We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

ARCOTEL Velvet

Show Prices
#130 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 411: English reviews
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a great stay in one of their fronted rooms overlooking the street. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was perfect to start a busy day in Berlin. It is week located on the train lines and close to great restaurants and nightlife.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you're visiting Berlin for the first time, this hotel is a good option, as it's located in the Mitte area - at the centre of the city. Most cultural and historical attractions are nearby. Amenities are basic and adequate, bed is comfortable, has nice view, and staff is friendly. The only issue was the Wi-Fi, which wasn't working at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karim W
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Arcotel Velvet Hotel in Berlin for a few days toward the end of October 2016. Location was great and so was the hotel desk staff. I found it on a Conde Naste list of top hotels in Berlin. What we found very disappointing is that the hotel seems very tired. Both the hallway and room carpets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
VelvetBerlin, Front Office Supervisor at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Mr Joseph G, We sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel and our staff, however we are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfying. We are very sorry that you got this impressive... More 

Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be aware - a big building site next to it; noisy, and we couldn't change room. Hotel is fine with spacious rooms. Breakfast is okay. Location though is really great - just 2 min from the busy Friedrichstrasse and 7-8 min walk from Hackeschen Höfe.

Helpful?
Thank Peterkjeldsen
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stated in this hotel for 2 nights but was not so impressed. Rooms are ok size but have an open bath. Also the noise outside was considerable from public transport and construction. There is also a place nearby that played music rather loud. Breakfast was very good. I felt the rooms could be cleaner especially the carpet looked rather siffy.

Helpful?
Thank bup69
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Arcotel Velvet on Oranienburgestrasse is modern, well located, medium-size hotel. This was our second time, first was in July 2015. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable though not too soft. The fully carpeted floor is the only down-side but this is a matter of taste I guess. Lobby restaurant used to be decorated in Mexican style but has been refashioned... More 

Helpful?
Thank KataHki
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, not large, but adequate for two. The location in Mitte section of Berlin makes it a perfect base for visiting the city. Anything that is too far to walk can be reached by U-bahn or S-bahn trains, and there is a station right at the corner. A day pass to the transportation system... More 

Helpful?
Thank toyasyl
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Whilst not being cheap, the rooms here are clean, tidy, great views, even better location, well laid out and very comfortable. Some great places to eat food locally such as dada falafel and an amazing breakfast buffet in an old pharmacy both on the same street. Staff were friendly, patient and kind and would stay here again no problem!

Helpful?
Thank 185DavidW
VelvetBerlin, Night Audit at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear David, we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to leave such a good feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for the good words that you leaven about the room, the staff and our location. We hope of a next stay in Berlin and in the ARCOTEL Velvet.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Modern, clean hotel right in the centre of Mitte, Berlin. We didn't have to use public transport once! There was no hot water on our first night which was a bit inconvenient but overall a great stay!!

Helpful?
Thank Lisageorgiou
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel, good room price (better to book online) great base to visit Berlin attractions, most are within 30 minute walk although trams, buses and trains stop very close to hotel and most looked wheelchair accessible. Staff very friendly and helpful, prior to visit had made email enquiries about wheelchair accessible room, was sent photos, only downside although there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank tamps16

604 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Comfort Double Room (56)
Viewed
Comfort Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Junior Suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Suite (72)
Viewed
Superior Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#66 of 662 in Berlin
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#44 of 662 in Berlin
888 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#42 of 662 in Berlin
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mitte

Neighbourhood Profile
Mitte
The centre of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighbourhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Price Range: €28 - €357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#95 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#162 Business Hotel in Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ARCOTEL Velvet staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Lawrence, Kansas
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from ARCOTEL Velvet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles Peterkjeldsen, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back, on the upper floors are probably quieter, but our friend in the front, on the 3rd floor had no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles toyasyl, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“superior rooms only have tea/coffee facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 455AlanB, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great Location”
 of 5 bubbles tilly172016, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is in the former East Berlin and there's a historical U station that was once closed off the public.”
 of 5 bubbles PoySak, 29 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay