Hotel Alfred Sommier
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Alfred Sommier

Traveller (222)
Room & Suite (106)
Hotel Alfred Sommier
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#284 of 1,832 hotels in Paris
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Just 100 metres from the Madeleine, in a quiet area, the Hôtel Alfred Sommier offers an authentic setting in the heart of Paris. From the entrance porch, you enter the family intimacy of a large 19th century mansion with courtyard and garden. The marble fireplaces, gilded mirrors and oak parquet floors harmonise with the paintings and contemporary furniture created for the hotel. The Alfred Sommier Hotel is located in the heart of the central business district of Paris, halfway on foot between the boutiques of the Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré and the Printemps and Galeries Lafayette department stores. The Opéra Garnier, the Champs Elysées and several theatres are also within walking distance. The restaurant "Les Caryatides" owes its name to the two monumental statues at its entrance. It occupies the large dining room and the glass roof of the mansion. During the summer months, meals are also served in the garden, the main courtyard and on our terraces. The Chef's menu changes according to the fresh seasonal produce.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

20 Rue de l'Arcade, 75008 Paris France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Orly Field
16.4 km
See all flights
Charles De Gaulle Airport
22.5 km
See all flights
Madeleine
3 minParis Metro
340Reviews9Q+A44Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 37
  • 23
  • 8
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ChrisAinLA wrote a review Sept 2022
Los Angeles, California238 contributions87 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have loved our stay at this beautiful hotel that was once a Parisian mansion. The decor is elegant, the staff lovely, the location terrific (a quiet street but right in the heart of everything) and the rooms well appointed. Definitely splurge for a terrace room (ours had a balcony as well as floor to ceiling window with lots of sky, and make sure you get the breakfast package- both the food and the dining room and terrace where it is served are lovely. Could not recommend the Hotel Alfred highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valentine FONTAINE, Ventes at Hotel Alfred Sommier
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, We are delighted to read your lines and to have made you experience a beautiful Parisian stay in the private hotel of Mr. Richard de Warren in Paris 8. We hope that you will feel like our distinguished guests at the Alfred Sommier Paris. And we are already looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Paris La Madeleine Our sincere thanks. Yours sincerely, The Alfred Sommier Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
World Traveller wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York29 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just had a wonderful one week stay at Hotel Alfred Sommier and having stayed at many hotels in Paris highly recommend this as our first choice.

The hotel is in a beautiful original mansion with very high ceilings, original gold moldings and fabulous herring bone wood floors. The hotel also has a lovely garden to have drinks or dine in which is truly rare in Paris.

The staff also really make the stay a special experience. David and Cyrille at the front desk are welcoming, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about Paris. The elegant French owner, Richard, is often at the property and greets his guests personally and makes you feel as if you're staying at a friends home. Service overall truly outstanding.

The location is perfect for shopping on Rue Du Faubourg St Honore, walking distance to the Louvre, Seine, Opera House and the Champs Elysees. Right next to Place Madeleine which also has lovely gourmet food shops.

If you're looking for a luxury stay at a very reasonable price in a great location this is it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John S wrote a review Jan 2020
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom70 contributions103 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want corporate identikit multinational blah blah blah, go elsewhere. This is a lovely building with magnificent characterful rooms. Location splendid and almost all staff wonderful.

But. Night manager as grumpy as a bear with haemorrhoids, room service leaves a lot to be desired, and in house breakfast/dining is not the strongest asset.

Go for the wonderful building and (all bar grumpy night manager) staff, but not the services, and it’s 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlfredSommier, Propriétaire at Hotel Alfred Sommier
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear JS68Unique, thanks a lot for your very positive and constructive review. You have fully understood our DNA: a distinctive homely Parisian style 5*star hotel. I apologize for the personality trait of the night manager on duty that you experienced. He was exhausted. I am sure you will agree that it is very temporary matter while the "lovely building with magnificent characterful rooms" is everlasting one. Richard
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosie Hunt wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel last year with friends and numerous things went wrong. We arrived very late and I was asked to pay £400 for any fees that might occur which is normal , my card was declined 3 times as I had a limit put on my card while abroad , I’ve asked to do this in the morning as clearly I needed to contact my bank, my request was refused . I’ve paid £2k for my hotel stay, do you think I won’t be able to pay £400? No empathy was shown that it was midnight and no apologies. My room was tiny even for Paris standards and there was nothing luxurious about it compared to other hotels I’ve stayed at. The key cards never worked for me or my friends so we had to make trips to reception constantly, all reception did was say that we should keep them in a separate pocked but we never even mixed them with anything else as we do understand how they work. I’ve also ordered flowers to be delivered to my friends room , hotel wasn’t able to locate the flowers after florist delivered them.. the phone in bedroom did not work and it was impossible to reach the reception unless going downstairs which took more than 5 min from my room. When I asked for the phone to be repaired it never happened. Breakfast room was very small with very little option for vegetarians. But at this point I didn’t even expect anything from this hotel anymore. I’ve also had breakfast included but I was charged for it on the first day , when I pointed that out the waitress was unhappy that she will need to adjust the bill, maybe because she likes doing nothing like the rest of the staff in the hotel. She never apologised for charging me breakfast when it was included. On Saturday evening me and friends alone were having drinks and we were aware that it’s late , an hour after receptionist comes in to stay that we have to go because they are expecting a large group of people, why choose to lie instead telling us that you simply want to close the bar? On Sunday evening room service knocked to ask if I need them to clean the room I’ve said no, half an hour after I was getting out of the shower while a man walks in without knocking , thank god I had a towel on me , he was embarrassed but please it’s a luxury hotel , can’t you see how bad your service is?! I’ve never had a hotel failing this bad !
To add to this I’ve email the manager to complain and he tried to justify every single point I made in an arrogant , angry manner also promised me to investigate but never came back to me , it’s been months. My suggestion is to be less arrogant and actually try to work for once and like and serve your guests instead of being useless overcharged hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlfredSommier, Propriétaire at Hotel Alfred Sommier
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear Therosebri, strangely enough, your stay dates back to mid-September 2019, almost 5 months ago and you already wrote a similar review which I answered on 23. September as follows: "I appreciate your straightforward remarks. It’s the best way to make progress. Let me give you my reactions on the matters which frustrated you. 1) Guarantee for expenses I can assure you that all 5-star hotels in Paris take such a guarantee. The palaces take much higher than 100 € ! Do you want to make a bet of a bottle of champagne ? Typically, the same procedure as when you rent a car to cover possible damages. Having said that I feel sorry that you had to unbag to find another card and that the you didn’t feel empathy from the receptionist. I will follow up. 2) Services I apologize for the inconveniences you had to bear at the breakfast, with the phone in the room, with the housekeeping. I will check all these matters and come back to you including with the flowers delivery. Nothing will be put aside. To show you that you didn’t get the right representation of my place, I invite you to come back … and have a glass of champagne with me. You can call me at (33) 6 …. Richard" As announced, I made the investigations on the said inconveniences. Nothing special was detected. In particular with the flowers delivery, it appeared that no flowers were ordered through the hotel and no flowers were delivered to the hotel for you !! My staff and myself feel offended by your duplicated allegations. I guess what is your real motivation. Richard
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvanna wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Never before had I experienced such a homy, elegant and original hotel. My room displaying an old oak flood, elegant cornices and a ravishing fireplace was quiet and of an absolute comfort. My husband and I had a lovely stay thanks to the staff that was particularly helpful. I would totally recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlfredSommier, Propriétaire at Hotel Alfred Sommier
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Dear Yvanna d, thanks a lot for your great review. I think you wanted to write "old oak floor" instead of "... flood" ! I hope you will be back to let us offer you another marvellous stay. Richard
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobby M wrote a review Oct 2021
Mendham, New Jersey72 contributions79 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
if you are expecting a true luxury hotel, this is not it. We had stayed at another hotel located in the vicinity of the Louvre the week before and it was definitely superior to the Alfred Sommier and cost $130 less per night. We have been to Paris several times over the past five years and have stayed at different hotels each time so we feel we have a good basis for comparisons.

The rooms themselves were nothing special and the best feature was the shower. On the other hand, the bath towels were a rough cloth and could not compare to the nice soft towels at our previous location. We had breakfast one morning and it was disappointing, not what one expects from a luxury hotel. could have had a much better and cheaper breakfast at a nearby bistro.

The hotel is located on a quiet side street which was very nice but the downside was trying to get a taxi in the evening. On a positive note, the two young ladies who staff the reception desks were very pleasant and helpful for making dinner arrangements and purchasing advance tickets to museums.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rickhlosangeles_CA wrote a review Sept 2021
los angeles,CA33 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed two nights at this gorgeous mansion/hotel in September. Welcomed warmly by David, who made sure our room was to our liking. We chose the Golden Suite, which had incredible ceilings dating back from when it was a home. Bedding super comfy, bath products luxurious. Mini bar was stocked daily with complimentary soda and water. We were on the third floor and could have taken the elevator, but chose to wind down the amazing marble steps that wound down to the lobby. The stair railings still have the initials of Alfred Sommier in the wrought iron.
Breakfast was a buffet, which was amazing and plentiful (everything kept covered and very sanitary). Could either eat inside or out in the very private garden area. Service was attentive no matter where you sat. Even though we were in the heart of Paris, we chose to have drinks and dinner in the hotel's restaurant as well. Very professional waiter (who also made a mean martini) and the menu selections were both perfect and well priced.
After we checked in and asked about restaurants in the area, David helped us choose one to our style and tried to call the restaurant to make a reservation, to no avail. As we were wandering in the area, we ran into David on the street. He had actually left the hotel to go to the bistro in person to make our reservation. Now THAT is customer service that I have never experienced before.
We will be back to our new favorite place in Paris as soon as we can!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for one of the Golden Suites.. this was the.largest room I've ever stayed in Paris.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Murat Bey wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed Hotel Sommier as family for three nights. As oppose to confirmed online reservation, they asked €100 per night for a child for extra bed which is not requested by us.

The management mentioned that this cost does not seem in total confirmed amount, we need to read conditions to see this ! Please be careful and read every detail before you make any reservation to this hotel.

On the other hand, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and location was good. Breakfast was average for a 5 star hotel and breakfast area was very crowded and service was slow due to lack of staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valentine FONTAINE, Ventes at Hotel Alfred Sommier
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, We thank you for your feedback, it is the best way to ensure our excellence of service is maintained and up to date. We read your review with great attention and highly value your comment. We would be delighted to welcome you back so that you can enjoy our private hotel and our hotel restaurant even more. Our sincere apologies, Best regards, Valentine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joli82 wrote a review Jul 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates467 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I highly recommend this stylish and very authentic hotel in the middle of Paris. It’s like stepping into the intimacy of 19th century mansion.

The marble fireplaces, the gilded mirrors, the high ceilings and the oak flooring harmonized with the paintings makes this place really impressive.

Lunch in the garden was fantastic as well as nourishing breakfast.

The owner is very passionate about the history and heritage of the place, give this hotel a go!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the suite. You can find more pictures on Insta @bubbles_with_joli.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deva C wrote a review Jul 2023
Kansas City, Kansas39 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is excellent. Charm, beauty, and elegance are present here. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is wonderful. Made to order eggs included and specialty coffees are good. The open outdoor areas have a classic and beautiful Parisian feel. The lobby is very comfortable and well appointed for a smaller boutique hotel.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The luggage valet staff are excellent. In room coffee machine is very good. In general, the people here were very nice.

Just a few minor things to be aware of… they don’t always refill the complimentary mini bar. However, when you ask them they take care of it. The showers in our rooms had open entry and this made it difficult to keep the bathroom floors dry. So ask for extra floor mats and angling the handheld shower head toward the back / side wall away from the open entry helps. This may have been specific to our room category. The TV had a mind of its own at times… meaning the channels would change unexpectedly. This may be because the remote codes are similar between rooms. Our AC did not cool as well as the adjoining room but ambient room temperature was still manageable. Rooms do not come with an iron. We requested one and they brought us a steamer. We used that for a couple of days and it stopped working. They replaced it with an iron. Again, the staff are very nice and accommodating. The beds are comfortable. The pillows could be a bit more firm but this is obviously personal preference.

We stayed in a connected room category as we were traveling with our 16 & 19 year old children. This worked well offering privacy but also easy access throughout our stay.

Metro, shopping, and food options were all very close by.

We had an opportunity to meet the owner of the hotel and he was very kind to spend a little time getting to know us.

Overall we recommend this hotel as a nice upscale boutique experience while visiting Paris!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pia Dessagne, Marketing at Hotel Alfred Sommier
Responded 17 Jul 2023
Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your constructive feedbacks. We take into consideration your impressions in order to improve our guests' experience. We were delighted to welcome you and the owner is always pleased to meet his guests make them feel at home. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again for another Parisian stay. Kind regards, Pia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paris area.
PRICE RANGE
€440 - €614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParis8th Arr. - Élysée / Madeleine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ALFRED SOMMIER - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Paris, France) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Alfred Sommier
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Nearby attractions include BAM Karaoke Box Madeleine (0.3 km), Musee du Parfum - Fragonard (0.4 km), and Le Triangle - Escape Game (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Contraste, La Pause Libanaise, and Restaurant Akrame.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Alfred Sommier have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Alfred Sommier offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Alfred Sommier?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Alfred Sommier offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Paris HotelsParis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ParisHotels near Hotel Alfred Sommier
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire