We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 9-13 10178 Berlin, 10178 Berlin Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (348)
Room & Suite (243)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Lux 11
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#187 of 645 in Berlin
Travellers' Choice
Situated in Berlin's pulsating and hip central district of Mitte, amidst creative and chic fashion shops, galleries, trendy media agencies and a myriad of culinary locations, the 72-apartment Lux 11 opened on July 1st 2005. The renowned London-based architect team, Silvestrin/Salmaso, has elegantly fused this stylishly modern structure with its historic setting. With interiors oriented towards hospitality, spaciousness and comfort, the Lux 11's open-plan guest rooms and public spaces provide natural scenery in tones of Chinese green for the gleaming bleached wood furniture and fittings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
172Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
58Attractionswithin 0.5 km
661Reviews9Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 234
  • 112
  • 50
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
C T wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
First and most importantly (for me), the room was very clean and quiet. Other pros: Friendly, helpful staff and fantastic location. The cons: The rooms are UNBELIEVABLY small. I am from NYC and have travelled to many large cities on a budget--so I know all about small spaces. This place was over the top. We literally could barely maneuver ourselves around. We didn't even have the smallest room in the hotel--we stayed in a "superior room." And yes, we got a good price, but I don't feel that we got a "great value"--especially since this is Berlin and not London, Tokyo, etc. Whenever I travel to Europe, I check with hotels in advance to make sure that their large beds are not actually just 2 small beds pushed together. I forgot to do that for this trip, and sure enough that's what we got. Luckily, the staff was able to find us another room that had a normal bed with no fuss. They were really lovely about it. Be sure to make your needs known in advance if you choose to stay here. Another thing that made the room weirdly uncomfortable was the lighting. Suffice it to say that unless the blinds were open, you can't see much of anything, and even getting the lights on and off required this bizarre system that was just really annoying.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Room Tip: If it matters to you, be sure to ask if your bed is one big bed or 2 small beds pushed together.
See more room tips
Response from Tino Jonack, Gästeservice/Empfang at Lux 11
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Dear CT, Thank you ever so kindly for your lovely feedback and great review. We are very joyfully to read the super rating of the location and staff to whom this feedback means a lot. Mostly out of curiosity, we would very much like to get in contact again with you and get an insight about the hotels you have visited in Tokyo and New York. Both grand cities which we have visited several times ourselves and do return to frequently. But we happily admit that finding a hotel that offers spacious rooms, and maybe even a balcony and a little kitchenette has always been a great challenge. We would therefore be grateful for your travel tips and are always on the lookout for opportunities to visit these places: to learn and improve. (And yes, even while we are vacationing, it now has become a frequent habit which our partners surely do not appreciate as much.) Back home, in Berlin, we lovingly refer to the building that now hosts the Lux Eleven Berlin-Mitte as “the old lady”, witness to over 130 years of history, with all its ups and downs: from a military hospital to the offices of the former Russian secret service, the “old lady” has seen her fair share of the past. And while we know the interior and design by heart, we are not afraid to admit that some design elements might not be the most practical, surely, it would have been no problem to illuminate the light setting for you in the apartment. We are delighted that even though your special room requests were not known in advance, a room move was easily and comfortably managed for you. Though we always try to anticipate our guests wishes in every way, at times we must acknowledge that our fortune telling shows significant gaps. We will shake the little glass ball once over and hope that we may predict all our guests wishes in advance and most importantly: as accurately as possible. To make it a little easier, it is always a great idea to give us a little heads up, just in case the glass ball, we usually consult for any predictions, is malfunctioning again. Dear CT, we do hope to welcome you again in the future and do not hesitate to drop your travel tips for us so we may check out the competition around the world! We wish you all the fun for your next adventure. Your Lux Eleven Team
Read more
Clogs wrote a review Sep 2020
Warsaw, Poland2945 contributions691 helpful votes
This place offers everything you need,bself catering with a hip twist. Bathroom is part of the bedroom, funny aspect. Everything was clean, decent bed, basic little kitchenette with a good sized fridge. Great location! Only thing I missed was closet space for small clothes and t shirts. There was just space to hang stuff, but I made do, I live out of my trolley just fine anyway.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Brighton_Ragazza wrote a review Apr 2020
Brighton56 contributions64 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights and had a lovely, functional and quiet bedroom with a small balcony. The bed was so comfortable that our perfectly comfortable bed at home has proved lacking since we got home. A small kitchen are was a lovely addition and everything was clean and well maintained. The location was perfect for first time visitors to Berlin. Transport links were great and we were within walking distance to some great shops, bars and restaurants. All the staff that we spoke to were very helpful, friendly and professional. We would definitely recommend and would stay here for our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
missthingeats wrote a review Feb 2020
Sliema, Malta109 contributions91 helpful votes
I wasn't expecting a great deal from a place I'd barely had time to research in any depth. But when we got to the concealed door of the hotel, I knew we were in for a treat! We were put up in an amazing room (all of their rooms are huge compared to some of the other choices in Berlin), and additionally, we had a wonderful view of Alexanderplatz from the window. Loud? You might think so, but this place is so quiet and perfect for those who are sensitive to noise. The immediate amenities included a small kitchen but also the snuggest pair of haus shoes our tired feet could find. Perfect if you've had a long day. The staff are very friendly, happy to help with anything you need, and, the rooms are finished to a really high standard. The shower is huge, and the bathroom is soooo modern. Appliance charging is organised by permanent and card-operated electricity. This place is incredibly cool, but not in-your-face. It's ideally placed for all the sights, but mostly for shopping! Ask the staff for tips on good places to eat, they know all the right places.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Martin K wrote a review Feb 2020
Singapore, Singapore6 contributions
Hotel staff very inflexible. We booked 20 rooms (together minimum 80 nights) as a group and there were many mistakes in bookings. We asked hotel staff on Monday to change few things and until Wednesday it never happened. Everything came as extra charge (they even asked for 10€ for late checkout - 1hr later). Worst was when someone broke into my room during my absence and stole money and some valuables from my room. Hotel couldn’t care less. Put their hands off everything - no security cameras, nobody else entered my room than myself. My friend bought perfume as a gift for his relatives, and this was also stolen during his stay in Lux 11. I’m sure those burglars work with some hotel staff. They got into my room when I left for dinner. They got in through window opened for ventilation (2nd floor). And when I returned back 3hrs later, things were gone. See the picture where you will see prints of some tools they used to break into my room. Most sarcastic was checkout when the lady asked me if I enjoyed my stay and hope I return again. In my years of traveling, this was so far the worst hotel experience ever. And Germany is not a third world country...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
Response from TJonack, Leiter Front Office at Lux 11
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Chupacabrito, Thank you kindly for your review and honest words. We are deeply sorry for the situation that led you to judge our services so poorly. Furthermore, we do feel the need to look into your comment in detail. Firstly, you are absolutely right that you had a group booking at our property which was organized by your company. Regrettably the reservation was prepared by your company in accordance with the information we received the reservations were aligned in our system. The changes that were required for your booking were made without further communication. We also tried to receive feedback by your company on why all this information were missing but a reply is still outstanding. Now with regard to the second part of you feedback, we do have to admit that we do not have any security cameras on the floors nor in the rooms or at the windows which would be against the German law, based on the history, the people do not like to be monitored 24/7. That would be a breach in the right of privacy. Dear Martin, what you are trying to say is that one of the staff members climbed to the window excess on the second floor (at least 8 meters above ground) to break into the window and then casually stealing your possessions? We are very confident in the talents of our staff-members, but we are doubtful if we actually employ the night fox who has a great talent for façade climbing. Don’t you think using the door would be more convenient? As a matter of fact, we read out the door lock when the incident was brought to our attention. Within the given time frame, the door was not opened by any keys (all employee keys are personalized, and the door lock logs everything, from when it was opened by whom and even when the door was locked and unlocked). As the colleagues at the Front Desk tried to explain to you already, we do understand that you were in a highly emotional state to realize all the options that were lined out. Theft is an issue which we take very seriously. Hence, it was offered to call the police to take the statement and you were given the option to go there directly as well. Of course, if the staff was in on it, I would not have trusted them to call the police either. As you pointed out correctly, Germany is not a third world country, it is thus questionable if any employee would have risked a save working environment, regular and good payment, health insurance and their future career to let the night fox enter your room specifically on second floor, wouldn’t the first floor be easier? With regard to the picture you have attached to your review which we have looked at very closely to identify the threat for the future we have made out the scratches the night fox has left and thoroughly repainted after his mission again. If we establish however that the door has not been opened by anyone with a key, we have few options to go by. It might have been the master burglar after all? We are, of course, at your disposal at any time if you need any assistance to go further with the police report. Also, we willingly hand out all necessary paperwork to the police or a representative at any time. Finally, we would like to thank you again for your insightful feedback. Your Lux Eleven Team
Read more
Erwan P wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore55 contributions11 helpful votes
The service in the hotel is probably the worst you can get... they made a mistake in my booking and they never wanted to adjust it... i stayed 4 nights and so they charged 5 while we booked 80 nights for the week (group of 20 people). They could not care less. My colleague got his cash stolen in his room... asked for a late check out and everything comes at a price. Unbelievable to have such service in an experience economy... worst experience in years of travelling. Definitely not recommending this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Response from TJonack, Leiter Front Office at Lux 11
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear 890erwanp, firstly, it is important to mention that we do appreciate your feedback. Based on your words we took the liberty to go through the booking records again. Regrettably, the changes your required were not communicated at all through the representative of your company who made the bookings in your name. In the process of reserving several rooms at our property, a reservation contract is always established which also states the cancellation policies, it is indeed unfortunate that you and your colleagues were not informed about the payment methods and cancellation options in advance. We do not want to elaborate the procedures of making a group booking and therefore will keep this simple. Like all companies, we as well, can only work with the information given to us. As a businessman you will of course understand the principals of a written contract and as a result it is unfortunate that the lack of communication let you to write this statement. If you do have any problems of reimbursement for your stay with the mentioned company your work with, we would be more than happy to provide the contract as proof so you would be able to receive the correct reimbursement of expanses. With mentioning the incident in one of the other rooms we would like to refer to the previous statement we posted. It is indeed a one of a kind situation. Have you been present at the whole incident? We are sure the police would appreciate your insight for their investigations into the matter. Theft is not taken lightly and a thorough investigation from the management as well as the police has been launched. Regrettably, we feel that you have taken upon yourself to defend for your colleague. We put all our efforts in solving the matter at hand immediately thus maybe you are missing some key points in the harsh judgment of our services. The police was informed, the measures to evaluate who entered the room in the absence of the guest has been taken immediately and the insurance was informed in case of an investigation. All parties involved do their best to work closely together and be of assistance at any time. Furthermore, your help is very much appreciated. Dear Sir, we would like to thank you for your open review and impressions. Please do not hesitate to contact us or the police department if you have any further details that would be of help; or if you need any further proof of the reservation procedure to make your claim of reimbursement of stay with your company. Kind regards Your Lux Eleven Team
Read more
AJ MomOf3 wrote a review Nov 2019
Singapore, Singapore13 contributions4 helpful votes
Loved this hotel. It’s minutes walk to all great restaurants, train station and shopping area - Alexandraplatz. 10 min walk to the TV Tower and all our local tours meeting are nearby! And it’s not expensive too! We stayed in room 112 a studio with kitchenette for 3 people. We had the entire garden balcony accessible to us! They provided luxurious feeling slippers & bathrobe too! And the coffee maker and coffee were fantastic! We didn’t include breakfast to our room rate so that we can try the various lively places around that area - which turned out to be a good decision! Loved everything about the place!! Oh only caveat is that the shower is kinda see through so only a small inconvenience! Oh and we needed to make sure we put the sign at the door for the room to be serviced & cleaned before noon. Highly recommend this place if you were ever to visit Berlin !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Jenna wrote a review Oct 2019
California3 contributions4 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I stayed at Lux 11 for four nights in October 2019. We booked this hotel because of the location, the room, the gym, and the free use of the laundry facilities. Location: GREAT; it is only about a five minute walk away from the bahn station, and there are so many well-rated restaurants nearby that we had a hard time deciding where to eat everyday. There is also shopping nearby, but we did not shop at all. The hotel, however, was not our favorite and it was a bit worn. We stayed in five different hotels during our two week trip to Germany and this place was just okay. Room: Nice enough; it had tall ceilings, a comfy bed, and a small kitchenette (that we did not use). Gym: I was so excited to have access to a gym (a nice one too), which was a local gym across the street. Two of the three times we went to the gym, we had a terrible experience. Locals (I am assuming) set up circuits that took over whole areas of the gym and used a ton of different equipment. Us, not knowing they were using the equipment because they weren't using it at the time, would try to use it. The locals, as a result, became hostile towards us. I have been going to gyms since I was a teenager, and I have never experienced anything like this before. If you only want to use a cardio machine at the gym, this gym is fine. Just don't plan on using any other equipment though. Laundry: This was a must for us since we had been traveling for a week and a half prior to arriving here. The machines were in the basement, and the basement was dark and pretty creepy. The machines are different than those in the United States and it took us about 10 minutes to figure out what we were doing. We ended up using just the express cycle on the washer, which got the job done. Would I book here again, probably not.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Tony B wrote a review Oct 2019
Wokingham, United Kingdom1903 contributions427 helpful votes
Nice quiet hotel about 10 minutes away from where the action takes place in Berlin, Alexanderplatz. Lovely rooms but for breakfast, you can either go to a health bar type arrangement with a few seats round the outside or you can go to the restaurant next door.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
coffee2go wrote a review Oct 2019
Augsburg, Germany32 contributions55 helpful votes
I stayed at the lux11 hotel and had a wonderful time. Clean amazing rooms and such a friendly helpful staff. The coffee shop next door was amazing for having a delicious coffee. Thank you so much lux11 team! I will come back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
US$154 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
lux 11 hotel berlin
GermanyBerlinMitte / Mitte (Borough)
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lux 11
Which popular attractions are close to Lux 11?
Nearby attractions include Antique Jewellery Berlin (0.4 km), Die Hackeschen Hoefe (0.5 km), and BODY WORLDS Museum "Facets of Life" (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lux 11?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Lux 11?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Lux 11?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lux 11?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lux 11?
Conveniently located restaurants include momotaro tavern, Father Carpenter, and Zeit für Brot.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lux 11?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lux 11?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Lux 11?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (1.8 km), East Side Gallery (2.9 km), and Berlin-Hohenschonhausen Memorial (6.4 km).