We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5 avenue du Pigonnet, 13090, Aix-en-Provence France
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$442
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$399
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/08/22
Hotels.com
US$399
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/08/22
TravelocityUS$399
PricelineUS$442
HurbUS$472
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (529)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (244)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 15/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Le Pigonnet
Updated 15/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 73 hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
"A secret garden in Aix-en-Provence" The Hotel Le Pigonnet is an enchanting escape in the heart of Aix-en-Provence. This elegant Provence bastide combines the 18th century warmth with a contemporary style in order to offer guests a pure delight of charm and peacefulness, where the heaven’s doors are always opened. And imagine admiring the majestic Sainte-Victoire Mountain as through the eyes of the renowned painter Paul Cézanne. The beautiful garden remains a real place to live where regular guests, guests on holidays or people from the city, play the traditional “pétanque”, enjoy the swimming pool or savor southern cuisine dishes, at the restaurant La Table du Pigonnet. Take a stroll around this marvelous garden. The magic and peaceful atmosphere makes you believe you are not in the heart of the city. This haven of peace is lined up with century chestnut trees, a blooming arcade with roses of a thousand colors. Le Pigonnet currently brings Aix locals and tourists from around the globe together via fine dining and music. Traditions and modern art de vivre are rolled into one, making the hotel an ideal base for touring the south. It is also a destination in itself. Relax to the sound of the water features and walk in Paul Cézanne's footsteps. No need to go far to escape as you explore the delightful sections one after another.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more
1021Reviews20Q+A93Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 704
  • 203
  • 77
  • 24
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JohnSW07 wrote a review Jul 2022
Macclesfield, United Kingdom18 contributions19 helpful votes
This is a delightful hotel on the ground floor, a very nice restaurant setting outdoors, nice gardens and pool but despite booking 3 rooms over 6 months in advance the deluxe garden view rooms we got were very basic. One in particular (14) had no bath, although advertised, poor decor and limited furniture with a view of a roof and trees. It was barely better than the classic room which at least had usb points. The pictures on their website are misleading in respect of these rooms. All they would say at reception was that there are differences. There certainly are! This a pity as the location just out of town but walkable is fine. Disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Reissuun wrote a review Jul 2022
Helsinki, Finland94 contributions97 helpful votes
Lovely place with large garden, many fountains, pool, great restaurant and beautiful buildings. We stayed at their family suite that was great for five of us. Location is quiet, but still close to the city center. Takes about 10-15 mins to walk there. Aix is a very beautiful city - many great restaurants, old buildings, squares, lovely streets.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tulika k wrote a review Jul 2022
Fremont, California8 contributions
+1
In our 15 day trip to France we saved Le Pigonnet for the last. We stayed in all five star hotels but this was indeed our favorite. The property is gorgeous, grounds beautiful and rooms giving a peak into the rich history and culture of Provence. While staying at the Hotel my husband and I got covid whereas our young girls were perfectly fine. The hotel quickly provided three separate accommodation for our quarantine. The staff looked out for us much like a family. They cared for our every need from medicine to the choice if food. Our girls were in a separate wing they looked after them much like a family. They prepared food of our choice and every member of the staff was aware of our likes and dislikes during our sickness. The hotel staff such as Abibou, Isabella, Mickey all were fantastic and so very caring. We’re grateful to them. Leaving the hotel made each one of us weep. We’ll certainly be back. Each member of the staff was so so friendly. Thank you for your love, kindness and hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tshyde wrote a review Jun 2022
Bremerton, Washington54 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel Pigonnet deserves it’s five stars. Our room was spacious and had a nice view of the grounds and pool. The grounds were park like and beautiful. The restaurant was excellent. Free parking and great laundry service. Close enough to city center to walk, but far enough away for peace and quiet. Probably the most outstanding thing was the service, truly five stars in all respects. We had a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Annette H wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom76 contributions38 helpful votes
Though very pricey this was a beautiful hotel with a spectacular garden and heavenly pool. I would give it more but for the price of the room which was quite small and dated with no balcony or view. The bar staff were exceptional. It is a pleasant 15 Min walk to the wonderful Aix and within reach by car to stunning hilltop villages and fields full of lavender, cherries, almonds and vineyards.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
adamsrobby wrote a review Jun 2022
Wilmington, North Carolina4 contributions2 helpful votes
The setting of this hotel is gorgeous. The restaurant and bar could not be more relaxing. Each interaction with a staff member was pleasant. We arrived around closing time for the restaurant and they were happy to allow us the chance to eat dinner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Careaboutconsumers wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions2 helpful votes
The grounds are beautiful and highly accessible. Wander on their garden walkways, privacy for their pool and very walkable neighborhood accessible to everything. But a great setting is nothing without great staff and they have it ! Person after person has a wonderful attitude, upbeat, caring, on top of what you need. And it is genuine. Whoever does the staffing knows people and the combination of a great "campus" and people made our stay here truly memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
carolineb246810 wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
We visited Le Pigonnet towards the end of May 2022. Based on what we had seen on the website & instagram, we were really looking forward to our stay, which was the last leg of an extended trip around France. Upon arrival, we were very underwhelmed. The interior of the hotel is very outdated and could definitely use some updating, the entryway and reception area is lackluster and the hallways were honestly a bit creepy, slightly dingy and carpeted. It just really did not feel like a cleany, bright, 5-star experience, it seemed areas of the hotel were almost forgotten about. Our room was extremely plain, all white room with no decor whatsoever, not even a photo or painting on the well or accent pillow. We were really disappointed. I think the biggest issue is how different the hotel appears in person versus how it presents itself on the site & instagram. It is also worth noting that the hotel is a bit of a walk to town, while it's a nice walk I would definitely not feel comfortable walking alone in the dark to the hotel. That said, the garden & outdoor area was very beautiful - the shining star of the property for sure. I would not consider staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction Pigonnet, Directeur général at Hotel Le Pigonnet
Responded 15 Jun 2022
Dear Mrs CarolineB, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing Le Pigonnet for your stay in Provence. I appreciate you took the time to share your experience. I am very saddened to read that you were disappointed by the overall hotel decor as well as the room and that you were not impressed at any point during your stay with us except from our garden. We are privileged to welcome guests in a 1920 Provencal Bastide and we are striving every day to maintain and recapture its splendor. We would hope that on a future trip to Aix-en-Provence, we would be able to show you other rooms which are decorated with different fabrics and style, so perhaps we would have the opportunity of showing you several options that would match better your expectations. We sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of making amends for this less than satisfactory first stay. Yours sincerely,
Read more
SDAATL wrote a review Jun 2022
Atlanta, Georgia17 contributions
We just spent three nights at this lovely hotel and enjoyed every moment. It’s quiet and relaxing, and the huge garden behind the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast is served in the garden as well as dinner. Our room was spacious, quiet and comfortable with a private deck overlooking the garden. We ate dinner here one evening and had a wonderful meal. The best feature of this hotel is the friendly, professional, attentive staff. Everyone was welcoming, helpful, and gracious. The location is also a great base to explore Arles, St Remy, Aix en Provence, Avignon (our favorite), etc. We will definitely return to this beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Suzanne T wrote a review Jun 2022
Kauai, Hawaii1 contribution
Best hotel stayed at including Rome. Florence, Nice, PortoVenerre, Paris, Tuscany all were 5 star hotels Can't wait to return in the future Staff waiters bartenders front desk all exceptional ..Stayed for 4 nights and the food buffets and bar food gardens were all amazing
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$317 - US$488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le pigonnet hotel, le pigonnet aix en provence
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneAix-en-Provence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Le Pigonnet
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Nearby attractions include Mind and Run (0.9 km), Closed Escape Game (0.9 km), and Hotel de Caumont - Art Centre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tita, Délices De Capoue, and Chez Ama.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Le Pigonnet have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Le Pigonnet offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Le Pigonnet?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.