We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
1/10/2017 2/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Le Chamoniard Volant

    45 route de la Frasse, 74400, Chamonix, France
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    1/10/2017 2/10/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in ChamonixSee available hotels in Chamonix
    Traveller (12)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Le Refuge des Aiglons
    1,085 reviews
    #12 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Hotel l'Heliopic
    1,160 reviews
    #5 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Le Morgane
    846 reviews
    #7 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Le Vert Hotel
    502 reviews
    #15 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Overview
    • Excellent24%
    • Very good30%
    • Average18%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible19%
    Travellers talk about
    “bunk beds” (3 reviews)
    “the bus” (5 reviews)
    “les houches” (3 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Suites
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Le Refuge des Aiglons
    1,085 reviews
    #12 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Hotel l'Heliopic
    1,160 reviews
    #5 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Le Morgane
    846 reviews
    #7 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Le Vert Hotel
    502 reviews
    #15 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (111)
    There are newer reviews for Le Chamoniard Volant
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 44 reviews

    Reviewed 28 March 2016

    While the stay was cheap, so was the experience. The place is old and has a certain historical charm, but the facilities are run down. The kitchen is an antiquity to behold, showing off with an old gas-fired stoves and cutlery from the late 1980s...More

    Thank Elias F
    Response from Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard VolantResponded 15 June 2016

    As show of it the most favorable comments, our conditions of welcome are not always the ones that you describe. It depends on several factors and on the type of customers whom we receive. Our kitchen is cleaned every day before noon but cannot be...More

    Reviewed 29 February 2016

    There are personal lockers free of charge in each room, making it very easy to store things safely while out hitting the slopes. The hostel is 30 seconds from a shuttle stop that will take you into town, or out to a couple different ski...More

    Thank Sophia W
    Response from Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard VolantResponded 15 June 2016

    Thank you for having taken time to make your opinion known on our reception conditions.

    Reviewed 26 February 2016

    definalty do not stay here, security is extremely poor as they do not provide locks for the 198 person room upstairs. a lot of our gear was stolen and they were very unhelpful. kitchen is disgusting, very little cooking equipment available

    Thank 93qwerty
    Response from Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard VolantResponded 15 June 2016

    We only provide 70 beds and only one dorm with 18 beds. For 17 € /night we cannot give you the security of an hotel. For 20€ you can have a 4 beds dorm with private lockers and door code.

    Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

    We stayed in the 12 person shared room upstairs. You only get given a sheet, pillow and blanket but in the summer that's all you need! Clean showers, kitchen, friendly receptionists. Full of other travellers. Within ten minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix. Unbelievable...More

    Thank Seán L
    Response from Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard VolantResponded 1 September 2015

    Do not hesitate, next time, to ask us a smaller dorm more confortable. We have 4, 6 and 8 beds dormitories. We can also rent sheets and supply free extra blankets. Thanks for supporting us.

    Reviewed 27 August 2015

    Most often used as a 1 night stay over before/after climbing trips. Everything you need - clean, warm, nice dorms/rooms, friendly & helpful staff, hot showers, wifi. Ample car parking, quick & easy access to Chamonix centre Highly recommend it

    1  Thank markjacqui1
    Response from Chamoniard-volant, Gérant at Le Chamoniard VolantResponded 29 August 2015

    Very happy to see you enjoy our place. Thanks for your help. See you next time with pleasure.

    Le Refuge des Aiglons
    1,085 reviews
    #12 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Hotel l'Heliopic
    1,160 reviews
    #5 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Le Morgane
    846 reviews
    #7 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    Le Vert Hotel
    502 reviews
    #15 of 73 hotels in Chamonix
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$40 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Location
    • France >
    • Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes >
    • Haute-Savoie >
    • Chamonix
    • Also Known As
    • The Chamoniard Volant Hotel Chamonix
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (12)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Nearby
    Le Morgane
    846 reviews
    1.39 km away
     
    Le Vert Hotel
    502 reviews
    2.81 km away
     
    Hotel l'Heliopic
    1,160 reviews
    1.50 km away
     
    Le Refuge des Aiglons
    1,085 reviews
    1.70 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Le Fer a Cheval
    411 reviews
    .84 km away
    Restaurant Revola
    331 reviews
    .72 km away
    Hibou Deli
    89 reviews
    .83 km away
    La Maison Carrier
    581 reviews
    .67 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Parc de loisirs de Chamonix
    262 reviews
    .47 km away
    Montenvers terrasse panoramique
    85 reviews
    .75 km away
    Le Musee Alpin
    63 reviews
    .97 km away
    Le Refuge Payot
    53 reviews
    .96 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Adkar P
    9 August 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Chamoniard-volant | Property representative |
    We only have bunks beds with 2 singles beds. One top and one bottom. See pictures of our room on Tripadvisor. Regards.
    0
    Votes
    Google Translation
    wernerRSA1981
    1 June 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Chamoniard-volant | Property representative |
    Your enquiry for a stay from 06/07 till 07/07 /2015 morning + Werner Bonjour, We have 6 beds available for those nights in a 6 bed dorm.( last 6 bed-dorm available ) Our prices/personne are those following : with free... More
    0
    Votes
    Google Translation
    Room Tips
    "A 4-bed would be perfect because there isn't too many people in the room but there'll be a chance to..."
    Read review
    "do not choose the big dorm"
    Read review
    "if i had to stay here again i would pay the extra for the smaller rooms, at least your equipment would be..."
    Read review
    "Mont blanc is the best room, especially if you are a group of 4."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing