We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Colombi

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Colombi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose this Colombi being a member of Leading Hotels of the World, & we thought it was a good bet we might be well treated there--even though we had never heard of it. Well treated? We were upgraded & I'm happy to report..that advantage or no --- the staff were uniformly outstanding in attending to ..& sometimes even anticipating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N
Carrbridge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just come back from a 5 day stay at the Hotel Colombi. The entire experience from start to finish was just perfect. We were collected from Basel Airport in the hotel's luxury car and the transfer to our room was seamless. The Concierge staff were wonderful and spent time helping us with maps and recommending the best wineries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fox9999
Fairfax County, Virginia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. The hotel is located in a great location. We felt like we could walk to everything. The hotel itself if absolutely gorgeous from the lobby, hallways, room, etc.,! No detail left out. Our room was spacious, comfortable and we loved the toiletries, luscious towels and turn down service each night. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LAE-Travel4me
Calpe, Spain
Reviewed 26 October 2016

An outstanding hotel and restaurant, but if you like to sleep with the windows open, it can be loud during the night. It's located on the main drag where people walk, talk and shout as they are returning from the bars late at night. Or you can follow my husband's recommendation and wear ear plugs. Pretty pricey, but definitely worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K V B
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed at the hotel to visit the black forest and were quite pleased with everything. The hotel and our room were quite nice, but not overly extravagant; the electric shade over our window was incredible in that it would keep our room 100% dark, even during the day (although this did lead to some oversleeping!). Service was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradford C
ColombiHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate us here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our room and friendly staff as well as our restaurants. Regarding our breakfast we couldn’t meet all your expectations and we are really sorry about that. It is always our impression to arrange for you the...

Egypt
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I didn't stay at the hotel, just passed by for a nice glass of champagne in the afternoon at the Terrace. It was a nice sunny autumn day and i could have stayed there all afternoon watching and enjoying the atmosphere. Prompt and professional service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ueno18
ColombiHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review

Dear guests, We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience at our terrace. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your glass of champagne in our hotel and just enjoying life. We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Best wishes from Freiburg, Michael-Stephan Sänger Managing Director

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and it's warmth and cozy plus a good breakfast spread. However, the room does not have complimentary coffee/tea or kettle. Was only given 1 bottle of complimentary mineral water on the day we arrived. Ironing facilities is on request only. Apart from the above, the hotel is located near to the shopping area and the cathedral....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Budin N
ColombiHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Colombi Hotel Freiburg and for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor. First of all we would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our spacious rooms, the location directly in the city and our breakfast. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

This description could also apply to the clientele, or at least, those that used to frequent this 5 star hotel in the city centre. Unfortunately the hotel has not really kept up with the times. In this world of increasingly high standards little things matter, especially when one is paying these very high prices. Our (standard) room was adequate but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idandb
ColombiHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Colombi Hotel Freiburg with us. It is only through your valuable comments that we are able to continuously improve our service. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay to the fullest. Please allow me to express our apologies for the...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

The experience was bad due to the poor management of the hotel,since arrival everything seems to NOT to work staff are unfriendly Road work is blocking the entrance and it's over priced Hotel manager was totally unhelpful, handled situation in a wrong way Room service and cleaning is seriously bad

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdulaziz A
ColombiHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Abdulaziz,, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience. Guest feedback is imperative to maintain the level of personal service that we strive for. But in your case your feedback is more than unjustified and I am sure you realized that your behavior in our hotel was not the best at all. Nevertheless I...

Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Due to the roadworks in the centre of the town this hotel was a bit fiddly to reach, but this is a temporary situation and without that, this hotel is easy to reach from the main roads. It's also situated in the centre of the town, so a visit to the city centre is an easy short stroll away. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fleermuis
ColombiHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for your 5 star rating. It is so wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are really proud to have arranged a perfect stay for you. Your comment is a big motivation for our daily efforts. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes...

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#6 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
307 reviews
0.5 km away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#10 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,469 reviews
0.4 km away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#1 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
512 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
840 reviews
4.0 km away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#4 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel Colombi

Address: Rotteckring 16 | Am Colombi Park, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: €217 - €336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Colombi 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Colombi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombi Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Hotel Colombi Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#10 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Colombi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the beautiful Cathedral-view rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mededguy, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the park”
 of 5 bubbles HughC35, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Our room faced the park and it was quiet, it was reached by a glass walkway from the main building”
 of 5 bubbles NYTex, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“no view but it was quiet on the south side”
 of 5 bubbles porscheblue, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms with a view to the Colombi Park are better”
 of 5 bubbles TravellerCY, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay