We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lietzenburger Str. 13/15, 10789 Berlin Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$359
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Official Site
Traveluro
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (613)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (280)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Axel Hotel Berlin
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#259 of 646 hotels in Berlin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Spa
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
114Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
16Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2127Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 773
  • 666
  • 372
  • 176
  • 140
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Thomas K wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Small rooms, when we arrived our room stinked of cigarett smoke, the handle to the window was boken so it could'nt be opened. And the aircon was boken. The staff just told us that was bad... Other than that the beds are really hard and has no top bed mattress. The staff in the reception was really self centered and did'nt even look up from their phones when we came/left (with one exception a norwegian guy) I highly recommend you to stay else where when visiting Berlin Schöneberg.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Thomas, i m sorry that you have made this experience in the Axel Berlin. We are a Non Smoking Hotel and we are charging a penalty of 150,00€ when we find out that someone is smoking. The penalty is for the former guest but of course it is not a final solution for you as new guests. I cant see when you were here and and what time you have checked in . In Situations like this we are checking if we can change the Room. As the Hotel is 12 years old we are planning a renovatoin and we are planning to do changes already in the next months. I understand hat you were dissapointed but i hope i can welcome you after the renovation were the entire Hotel is updated and had the quality as before. I m sorry again. Wish you all the best. Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Jonhaywooduk wrote a review May 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands99 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
I think this trip helped me realise the days when Axel meant "boutique" and "unique" are well and truly over. My last visit here was in 2014 and it feels like this place hasn't had anything done to it since then; tired and tatty decor, broken equipment, poor housecleaning. TV's broken (in both rooms I was given), mattresses sagging, faulty fans that sound like they're about to take off, and breakfast service that makes you feel like you're interrupting their facetime conversations. Room cleanliness and housekeeping not great as the bin in the bedroom still had the previous occupant's medical (diabetes) kit in it. This was not my best Axel experience and sadly will be the memory I hold of my last. Maybe I should have read the reviews in the last few months that predicted the experience I actually encountered. I note also the 'copy and paste' replies from Axel to these complaints is pretty much the attitude you get when you're there....like you are inconveniencing the staff by being there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't book a room at the Axel.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, first of all i like to thank you for your recent stay in the Axel Berlin . I m sorry to see that we didnt met your expectation. Me and my Team we are trying to offer a good guest service the entire time. We know the Hotel is about 12 years old and planning a renovation as soon as possible. Already during this year we are doing some changes which are necessary . I will talk to the Housekeeping Team regaring your point but like to apologize for them already. We dont wanna loose you as a guests so therfore i hope that you will give us another chance when our renovation is done so show you our new face. I like to say sorry again but hope that i will have the chance to welcome you again. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Wist 04 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 2 nights in may 2022. Not good at all. Upon arrival we got upgraded to a so-called suite. So far so good. The next early morning we received a phone call and were asked to leave the room within 30 minutes and move to another room. Well, the rest of the day did not go on very well due to the lack of sleep. Thank you very much!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guests, thank you so much for your recent stay . I really like to apologize for the situation you have made during your recent stay. Due to a System Error we got an overbooking situation which is not a normal situation . I m sorry that we woke you up early and destroyed your day with this action. I hope that the rest was okay. I like to offer you in case you need to come back to Berlin and like to choose the Axel again i would asked you for a City Room Reservation and i will give you a free upgrade to a Suite for the entire time but would need an information before your arrival. I like to apologize again but hope to see you soon. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
MylifeasBent wrote a review Apr 2022
Dragoer, Denmark28 contributions15 helpful votes
From Booking.com review after the stay: The staff at the reception, were not interested, superficial, gave no information or service. They did not bother to look up when passing the reception. The only time that was shown a bit of kindness, obviously assumed, was when we checked out after 4 days. The decor of the room seemed somewhat worn, the TV was damaged, the water ran out everywhere from the bathing area. Something "triggered" allergy, probably dust allergy, because we did constantly sneeze in the room (not outside the hotel). It was fun in the beginning, but not after 4 days ... The beds were rock hard and you could feel the individual springs. The sauna worked 1st day. I have been to 'Axel' and 'Two' in Barcelona, ​​so had been looking forward to 'Axel' in Berlin. I'll not come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 5 May 2022
Dear guest, first of all i like to thank you to choose Axel Berlin for your recent stay in Berlin. I m sorry that we didnt met your expectation. I will talk about my staff regarding the topic in your review from the Front Desk. In the end of the year we are planning a renovation as it was already planned for our 10th anniversary but has cancelled by Covid. I hope after this you will give us another choice in the future. All the best,
Read more
JAG wrote a review Apr 2022
Madrid, Spain98 contributions42 helpful votes
DIRTY, arrogant staff, very bad experience… I don’t recommend this hotel at all! It the third time that I host here and every time is even worst. The amenities doesn't work (no sauna, no Stein... Energy saved 🤑) disgusting and bad smell in the corridor and specially, in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 5 May 2022
Dear guests, first of all i like to say thank you for your recent stay in the Axel Hotel Berlin. I m really sorry that we didnt met your expectation in some points. We are planning a renovation in the end of the year and hope that you will give us afterwards another chance. All the best
Read more
Steve D wrote a review Mar 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom62 contributions68 helpful votes
Where to start, Rude and arrogant staff, smelly, tired and dated hotel that’s had no money spent on it since it opened 12 years ago ! They say it was due for a refurb before covid, yet still not done. Had to change rooms 3 times due to various issues, Human waste floating in toilet upon checking into room, window not closing, plug sockets hanging off the wall etc etc Reception staff seemed to find this amusing, laughing whilst talking to cleaning staff on phone Corridors smell very stale, as do the rooms Spa area Used to get robes/slippers in room to use in spa area, saw two guests with them, when I questioned reception, response was, we don’t supply them anymore, guess I just imagined seeing them ? Lockers without any means of locking, useless. Steam room closed due to covid, yet the sauna was fully operational, go figure that one ? Covid risk in one but not the other perhaps ? Unused steam room used as a smoking room, with smell of smoke in whole of spa area, staff not interested Raised issues with Head office, 10 days later, still no response. Used to be a great hotel, but sadly due to attitude of staff and poor maintenance/ management it’s anything but now
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Much better places to stay in same area
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Deat Steve, i m sorry to read about your experience. I ve open the Hotel 2009, even when i had a little break i guess i m not have changed . Of course the Hotel has 12 years now. We are aware of it and had planned a face lifting already for our 10th anniversary. Thanks to Covid this was not possible but it is on schedule for this year. I hope you will give us then again a chance to convince you from our service. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Kil Geo wrote a review Mar 2022
Glyfada, Greece75 contributions30 helpful votes
I was ok, nice value for money, the breakfast was very poor …. The room was clean, nice gym and jacuzzi at the roof top! Upon departure on 07 March , nobody at the front desk to take our luggage , from 14:05 until 14:30 nobody answer the telephone center… nobody at the reception for 30 minutes??? I don’t think to come back for a next stay to Axel hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your review and your recent stay in the Axel Berlin, Due to a technical Problem where the receptionist needed to help he was away from reception. Of course this is not a normal situation and i like to apologize. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Google M wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Don't bother staying here...I did twice but never again. The Hotel manager was very accommodating to me as I needed to book extra nights but the other staff were horrible including the ginger one who muttered rude statements under his breath in English at me when he thought I couldn't hear. Wood furnishings at the back of the bed were filthy and full of dust but I don't blame the cleaners who are afraid to knock on doors due to the nature of guests at this hotel. Hotel Gym and Steam Room and Jacuzzi were occupied by Homeless Gypsies let in by older desperate guests via Grindr. I called reception to ask them to get rid of the homeless Romanian Rent Boys occupying the facilities for guests and intimidating the paying hotel guests and the response I got was "managers not in until tomorrow...what do you want me to do about it...." On checkout they tried to charge me for items taken from the mini bar I never took. They tried this during my first stay in 2017 so must be an ongoing scam.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Dear guest, i m sorry to read about your stay and i m sorry that we didnt met. Even when i m not full day here but i m every day in the Hotel. However i will point on your review in the next Meeting to get better.I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Michael_CORDERO wrote a review Mar 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel4 contributions2 helpful votes
The rudest stuff and the dirtiest place I've ever seen. The receptionist was just screaming on us. There are so many perfect places in Berlin in generally and a specially in this area. By the way, the location is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Dear guest, i m really sorry for your experience and like to apologize . I will talk to my Team and try to find out what happend here. I know how important a getaway is and totally understand that this is not acceptable. I m really sorry. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Navigate49462601481 wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
My experience started before I had even boarded my plane to Berlin. Tomaz, the Front Office Manager decided to charge my card for full amount of my stay (actually he overcharged me but this I am not making a point of) although I have email proof to prove that the stay would be paid for upon arrival. When I arrived at the hotel around 1pm, I waited 20minutes at the unmanned reception desk not knowing what to do - the sign which I seen feature throughout the weekend stating “we will be back in a couple of minutes” was not there that day. When the receptionist finally arrived, it was a rudest experience of my life! I was told check-in is 15:00hrs and come back! No attempt to look and see that maybe a room was ready, or I’m sorry our check-in time is from 15:00hrs. Speaking to other guests during there stay, I seen that on the same day I checked in, they had been offered rooms prior to 13:00hrs. When I did return at 15:00, my negative outlook was completely changed when I was greeted by the pleasant and helpful Lucas who was smiling and amazing all weekend! But when he said “I will give you a complementary upgrade” I was surprised to see that my booking for a Junior Suite, which is what I had been charged for, was not even in the system, but a City View Room was. A quick show to Lucas my emails back and forth with Tomaz & Alan, showed that I had indeed booked the Junior Suite and this was changed, and I was given my room keys! It wasn’t long before I returned to Lucas when I discovered that the room was missing toilet paper, yes toilet paper 😯 The rest of my weekend was uneventful, mainly because I had no interaction with any staff members, because the only one I had seen was the receptionist, up until my last night. Me and some of my new hotel friends where in the spa relaxing at around 12am when they we heard a loud bang. Upon checking, an elderly gentleman was lying on the floor in the gym area. Another guest went over, he said he was ok and rose to his feet. Not even 2 minutes later, I got up to check on him again, this time I found him unconscious, not breathing and his neck was hanging over the bar used for weights. I quickly removed his neck, as he feel to the ground, still not breathing, I thought he was dead! I placed him in the recovery position and he starting breathing again. While this was happening, other guests tried to contact the reception to which there was no answer, and even an off-duty receptionist (the same that was extremely rude on check-in) was there and when asked by guests if he would help, his reply was “no, I’m not working right now”. Everyone was so shocked! The gentleman was in a state of shock and refused to stay for us, so he proceeded to leave! When I went down to notify the receptionist what had happened, asking them if there are no cameras in the gym for them to watch and keep an eye, there answer was no. I told them how there was blood on the floor in the gym because of what had just happened. For the sake of the hotel, I really hope this gentleman was alright, as when he left he was still bleeding from his head and lower back. Besides all of the above mentioned, I really really enjoyed my weekend at Axel, so much so that I even enquired about extending my stay for 3 more nights, however the price I was quoted for midweek was more expensive that what I had paid for the weekend. I hope to return in the future, and I really hope that you will take onboard some, if not all of the issues/feedback which I have raised with you to hopefully make your properly as successful and brilliant as it potentially can be.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your review. There are many points to work on. I will do direct a Team Meeting to discuss all those points. Therefore i m sorry if you found some lack of guest service. I hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you that we can do much better. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinTempelhof-Schöneberg (Borough) / Schöneberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Axel Hotel Berlin
Which popular attractions are close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Nearby attractions include Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe) (0.2 km), Viktoria-Luise-Platz (0.5 km), and Prinzknecht (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hasty Pastry, Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha, and Oyster Bar KaDeWe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Axel Hotel Berlin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (5.1 km), East Side Gallery (6.6 km), and Gleis 17, Grunewald (5.0 km).
Is Axel Hotel Berlin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.