We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort

Save
Share
6-8 quai de Verdun, 82000 Montauban France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (322)
Dining (32)
Pool & Beach (17)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 24/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 24/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 15 hotels in Montauban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In the very heart of South West, this old couvent of the 17th century located on the river side and 2 minutes walking distance from the ciy centre proposes 85 rooms, a brasserie "Le Bistro des Capucins" is opened every day at lunch & dinner time.We suggest you a spa 450 m2 size with an outside swimming pool, sauna, hammam and cardio training room. Beauty & body treatments are available by appointment.Free access to internet. Free carpark. Bike rental on spot.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
954Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 404
  • 360
  • 122
  • 55
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
P V wrote a review Oct 2020
Barcelona, Spain13 contributions4 helpful votes
The room was not clean, to the point that there were cockroaches and spider nets everywhere. We reported this to a member of staff who, in a very unkind tone, argued that "that was completely normal", as he turned away and left us there standing... This is unacceptable and alarmingly unprofessional. I would not recommend this place to stay. The building is worth visiting but I would rather stay in a well-known and professional establishment where quality is guaranteed such as Novotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid this place at any rate.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabrice Gavaret, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Daer Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your review following to your last stay at l'Abbaye des Capucins. We are sorry to learn that you were not happy with certain aspects of your visit. Please accept our apologies. However , we regret that you did not give us the opportunity to have more details about the room you occupied and the staff member you were in contact with. We are honestly not used to receive this kind of feedback and the described situation is looking extreme from our side. Please feel free to call or email us in order to have more informations concerning this poor experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely Yours. Anne G.
Read more
glivett wrote a review Sep 2020
Manchester87 contributions8 helpful votes
Firstly, the positives. The room (once we had it changed from the first one, see below) was lovely. Large, clean, modern, a huge, really comfortable bed, effective aircon (although it did turn off during the night, but maybe a previous occupant had set it to do so?). The common areas were beautiful (although the upper floor carpets needed vacuuming!), the pool and restaurant courtyards were very pretty, as were the inside common areas. However, the service was very poor. We arrived late as there was a fair on and lots of roads leading to the hotel were closed. No mention was made of this in the booking confirmation, which would have been helpful. On arrival we were allocated a room on the first floor, next to the lift. Whilst a nice room, it stank of drains. Very, very badly. We went back to reception, where the receptionist seemed unsurprised and unconcerned, but immediately moved us to a different room. The bistrot seemed to be closed so we asked about a small plate of charcuterie or similar. The receptionist said she would ask a colleague. We waited, but no answer was forthcoming so we went into to town to eat. We decided to have dinner at the hotel, and the only table they had was for 9pm. We accepted this but arrived at 8.15 for a drink, and asked the greeter if she would let us know if a table became free before 9pm. We waited in the bar area right next to the restaurant. At 8.50 we asked about our table, and were shown to a table for 2 that had been empty since we arrived. We were then ignored for a full 20 minutes whilst our waitress cleared other people's plates. We were not offered a wine list or aperitif or a menu. We had to ask for each of these. The wine list came on a tablet and there were no wines by the glass on it. When a waiter finally came he said they did have wines by the glass and what did we want. Hard to say, as we had no list, but we ordered a red and a white. In the end I found the by the glass menu on their website and was not surprised to see that my red was the most expensive one!! The waitress, who was making a great show of being exasperated by her job and colleagues (and customers), bringing orders out, looking around theatrically with an air of "now who's could this possibly be?" eventually came to take our order, which, in desperation, we had already given to the wine waiter. Our food finally arrived, cold, on cold plates. We sent it back. It came back on incineratingly hot plates, yet the food, somehow, was only just warm. We ate it anyway, and it was, well, ok, but for €19 for the plat du jour, I expected more than ok. We ordered the desert and some dessert wine. The dessert wine came, and the waiter asked what dessert we would like. We ordered dessert again. The service was shambolic and tectonically slow. Overall, this is a lovely hotel, but the staff are either under too much pressure or not trained enough. Sort this out and you have a great little hotel in a beautiful old abbey
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabrice Gavaret, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving your feedback following to your last stay at l'Abbaye des Capucins. We were sorry to read that you were not happy with certain aspects of your visit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having been able to provide you the quality of service you were expecting. Your remarks have already been shared with the concerned departments in order to avoid any recurrence of such situations . However, wewere happy to read tht you enjoyed your room together with the common areas of our property. We are now looking forward to welcoming you back soon in order to restore your faith in our hotel. Kind regards Anne G.
Read more
Latebloomer100 wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom18 contributions13 helpful votes
We spent a very disappointing two nights at the Abbaye in August. Why? The service is lack-lustre. All the staff seem bored and a bit fed up. They’re going through the motions Despite the original beauty of this eighteenth century former monastery, the hotel owners are having a good go at ruining it. There’s a wierd selection of furniture scattered randomly in corridors and on the stairs which look as if they’ve been picked up at junk shops. Elsewhere there are modern interventions. A truly appalling collection of garish modern prints. The reception area has been done in Art Deco! Worst of all the beautiful courtyard has been marred by an opaque glass wall on one side which makes it look like an out of town shopping centre. There’s a massive two story rusted metal thing in the middle. No idea what that’s for. The rooms are small, anonymous like a holiday inn. The restaurant looks like a canteen and is utterly without atmosphere. We didn’t eat there but a glance at the menu shows it’s hugely overpriced. There is no love in this place. I would avoid it if you possibly can.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabrice Gavaret, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort
Responded 26 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your review following to your recent stay at l'Abbaye des Capucins. By reading your comments, we were sorry to learn you were not satisfied with your stay. Please accept our apologies for not having been able to meet your very high expectations in terms of quality and service. We sincerely hope you are now feeling relieved after sharing the details of this very bad experience. Personally, I would have never left an hotel without having a word with someone of the magament team if I woud have been in your position. Even if the perfection is always hard to meet ,I can assure you that our staff is doing everything in order to satisfy our valued guests . Art and architecture are very diverse and very specific domains but we thank you very much anyway for sharing your point of you . We are now looking forward to welcoming you back soon on the occasion of a future stopover in Montauban. Best Regards
Read more
83nh wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
The look in and out is nice, but there is some lack of Service in place ie'the restaurant 27th - July evening and the Staff member (male) 27-july NOT wearing A Mask and poor customer service /Rude. Think again before booking here repense Avant de réserver
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabrice Gavaret, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following to your last stay at l'Abbaye des Capucins. We were sorry to learn you were not satisfied with some aspects of your visit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having been able to provide you the deserved quality of service. We hope you will give us a new opportunity to welcoming you back soon on the occasion of a future stop-over in Montauban Kind Regards Anne G.
Read more
hooray wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We enjoyed our stay, the historic building is beautiful and it's location is perfect for exploring Montauban. However, it's hard to understand how the breakfast doesn't come included with the room, and then to charge guests 13 euros per person for the buffet....is scandalous. Also, for a four star hotel, it was surprising only one English channel was available on the TV.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure to locate nearby boulangeries.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from directiondescapucins, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following to your recent stay at l'Abbaye des Capucins. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed staying at our property situated just nextdoor to the city center. Concerning your comment about the breakfast, we sincerely think that 13 € is not a " scandalous" price taking in consideration the large choice of food proposed on the buffet. We took also very good note of your remark about the english TV channels and we are presenting you our apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We are now looking forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your future trip to Montauban. Best Regards. Anne G.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza montauban
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Abbaye Des Capucins Spa & Resort, Best Western Premier Collection
LOCATION
FranceOccitanieTarn-et-GaronneMontauban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Le Musée d'Histoire Naturelle Victor Brun (0.5 km), Eglise Saint-Jacques de Montauban (0.4 km), and Theatre Olympe De Gouges (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fil de l'eau, Le Moderne, and Le Refuge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Montauban.
Are any cleaning services offered at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Abbaye des Capucins Hotel Spa & Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.