We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Young & Happy Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Young & Happy Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Has everything you need if you just need a base to stay whilst you're exploring Paris. Went with 9 other friends so filled out a 10 birth room (They were also "ok" with you moving a mattress onto the floor if there were maybe 11 people and you wanted to sleep together as long as you've all paid for a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BeekieBoo
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest thanks a lot for your feedback, we were happy to share with you a good atmosphere and our love for the city. We hope to welcome you soon ! Let us know ! Sabine_manager

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere (lobby with seats, tables & table soccer) & great location (in the Latin quarter). The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is good. Rooms haven't got enough plugs but otherwise nice. Shared showers & toilet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you for another great experience with us. We are working to improve (such as wifi and plugs). Sabine

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed a night here, but got to make full use of my stay with the help of the friendly receptionists (I spoke to three different receptionists, and all were outstandingly nice!). Upon arrival, I was greeted by a French girl receptionist (didn't get her name unfortunately) and a glass of orange juice - really appreciated after traveling on the RER...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hidayu2014
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Friend thanks to share with us all your feelings about your stay. We hope to welcome you once again in Paris ! Sabine_Manager

Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I do not consider myself hard to please when it comes to accommodation, but my time at the Young and Happy Hostel was just awful. Thankfully I was only there for one night. Our room was dirty (mold and dirt in the shower, hair and dirt on the sheets). Here's the worst part: I was in a female dorm and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah S
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest As time goes by and i do not have any news from you since your last message, please let me apologize for what happened last year. Fortunately, many changes were done and we have improved security and many other changes. I hope to meet you if you come back in Paris, let me know in order my team...

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four days near the end of my seven week trip to Europe. I stayed in many hostels in that time and this one was definitely not the worst, the rooms were small for sure, and the beds weren't the commies ever. But the location and the staff and the people staying there made up for it, plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Friend We thank you for your review and hope you had a good time with us. That's right , the Parisian buildings use to be small, with no lift and small rooms. However, as you said, most of our guests choose the Latin Quarter to be accommodated into the heart of the city and for this, we have the...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There's a lot of places to eat and look by the hostel. The location is good but the people that stay there are not friendly at all. Comfort is zero. No privacy. No free lockers. No place to hang out and drink. Nothing to do at night when you just want to hang out in the hostel. Terrible place and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrunoPMenezes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Friend , Thanks for your review. I sent a private message to you in order to have more information about your discomfort. At this time, no news from you, so please, find here a resume. As i wrote, very sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay, mainly because of the dorms. I have to say that the value for...

Adelaide
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently- great location! Not a place for a couple- rooms are size of match boxes and bunk beds are harder than rocks! You'll be lucky to not knock yourself out if you stay on the top bunk as the clearance to the ceiling is maximum 30cm! The older guy staff member was the highlight of the stay! Apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Junes232
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Friends, Thanks to take time to let us your feeling about your stay. We are very sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay with us and in order to take into account all your suggestions, i sent you a private message. No news from you at the moment, so please find a resume : unfortunately, Paris is quiet different...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely incredible experience. The hostel itself was the most funkiest little place, my partner and I loved staying there. Hostel - The main room is so fantastic, a great way to meet other people. They supply breakfast, it's great too. Rooms - they're small but you're only there to sleep so it really doesn't even matter! they're great nevertheless. we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brookie15
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Friend We would like to thank you for take part in the life of our hostel. Your feed back is very important for us and helps to improve all the time. We hope to welcome you for another great stay with us and benefit from our services (ice creams, happy hours, weekly activities... now free tours in Paris...) The...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Forget everything you know about the over-crowded, tourist-filled streets of Paris. This hostel is in the beautifully authentic Latin quarter. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast good! They are also helpful in terms of helping you to find "hidden gems" close by (such as the amazing crepe place a few doors down). All in all I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annaaaaa94
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Friend thanks a lot for your re'view. We hope to welcome you soon for another great experience and enjoy our new services (weekly activities, ice creams on sales, dvd on rental...) The Manager

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good points: location of hostel, breakfast included, friendly staff. Bad points: loud (ear plugs provided did not even help that much), dirty bathrooms/showers. Out of all the hostels that we stayed at during our Europe trip, this one was the worst in terms of cleanliness and amenities. I would not recommend this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review we read carefully. In fact, our guests choose to be accommodated in the 5th district where we are, mainly because it is a very lively area of Paris, with students, tourists in the streets and Rue Mouffetard is one of the most fantastic street for its restaurants, markets, and pubs open all night long to...

307 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
10 Bed Dormitory (34)
Viewed
6 Bed Female Dormitory (35)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Twin Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#16 of 150 in Paris
412 reviews
Arty Paris
#9 of 150 in Paris
575 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#8 of 150 in Paris
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 150 in Paris
746 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#10 of 150 in Paris
637 reviews
République
Les Piaules
Les Piaules
#29 of 150 in Paris
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighbourhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendour and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighbourhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Young & Happy Hostel is in the 5th district in the Latin Quarter where you can find a very lively atmosphere, with restaurants all along the street Mouffetard, a market on Place Monge every Wednesday and Friday morning. We are also located few minutes ago from touristic areas, Pantheon, Notre Dame, the Luxembourg Gardens...Have fun with us, meeting guests from all over the world, during the Happy Hour that we organize every day from 6 pm ! We have also other events, quizz, foosball tournaments, movie night... then enjoy ice creams and snacks while watching sports onto big tv screen !The reception is open 24/7, everyone can book in advance a Parisian breakfast (French baguette and other pastries, honey and jam...) every morning, we have FREE wifi everywhere, FREE luggage room and lockers for your valuables. Use our laundry, the best rate in the neighbourhood, no need to get out from the hostel !Please note that we don't accept guests under the age of 18 without an adult companion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Young & Happy Hostel

Address: 80 Rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Price Range: €25 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Young & Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young And Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hotel Paris
Young Happy Hostel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Young & Happy Hostel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Young & Happy Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Place monge is the metro stop to use”
 of 5 bubbles Sunderland1989, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be in the lower room numbers, I was in room 12 and it is right across from a college bar that can be pretty loud at night!!”
 of 5 bubbles kylea924, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“the girl only dorm is quieter because it is in another building (in the small courtyard), so the windows are not on the main street side!”
 of 5 bubbles 907marijak, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor as has showers and toilets on that floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 339jemimab, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Staircase is a death trap”
 of 5 bubbles sarahhA1419XR, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5