We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amstel House Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amstel House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Amstel House Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent hostel in Berlin, Germany. The staff is very friendly and professional. Excellent atmosphere. It has everything you need. Kitchen, recreation rooms and lounge, billiards, table football and table tennis. Rooms are excellent and the bathrooms are clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marta Z
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible food, rooms, facilitair and employers. The employers treat you with disrespect. No patience or friendly at all. Rather sleep on the streets. dirty and small rooms and the toilets and showers are way too dirty!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haroen S
Amstel B, Public Relations Manager at Amstel House Hostel, responded to this review

Regarding the very complicated situation caused by some of this group´s members during their stay in our hostel, we feel sorry that this comment is now throwing a bad light on us. The feedback in general of this group, who is a frequent client, was very positive. To guarantee a peaceful atmosphere for everybody unfortunately in this case we had...

Reviewed 14 March 2017

The location was a little out of the way (about a 40 minute to the Hauptbahnof) but there is a metro station nearby. Other than my stay at this hostel was perfect. The staff were so friendly as we got to know them at the house bar which was very pleasant. The rooms were fine (with mirror and sink) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
Amstel B, Public Relations Manager at Amstel House Hostel, responded to this review

Hello hello! Thanks so much for the warm revew! A tip for next time: there is a bus (TXL) that takes you from us to the Hauptbahnhof (main sation) in only 10 minutes. Maybe you used the wrong public transport. And even if you would walk all the way there you would never take 40 minutes ;) It would be...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

I have to admit first time staying in dorm and would recommend again, I stayed in a dorm with great other guest from all over the world. the staff was fantastic, very helpful and cheap bar from 6- 8 which was always fun. Great room and brilliant facilities. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Reviewed 1 February 2017

An amazing place to stay , close to the centre, nice rooms, great bar and an awesome staff working there ! So many helpful people there, family like atmosphere and many opportunities to spend time there. It was our blast, and we really appreciated! Guys from zazisvet.sk !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juraj K
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Stayed here for 6 nights while exploring Berlin and thought it was good. The beds are good, the hostel is cleaned regularly and the bar is great with lovely staff. There's a large communal area for socialising and the hostel has a really pleasant feel so it's super easy to meet people. It's really close to Turmstraße U station so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glyn D
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect for what we needed, a bed for the night after exploring the city. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast which was cheap and offered good options. We didn't make much use of the communal areas but noticed a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee D
Amstel B, Guest Relations Manager at Amstel House Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this nice review Kaylee. We hope to see you again in Berlin. Best wishes, your Amstel Team

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

The Hostel is located in a good area, very easy to get bus and subway just a 10minutes walk to the main street. The check is was very slow but seems to be busy at the time we arrived. At least the staff was respectful and friendly. The explain us everything about how it works and did the properly check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheHinduFace
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 October 2016

My daughter has been here on a school trip to Berlin. They were with about 50 youngsters. It is a pretty basic place, very suitable for large groups. She didn't like the fact that the shower was not very clean and on another floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob30berg2015
Paris, France
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Very nice rooms,excellent service.Clean room and bathroom. Buffet very good. Bar works all night and not expensive, location is ok, wished it had been closer to city centre. Close to underground station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristinejowel

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#15 of 344 in Berlin
661 reviews
Moabit
Wallyard Concept Hostel
Wallyard Concept Hostel
#22 of 344 in Berlin
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
1,203 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 344 in Berlin
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Moabit

Neighbourhood Profile
Moabit
You may not realize Moabit is one of the city’s most central neighbourhoods when you arrive at Hauptbahnhof (central station). Surrounded by waterways, Moabit is a quiet island protected from the hustle and bustle of Berlin. The crowds that do gather prefer spending their evenings in cozy restaurants over the party venues offered by other districts. With its beautiful parks, old housing and romantic industrial areas, life has traditionally been relaxed and a bit slower here. But the tone may soon be changing. Reasonable housing costs and proximity to city centre are attracting more young Berliners and international visitors. This interest is encouraging new bars, cafés and nightclubs, making Moabit a candidate for most up-and-coming neighbourhood in the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Amstel house you'll find a warm welcome in our spacious lounge 24 hrs/ day. Our staff will help with all your travel needs, for example: tourist information, ticket service (shows or city tours), night life tips, or just a beer while you plan your next activity 24 hrs/ day. The hostel is located in a district filled with tradition. With its quiet streets, green parks, various restaurants and local pubs, you'll find a warm and welcoming atmosphere that will make you feel at home in Berlin. The closest subway station U-turmstrasse (U 9), is just a short walk away from Amstel house and is the perfect start to discover Berlin. All of Berlin's famous sights are easily reachable ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amstel House Hostel

Address: Waldenserstrasse 31, 10551 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Price Range: €34 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amstel House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amstel House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel House Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amstel House Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ireland

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Amstel House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible book rooms with less people in them.”
557rayaa, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rent a bike,”
Gosha86, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“nothing was special”
396kingz, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Talk to people in the common area, it's why you are there!”
LeoMoreno, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The best price-performance ratio”
iikberlin, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5