We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Caravelle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel La Caravelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a small and quite hotel, good and just typical french style! I think is good to spend one or two nights, alone or in couple. This tiny hotel is a bit old, but it is good if you want to feel l'ambiance provençale.

Helpful?
Thank Susan_Sho_
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The staff were all really friendly and did everything they could to help us and ensure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were cleaned and bed changed everyday. The hotel is in a great location too, the staff helped us with the best places to eat and socialise. There is a car park 2 minute walk from the car park... More 

Helpful?
Thank jtoheom
Suva
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

most disappointing that despite the interesting location the Hotel and the room we were in, had an awful smell of sewerage. When we brought this to the attention of the Manager at Check out, he did to appear at concerned, " IT is how it is " was his abrupt response. However rather than have breakfast there we went next... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZhouLIN

Travellers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

Brussels
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Aix is expensive this time of the year, so for one night we opted for La Caravelle. It is charming with plenty of character and our room, although relatively spartan with a small double bed, was perfectly adequate. Thank goodness also for the very good air con in the room. The bathroom is fine, but the shower head needs a... More 

Helpful?
Thank storytellerBrussels
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the small single room which has an external toilet along the corridor which is a bit of a strange set up but was ok for one night. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even spoke English to me. It's a very good location for seeing Aix as the centre of town is only a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kitty N
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
569 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This hotel is excellent (expecially for the price) on a whole range of levels. Firstly, the service. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and charming. Secondly, the room. Light, airy and comfortable. Thirdly, location. A short walk to wherever you want to go in Aix-en-Provence. The only thing that might make one think twice is no air-conditioning. I didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

This was our 4th hotel in 3 weeks in France. The man at the desk David was very friendly and nice. There was even a room ready for us at 11:00 in the morning. The room exceeded my expectations in size and wonderful view of courtyard out the window. Room 16 is great. Elevator available but took 2 trips with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 1xmasgirl
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015

The location is excellent. We can walk everywhere (but every hotel in the centre will be like this). The staff couldn't be more friendly. Breakfast is fine. The room was spotless when we arrived. But then it wasn't properly cleaned during our stay. One day, the rubbish wasn't collected. The floor wasn't swept properly. Not even the toilet was cleaned.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Luciana C
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, nice neighborhood with everything in close walking distance. You really couldn't ask for a better location. The staff is extremely helpful and very friendly, ready and willing to help with a smile. You will feel very safe and comfortable. The rooms are simple but very clean and ours had lavender hanging in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flatraveler11
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I needed an affordable room at short notice for a business trip. It had to be within walking distance of the centre of Aix, and this was the only place available via the normal booking sites. The good points: friendly staff, quiet room (if at back), room available in busy period The weak points: shabby ill-smelling room, poor value for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tom0523
HotelLaCaravelle2015, Propriétaire at Hotel La Caravelle, responded to this review

Thanks for this comment. On the other side, we think that you are too severe and that's why we don't agree with you. You came to us asking for a room, meanwhile all others hotels were fully booked. We proposed you the very last room we had available, and surely it was not the very best. We specify that it... More 

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#13 of 70 in Aix-en-Provence
338 reviews
0.2 km away
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
#39 of 70 in Aix-en-Provence
146 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#57 of 70 in Aix-en-Provence
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel de Gantes
Hotel de Gantes
#47 of 70 in Aix-en-Provence
76 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#45 of 70 in Aix-en-Provence
23 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#10 of 70 in Aix-en-Provence
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel La Caravelle

Address: 29 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: €68 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Caravelle 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Caravelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find somewhere else until hey ix the problem”
 of 5 bubbles ZhouLIN, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For quiet, ask for room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles tom0523, 28 May 2015 | Read review
“Only get a room facing the court yard.”
 of 5 bubbles 117marian, 18 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Pay the extra money (approx. $10) and go for a bedroom at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ree_reee, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Make certain you understand how the remote for you air conditioner operates.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbPensacola, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay