We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Rocco Forte
eDreams
US$479
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prestigia.comUS$556
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (793)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (535)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#29 of 644 in Berlin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Arabic and 1 more
1743Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,280
  • 325
  • 88
  • 38
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Evi K wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
If only the cold was milder so we could enjoy our lovely private terrace! The room was wonderful, super clean and spatious. The hotel couldn't be in a greater location, you dive into Berlin's culture and history as soon as you set your foot on that square. Special thanks to Porter Mehmet for making our stay a memorable one, so geniunly friendly, professional and kind. Nice contemporary look, excellent facilities, elegant touches to make guests' experience unique.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear 670evik, we would like to thank you for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and we are very glad to read that your stay had been to your fully satisfaction. Thank you as well that you have named Mehmet for his great service and please be assure that we will share your comments with him and with the whole team. What a pitty that you felt not very healthy during your stay and we do hope that you are feeling better now. Thanks again for your great rating here on "trip advisor" and we do hope to welcoming you back soon with us. All the best and kind regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
bshelbourne wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
The location of Hotel De Rome is second to none in Berlin. Very convenient for access to all major sights, but also to business hubs in the East and West. Easy access to transport links. The team are very friendly and welcoming. Overall excellent experience. Would highly recommend and will definitely return when in Berlin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 16 Mar 2022
Dear bshelbourne, thank you very much that you have chosen Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome during your last trip to Berlin. Also we would like to thank you for your great rating and your lovely words here on "trip advisor" and we are very glad that our team have made your stay to a memorable one. We are all looking forward to your future visit when your next trip to Berlin is scheduled. Thanks again and all the best, KInd regards, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Troy Pade wrote a review Jan 2022
Los Angeles, California24 contributions15 helpful votes
My husband and I were in Berlin for Christmas to see family. We booked via AMEX Platinum and so happy with our pick. The hotel was 2 blocks from one of the Christmas markets as well as adjacent to the shopping area. The hotel was decorated for the holidays which always kept us in the holiday spirit. We appreciate the snow as well you arranged for us upon arrival, made the mood even more festive. The breakfast buffet is incredible and the morning team was always upbeat and helpful, even when trying to accommodate my husbands iced coffee recipe! We hope to be back soon to see you in the warmer months too , so we can enjoy your rooftop bar and the views.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 6 Jan 2022
Dear Troy P, thank you so much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome. I am very thankful for your lovely comments here on "trip advisor" and for your great rating and it was our great pleasure to host you during your christmas holidays. It is so nice to read that you have been 100% satisfied with the service of our staff, with the breakfast buffet and with our christmas decoration. Hopefully we can welcoming you back in summer. All the best wishes for new year 2022! Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
kaisabo wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
From start to end, my stay at Hotel de Rome was exceptional. All staff were incredibly kind and accommodating - from assisting with dinner reservations to purchasing train tickets. In these crazy Covid times, Hotel de Rome felt like a wonderful escape (while also feeling like home). My room was sizable - outfitted with one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on in quite some time. The hotel is also excellently located, making it the perfect stop for a quick trip to Berlin. I look forward to future trips here (and other Rocco Forte hotels).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 6 Jan 2022
Dear kaisabo, it is my great pleasure that you stayed with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and that you had such a great time with us. Thank you very much for your nice comments and for your great rating here on "trip advisor" and please be assure that we will share your comments with our team. I am very happy that you have been content with all our services and with the hotel itself and the whole team is very much looking forward to your next visit with us. All the best wishes for new year 2022! Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
ken150 wrote a review Dec 2021
18 contributions6 helpful votes
Loved this hotel in a great location. The service at this hotel is “World Class” friendly and helpful. Bartender was friendly and helpful and knows his craft. Wait staff in the restaurant and both breakfast and dinner could not have been better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 27 Dec 2021
Dear ken150, thank you very much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome! It is my big pleasure that our team made your stay to such a memorable one and I am very thankful that you have shared your experiences here on "trip advisor". Please be assure that we will share your comments with our team and we will all looking forward to your next stay with us to present you again a great service. All the best for the new year 2022! Best regards, Yours, Gordon Debus General Manager
Read more
JohnklemLA wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Wonderfully private and elegant hotel housed in a grand, nineteenth century bank building on a very quiet street facing the Bebelplatz. Beautifully decorated with just enough edge to make it stand out from the Ritz Carltons and Four Seasons. Very personal service, gorgeous rooms and as good a location as you'll get.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 20 Nov 2021
Dear JohnklemLA, I would like to thank you very much for your stay with us in Hotel de Rome and for your great review here on "Trip Advisor". It is my great pleasure to hear that your stay has been to your fully satisfaction and I am very thankful for these kind words which we will share with our team. Hopefully your next Berlin-trip will be scheduled in the future that we can welcoming you again with us to present you a great stay again. Best regards from Bebelplatz in Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager
Read more
chris2phherrmann wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I was travelling with my two daugthers (11 and 14 yrs old); I made the reservation via Leading Hotels of the World (LHW) and was not notified in advance that the pool was closed due to rennovation (pool was essential for our one week stay at the hotel with kids); moreover, the hotel itself nevertheless posed pictures of the pool in the elevator promoting the hotel's SPA. All the efforts by staff -aside of a single employee- to provide solutions were poor (and in the end no satisfying solutions was offered). My luggage was damaged at the airport in Berlin and I organized all what is necessary at the airport to get my luggage repaired. Arrived at the hotel I handed the luggage over to the concierge to liaise with the servicer and organzie the overhauling ... performance of the concierge was poor; I did it myself without great effort when I was back home. Even though I made my booking through LHW I was presented an invoice with additional fees for breakfast in an amount of 1.000 Euro (Breakfast is free in case of booking via LHW). I had to objet the invoice and breakfast was dropped from the invoice in the end. Overall experience was extremely disappointing for such a hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear chris2phherrmann, thank you very much for your recent stay with and for your comments. I just have send you an seperate message to your personal E-mail adress. Best regards, Martin Buschmann Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Critical_Mind wrote a review Oct 2021
London85 contributions230 helpful votes
Very good rooms, excellent breakfast and gym. No reserved tables for hotels guests in the bar - this is a no go for me and something which many other top hotels would avoid. Pool out of service, which was neither highlighted on the LHW website nor during the booking process. Super clean hotel in an excellent location. Very good concierge and reception staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Dear Critical_Mind, I am very thankful that you have chosen our Hotel de Rome for your recent visit to Berlin. Also I would like to thank you that you have taken your time after your visit to share your experiences here on "trip advisor" and for your nice comments about our staff, breakfast and gym. Unfortunately you have not been 100% satisfied with your stay and I would like to apologize for the situation in our bar and for our pool which is currently under renovation. This should have been mentioned to you during your booking process of course. But I do hope that you will visit us again in the future that we can convince you from our service at your next stay. Best regards from Bebelplatz in Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager
Read more
Galya Z wrote a review Oct 2021
Kyiv (Kiev), Ukraine3 contributions
Exceptional service. Spacious room, with a view as desired. Convenient parking nearby. Breakfasts, bar menu, restaurant - everything is fine. Housekeeping is very thorough - 5 points. I liked that there were carnation flowers in the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Dear Galyna G, I would like to thank you very much for your stay with us in Hotel de Rome and for your great rating and comments here on "trip advisor". It is my great pleasure that you have been fully satisfied with your stay and with our service and I will share your rating with our team. Hopefully we can welcoming you back soon when your next visit to Berlin is scheduled. All the best and kind regards from Bebelplatz, Gordon Debus General Manager
Read more
Lukas wrote a review Oct 2021
Frankfurt, Germany11 contributions3 helpful votes
Incredibly sub-standard. I arrived with my 2-year-old daughter at the pre-confirmed (by email) check-in time. We were told the room needs another hour which we spent with lunch at the restaurant. When we returned we were told to wait another 45min („at least“) so we opted for a regular room (instead of the confirmed deluxe) just to get settled. I asked for the baby cot to be brought up right away for my daughter to have her nap (which was way overdue by that time) and I was told it will get delivered within 15min. 20min later I was told another 10min. 10min again when I asked the third time. We left the room and hotel 40min after receiving the keys with no baby cot in sight. This alone warrents the worst possible feedback but to add to the above: i) At arrival, I literally carried the stroller up the front door stairwell by myself, past the doormen who stepped aside; then I descended to pick up my suitcase and only while I was on my way back up with the luggage did they bother to ask if they can help. ii) Pool turned out to be closed for refurbishment and I was told the booking confirmation should have mentioned this. However it read „rate includes use of pool and spa“ (booking was made via lhw.com). iii) Concierge promised to call back with feedback on a booking request prior to arrival which they never did. To sum it up: Complete nightmare. Berlin has many options and this has been so disgraceful I will not return to RoccoForte elsewhere either.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$350 - US$619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de rome hotel, de rome berlin
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de Rome
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel de Rome?
Nearby attractions include Dussmann das KulturKaufhaus (0.5 km), Rausch Schokoladen-Geschaeft (0.4 km), and Gendarmenmarkt (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de Rome?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel de Rome?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de Rome?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel de Rome?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rausch Schokoladen-Café, Treffpunkt Berlin, and Charlotte & Fritz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel de Rome have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel de Rome offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel de Rome located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Berlin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel de Rome offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.