We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Auburn, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2016

location is great and close to main shops and beach but the room was older and needed maintenance, sofa bed was not comfortable at ALL had a sore back luckily we only stayed in nice for 3days! staff were nice but not friendly enough to help us choose our daily activities the city was breathtaking and when i do return... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoubeyda H
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

We were visiting the city for a wedding over long weekend. Admittedly we didn't spend a great deal of time in the room due to exploring and attending wedding events. The room utilised space well. We opened thet door into the kitchen, the bathroom was the door on the right and the bedroom/lounge was the door to the left. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan C
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2015

location is fine ,close to the beach and restaurants. the people in the hotel were very friendly the price is convenient, but the rooms are old and a bit shabby I would not recommend this hotel, everything was old, beds were not very comfortable

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne V

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

The front desk was friendly... but the property is old and needs renovation esp the kitchen and bathroom. The unit even had a weird layout because the toilet is separate from the bathroom- and this can be inconvenient. We had issues with the towels as well. We didn't use them because they were not the crisp white you will usually... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Camille T, Gérant at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mr Anonymous, I am deeply sorry your stay did not satisfy you. Though the kitchens and bathrooms have been renovated 2 years ago, and the towels are cleaned buy a specialized company serving the hôtels of Nice, changing for new towel quite often, delivered in plastic bags, also we check them when we put it in your room, I... More 

Englefield Green, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

First thing to say to root this in context is I came on business during a very busy period. Not sure if that had an effect but for what was paid for the room the facilities were a joke. The room I suppose was not bad but the bed was poor with wafer thin pillows. Again shower per se nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
Camille T, Gérant at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mr Nick, I am sorry the rate was not in adequation with what you would have expected. Unfortunatly twice a year Nice is crowded with congress and events that makes the rooms rare and more expensive at that moment. Do not hesitate to come visit Nice during the low season, then the rates are more interresting. Again I am... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We were traveling with another couple and had a one night layover in Nice. Their room didn't have a bed. The key wouldn't work for ours. We were moved to a room that had a bed thankfully. Seems like it needs an upgrade but even a bed would be an improvement.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
Camille T, Gérant at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steeve, Thank you for sharing your experience, though I do not understand when you say there was no bed in the room... We do have beds or sofa bed in our studios and appartments... Could you come to me to be more precise maybe? I am sorry your stop in Nice did not meet your expectations, and I... More 

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The service was great, the staff was very helpful and nice. The location was good and the room was nice. Our only disappointment was the sofabed, that had a gap between the two beds (and is therefore not a double bed).

Helpful?
Thank LiveNy
Camille T, Directeur général at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Livny, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is always a pleasure to help our guest to improve their stay. I am sorry your bedding did not correspond to you expectations. We do have twin studios, but also double studios, please do not hesitate next time to ask us a room change, we would have been happy to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

Even though the room standard itself qualifies to 3 stars, the people working there as well as the proximity to beach and shopping street, equal at least 4 stars. I will return next time I am living in Nice. Recommend this to adults, but as family I would live closer to Cannes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Silje T
Camille T, Directeur général at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Guest, All the front desk team joins me to thank you for your comment on our services! We will be happy to host you again in Nice, or maybe to see you on the Croisette of Cannes.! Best regards, Camille Tournadre Hotel Manager More 

Redondo Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2015

This place had roaches all over the place my Wife and I had to stay at a friends place because this place was horrible, they didn't even have a bed for us to stay it was o single pull out couch bed, the only thing good about this place is the location, everything is near. I think this place could... More 

Helpful?
Thank pandita b
Camille T, Directeur général at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Guest Pandita, I am trully sorry your stay did not meet your expectations but I can assure you there is no roaches of any kind in my hotel, also non of my front desk team have had a guest reporting such thing, I do not understand... Concerning the change of rooms you asked for a classic bed, and we... More 

Thornhill, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The hotel is situated very close to not only the beach, but, also the old town. There are also several supermarkets very close in case you wanted to eat in your room - there is a Carrefour (small city type) about 50 meters from the hotel. The staff were VERY friendly and helpful with any questions we had - we... More 

Helpful?
Thank MegoJer
Camille T, Directeur général at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this kind review! All the team is happy to have been able to improve your stay. Concerning the wifi I am sorry we were not clear enough, but you can use as many devices you can, you just need to change the e-mail. Concerning our rooms the fournitures are in a very good... More 

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#123 of 211 in Nice
341 reviews
Lamartine
#95 of 211 in Nice
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jay Hotel is located in the Niçois Golden Square, just a few meters from the Promenade des Anglais. It is just a few minutes away from the Palais des Congres Acropolis and the Palais des Expositions. The Jay is an ideal base point for discovering the attractions of the French Riviera's capital city. The Jay Hotel is an invitation to dive in the crazy of the Roaring Twenties. Worthy of Nice, the hotel pays tribute to elegance and Art-Déco of the 20's. The establishment offers 38 apartments on 5 floors, including 23 Studios for 2 guests and 15 One-Bedroom apartments where can sleep up to 4 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture

Address: 21 Rue Meyerbeer, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Résidence Coeur de City Buffa Nice)
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Price Range: €56 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Nice Buffa Hotel Nice
Citadines Hotel Nice
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Nice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT take the basement room!!!”
 of 5 bubbles MSnyc2014, 7 Jun 2015 | Read review
“the studio rooms are fold out beds, not great for people with bad backs”
 of 5 bubbles 319katc, 31 May 2015 | Read review
“Better furnished rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles RickB934, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“5th floor, less traffic noise. Although this is usual for Nice!”
 of 5 bubbles normane83, 14 May 2015 | Read review
“Choose the 5th floor. Less noise from outside.”
 of 5 bubbles 966bhaveshs, 10 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay