is served in the morning, and which for the rest of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michał P
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Michal, Thank you so much for your friendly and detailed feedback. I was a pleasure reading it. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best! Kind regards, Your MEININGER team

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Along with my friend we have very nice stay, from first moment until the end. Whole staff was very friendly, helpful. Due to my early arrival I was offered to leave luggage and personal belongings in safe place. Staff welcomed us by small bottles of wines and sweets due to the fact that they weren't able to provide standard double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 27Moni
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Monika, Thank you so much for that very kind and lovely feedback. We are more than happy reading your friendly words and we are deeply moved. You are more than welcome to explore more of Berlin anytime and it will be our pleasure to see you again! Many thanks and all the best for you! Lovely greetings from Berlin,...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 12 January 2016

First of all i hadmy things stolen from the common kitchen downstairs and the receptionist with rasta hair took my complaint down and promised toget back to me after reviewing the cameras. She never did and when questioned , she ironically siad you are rigt and i am wrong. When i aked her why is she arrogant , she was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theoharis H
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Theoharis H, Thank you for taking your time leaving a comment. Your feedback surprised us, because your description does not fit to our staff and we forwarded your complaint to the other MEININGER hotel. We are sorry for your bad experience, but your message belongs to an other house. MEININGER has four different houses in Berlin, so this mistake...

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Went there with my girlfriend and the room was really, really small but cozy. The view was really great with huge floor-to-ceiling windows. However, the bed was really bad and uncomfortable, and the mattresses moved too easily around just when sleeping which caused us to wake up several times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morten K
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Morten, Thank you for your open words. We are pleased and sorry for your good and disapointing experience with us. We rather see our guests happy with everything. We started our renovation to renew our rooms step by step for more cleaness and cosyness. We hope your next stay will be more satisfactory! Kind regards and all the best!...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I stayed there with 2 other friends in a hotel room (they have dormitory rooms too). Not so good because; -We had a room with bunk beds filling up most of the room.Dont expect 3 star hotel quality or you will be disappointed, I would say this is hostel/backpacker style, if you are travelling in several cities and with friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheabutter-c
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Sheabutter-c, Thank you for your feedback and voting. Right now we are renovating our house and will fix the shower problem as well. We offer different kind of rooms as you can see on all example pictures. Some have only bunk beds others have a double bed too. We appreciate that you liked staying here and that you liked...

Glasgow
Reviewed 22 December 2015

This hostel/hotel has standard and dormitory accommodation which is a great idea but unfortunately you run a substantial risk of being double booked (which judging from a pre-printed letter left in the substitute accommodation is a regular practice) and shunted into a dormitory room at the same price. The staff are helpful but embarrassed by the deficiences of the management's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wibutee
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for your open words. We regret not meeting your expectations about the room and that you did not receive any respond to your e-mail. MEININGER combines hotel and hostel, that we offer different kind of rooms. Especially our 4 bed rooms have either two bunks or one bunk and a double bed. Even if we...

Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Stayed a weekend with my family of 5 persons. Room was good, breakfast sufficient. Value for money, clean, nothing broken. Close to subway, good neighborhoud. Would pick this place next time when visiting Berlin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peevi
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Peevi, thank you very much for your postive review. We are really looking foward to welcome you again. Best wishes Your MEININGER team

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 11 December 2015

The location was excellent! The room was a bit small but ok for a weekend trip. I wouldn´t stay there for a week. Mattresses were quite terrible and kept sliding but as this was also ok for a couple of nights. The shower was the worst part, it only came from above and you had to push the button all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SannaEmilia
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hey Sanna! Thank you for your feedback. Great that you appreciated our central location and that you felt comfortable in our house. We will take care of the shower system and the matresses during our modernization the coming year. It would be cool to welcome you again. We wish you merry Christmas and a happy new year! Your MEININGER team

Reviewed 25 November 2015

This hostel was great, travelled with friends in august 2015. The staff were very helpful, especially with directions and suggestions of where to go. The rooms were very clean. It was close to many restaurants, cafes and bars to relax and a short walk to Alexanderplatz for tourist sites. Would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Ashley! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased to know you as a happy guest and that you enjoyed staying here. We are looking forward to your next stay and wish you all the best! Your MIENINGER team

Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This hotel is located 2 stops on the U Bahn from Alexanderplatz, which made all of Berlin easily accessible. I liked staying just outside of the action. The hotel is literally outside the entrance to Senefelderplatz U Bahn station. A friendly welcome was received, with a room on the 6th floor allocated. Breakfast was paid for at check in at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMTaylor90
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear DMTaylor90, Thank you very much for your detailed review and feedback. We are glad that you have had a good stay so far. Our house will be renovated next year that all your listed disadvantages will disappear as soon as we are done with modernization. We are sorry that it was hard for you to find your sleep and...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#390 of 633 in Berlin
93 reviews
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#36 of 633 in Berlin
255 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#147 of 633 in Berlin
229 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#105 of 633 in Berlin
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: €56 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“after 10 pm there is a quiet policy difficult to enforce Rooms ending in 04-08 are near the elevators can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 208danv, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group”
 of 5 bubbles Thundering_Raiden, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great place if you need some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 207waynek, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“7th floor rooms have terraces”
 of 5 bubbles 652micha_p, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles the0harish, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5