We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West

Save
Share
Brudermuhlstrasse 33, 81371 Munich, Bavaria Germany
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (218)
Room & Suite (81)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Updated 21/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#141 of 429 hotels in Munich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With a central location and fantastic views, the Leonardo Hotel München City West welcomes its guests to a modern setting. Comfortable rooms — some with kitchenette for long stays — as well as exclusive loft studios offer amazing views of the Munich skyline or the breathtaking Alps. Party on high, laze around or keep busy — the roof deck invites you to celebrate your exclusive event or to relax in the sunshine.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
72Somewhat walkable
Grade: 72 out of 100
46Restaurantswithin 1 km
5Attractionswithin 1 km
509Reviews10Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 223
  • 91
  • 34
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kaylee M wrote a review Nov 2019
Berry Hill, Tennessee13 contributions39 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay here! The rooms were modern, spacious, and clean. The staff was very friendly. The location was great-just a few min walk to the subway which takes you all over Munich! The price is affordable, and we found it to be a great place to stay for Oktoberfest!! I recommend it to anyone, and I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 5 Nov 2019
Dear 403kayleem, Thanks a lot for sharing your positive experiences with us and other travelers. We appreciate your praise to our team and your recommendation very much and are more than happy to see that we were able to contribute to a successful time in Munich. We are already looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best until then. With best regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation Manager
Read more
tlowe wrote a review Oct 2019
Canada8 contributions17 helpful votes
This hotel was in a great location, only about 50 steps to the subway station. Breakfast in the hotel was very good, and the bar was open late! Nice rooms, clean, and friendly staff. It was overall a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Dear Guest, We appreciate your fantastic review very much and thank you for being our guest. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon and we wish you all the best until then. With best regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Jennifer K wrote a review Sep 2019
Anchorage, Alaska15 contributions13 helpful votes
This hotel was a pleasant surprise! The location is fantastic, close to everything, literally a half block to the underground and 2 stops to the Oktoberfest festivities. The breakfast was great also! To get there from airport we took a taxi which was 90 euros and took over an hour with traffic. We took the train back and it was so easy and cheap. They have escalators if you’re worried about luggage. There was some construction on the train line which made us get off before airport but they had busses and free taxis that brought you the rest of the way.....the taxis from this point are free so don’t get suckered by the ones trying to charge. My only suggestion is to double check the construction from airport to downtown first because the line to get the taxi and bus from the airport to the train was very long when we got dropped off at airport.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Dear Lingthedream, Thank you very much for your great feedback and for choosing our hotel for your trip to Munich. We appreciate your positive words about our service, our breakfast, the room and the location. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again in our hotel and wish you all the best until then. With best regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation Manager
Read more
pallb wrote a review Jul 2019
Seltjarnarnes, Iceland47 contributions39 helpful votes
The hotel is clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, the breakfast is good. Two minutes to underground route U3, by U3 there is 8min to city center. We would go there again. I would like to see recycle bins for plastic, metal, glass, paper etc. by the elevator doors.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 23 Jul 2019
Dear pallb, Thank you for your feedback and your stay in our hotel. We are glad to see that our great location was convenient for you and also that you felt comfortable with the room and the cleanliness. It would be a great pleasure to be your host again on your next trip to Munich. With best regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Travelling Scot wrote a review Jul 2019
5 contributions8 helpful votes
Staying here in the middle of the hottest month on record in Europe and there is no AC! Receptionist could not care less when I brought up this fact and even told me “come back in the morning after I’ve finished” so he didn’t have to deal with it. 7 hours I have just spent tossing and turning on an important business trip it is absolutely outrageous this alleged 4* hotel has no AC and by the way it’s a lot closer to 2.5/3* Paid for a double room given 2 x single beds a dwarf would struggle to sleep on. No AC at all - unbearable heat. Staff not friendly or accommodating after complaining about the heat and asking to be moved room receptionist laughed at me (coloured gentleman with grey soul patch) Absolutely positively will not be back to this hell hole. Overall run down and dilapidated, paid over €100 a night to stay in this hotel and feel utterly betrayed. 3/10 do not stay here if you want to enjoy your trip! ABYSMAL!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 3 Jul 2019
Dear Mr. Bortle, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I deeply regret, that you had left us with such a very negative impression. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I am very sorry that we could not meet your expectations regarding the rooms and our service. Due to structural conditions, it is not possible for us to offer the comfort of an air conditioner, which is why we have not included this additional equipment in our hotel description. The colleague in the night unfortunately could offer you a room change at this time, since we were fully booked. That's why he asked you to come to the reception the next morning. If you have the impression that he was uninterested and did not take your request seriously, I apologize for it. This was not his intention. I hope we could find a satisfactory solution for you by changing to our sister hotel. Sincerely, Melanie Brandenburger Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Craig&Anne wrote a review Jun 2019
Harrogate, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Basically, this hotel is professionally run, clean and of a good interior standard. Free chocolates and apples are provided in Reception in addition to iced lemon water. The comfort rooms are located at the front of the hotel, which means that traffic noise is very loud even on the upper floors. This wouldn't be a major issue because of the double glazing if it weren't for the fact that there is no air conditioning. The hotel does provide a tower fan but in order for this to work effectively the doors to the road have to be open which naturally lets in all the sound & fumes as well :-( The Blackout curtain is very effective and the net curtains for privacy also. The provision of a kettle and some sachets for making tea and coffee was very welcome, small chocolates & free sparkling water were provided as well as a vanity kit, shoehorn, soap, sewing kit etc and the possibility of many other items being provided free of charge should the guest have forgotten them. The only other major negative (apart from the temperature/noise issue), was the unfortunate design of the shower, in that between the wall and the glass door of the shower cubicle, is a large gap. This resulted in water going all over the bathroom floor, the hall floor and even a small amount into the corridor of the hotel. This obviously shouldn't have happened and we did not enjoy having to mop this up using own towels. We didn't take breakfast but it looked very professionally presented and of a good quality, although this should really be expected for the price (13 Euros per person).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 13 Jun 2019
Dear Craig_n_Anne, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments helps us to identify our strength and weaknesses to make improvements. It is great so see that you were overall very satisfied with your stay, the comfort, our services and all the extras. The well-being of our guests is on our top priority. Unfortunately, we can not offer the comfort of an air conditioner, which is why we resort to the alternative with the fans. We also have taken note of the issue regarding the shower and apologize for this inconveniences. Our technician took care of it immediately and renewed the seal - thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel for your next opportunity and wish you all the best and a great time until then. With best regards, Melanie Brandenburger Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Jyoti69 wrote a review Mar 2019
London, United Kingdom64 contributions60 helpful votes
My husband and myself came to Munich to stay at your hotel to celebrate his birthday which we had arranged with friends of ours who live in Germany. We arranged this in January 2019 where we all booked this hotel and paid for it. On Friday 15 March 2019 our friends came to the hotel to meet us only to get told that it was overbooked and they will need to go your partner hotel which is 2km away at NYX Hotel and frankly I thought this was appalling. This really was disappointing as we all arranged to meet and stay at your hotel. If we have all booked 3months in advance for a hotel and paid for it then the room should not have been given away at any cost. The customer service is terrible as you could not accommodate paying customers a room they had booked. I have never ever had this issue in any other hotel and I would def never be recommending Leonardo Hotels to anyone as apparently we were told by the staff that this happens often where they overbook and have to re allocate customers to different hotels. This was such an inconvenience as we then left this hotel to stay with our friends at the other one NYX that they went too. Also when checking into NYX we was asked for a credit /debit card where they would take a £50 deposit which we get back in cash in Euros. Bearing in mind this was our last night and we would not be needing £50 in euros this system was just ridiculous. We shouldn’t have to pay a deposit for a room which was bad already paid for at the other hotel. Also this NYX was very far from the city centre and train station. This holiday was totally messed up thanks to Leonardo overbooking. Also priority should be given to those who have booked and paid for the rooms 3 months in advance. The rooms should never have been given away in the first place. Our friends travelled 2 hours to get to this hotel only to be told they need to go even further to a different once. Totally Disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 20 Mar 2019
Dear Jyoti69, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your impressions. Please allow me to apologize in any way for the inconvenience caused to you. I can fully understand that the situation you described was anything but satisfactory and made many circumstances for you. I assure you that it is not a standard at Leonardo hotels that we have to move our guests to other hotels. Due to the very many booking options (direct booking, travel agencies, online providers), it was unfortunately a system error and more rooms were sold, as we actually have available. I can understand that this was very annoying for you and also for us this is a very unpleasant situation. The local colleague had done her best to find a quick solution for you. In addition, we had hoped to be able to accommodate you with the compensation you have received. Unfortunately, we did not know that your friends had already arrived one day earlier, otherwise we would have tried everything possible to find a solution for you all. Dear Jyoti69, I would like to apologize once again for having received such a negative impression from us. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me personally at melanie.brandenburger@leonardo-hotels.com Yours sincerely, Melanie Brandenburger Guest Relation Manager
Read more
PetDim wrote a review Jan 2019
Madrid, Spain401 contributions185 helpful votes
You enter the hotel with difficulty small not automated door is becoming a challenge with luggage. Small reception with an unfriendly lady from Eastern Europe. Everything is odoured with an air refresher that is very peculiar and annoying for me. Feels like in cheap oriental place. Room at 12 o’clock is not ready. You put your luggage in a small room, use a toilet in the basement and leave to work. In the evening luggage is still in the small room- nobody thought to bring it up in the room. Anyway I go to the room and the door to corridor is widely open. Strange. I call reception and nobody is picking up the phone. A small search of the room for bombs or narcotics left while door is open and finally time to relax. Room is dusty and worn. Bedsheets have some wholes. Everything looks old and not thoroughly cleaned ever. There is small kitchen in a wardrobe. I looked in and closed the door. Dirty enough in order not to use it. Bathroom basic, worn and broken. Douche cabin is small with poor drainage. After a shower water came back from cabin to bathroom through the drainage system. I had to wait for 5 minutes in order the waste water to go back, before being able to go out. After this you need to clean the floor somehow... After this experience I did not dared to check the breakfast. This hotel needs renovation and before renovation it needs decent housekeeping. We were charged app. 200 Euro per room because of event in the city at the same time. For this place it was a robbery.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Dear PetDim, Thank you for the time you have taken to tell us about your impressions and experiences during your stay in our Leonardo Hotel München City West. Your opinion is very important to us, because this is the only way we get the opportunity to work on ourselves and to improve our service, because our goal is to offer our guests a nice and comfortable stay. I regret it even more that you were not satisfied and many impressions have led to the fact that you can not recommend our hotel. Unfortunately, we could not provide the room at your arrival at 12 o'clock. Our guests can use the room on the day of departure until 12 o'clock, after which we need time to prepare it for the new guests. For this reason, we guarantee the check in only at 3 pm. Our guests are welcome to leave the luggage in our luggage room during this time. For safety reasons, however, we are not allowed to bring the luggage prematurely into the room, which is why our colleagues have made you aware on arrival that you will be happy to receive your luggage on your return from our front desk staff. I have also taken note of your further description of the situation with the room. Whether the door was actually open, when you went upstairs, I can not retrace unfortunately. If this has been so, then I apologize for the fact that our maid did not close the door properly after cleaning. However, it surprises me that you searched the room for bombs and drugs after you entered, before you could relax. Unfortunately, during your two-day stay in our hotel, you have never informed us of your dissatisfaction. We would like to have taken the opportunity to find a satisfactory solution for you, because it is very important to us that you too can gain positive experiences with us. Maybe you will give us another chance to welcome you again. We also want to convince you of us and our service. Sincerely, Melanie Brandenburger Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Handojo W wrote a review Dec 2018
Sydney, Australia43 contributions45 helpful votes
We had a good breakfast with a nice back ground of snow, Room is a bit smaller for 3 persons and we had a room which shape like an attic, bit hard to get on to the bed. The reception when we checked in was not really friendly. Over all average
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Stephieriin wrote a review Dec 2018
Yarra Glen, Australia86 contributions107 helpful votes
The facilities were good, nice rooms with comfortable beds, and good water pressure in the shower with hot water. The staff left a lot to be desired however. The staff were not rude but certainly weren't helpful/particularly friendly. And the house keeping staffs cleaning choices were just odd and confusing. We had two rooms and wanted one as a twin. We pushed the beds apart and each day the house keeping staff would push them back together, they would not however return the bedside table so we would either have to move the table or push the beds back apart? So why bother? Why not just leave it how we had set it up, that is how we had requested the room after all. We stayed four nights and none if our amenities were replaced. They have a sign saying if you wish to keep your towels to hang them up which we did but each day they would replace everything except the face washer. Every night when we returned to our rooms we would just laugh at the bizarre choices the housekeeping staff would make - one day they gave us clean cups but returned our dirty tea spoons to us. It was just laziness all around. But overall I think this hotel is a good choice. It is a 30 second walk to a U Bahn station and only 15 mins from Marienplatz and the hotel itself was quite nice, just don't expect much in the terms of room service!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonardoHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Responded 2 Jan 2019
Dear Stephierin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. Every review is important to us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction. I deeply apologize for all the inconveniences you have caused through our housekeeping team. I can understand that this had an unpleasant effect on you and I discussed this situation with our housekeeping manager. We will train our employees in a targeted manner so that the wishes of our guests are respected as well as the cleanliness in the room and our own high standards are met. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. Your constructive criticism is very important for us. I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back in our hotel. Kindest regards, Melanie Brandenburger Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leonardo hotel munich
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
Which popular attractions are close to Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Nearby attractions include Paul Riedel (1.2 km), Flaucher (0.8 km), and St. Margaret (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gaststatte Grossmarkthalle, Sendlinger Augustiner, and Wirtshaus Valley's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Asamkirche (3.0 km), Nymphenburg Palace (6.2 km), and St. Peter's Church (3.4 km).
Is Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.