We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

W had driven for 8 hours and wanted a quiet room for the night. Nothing could prepare us for the nightly noise of motorbikes driving round the town every 15 minutes until 3 am! We didn't get any sleep until then and had to drive to Teruel the next day exhausted. It was very unkind not to warn us of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crispy350
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, You've written via Tripadvisor and we thank you . You were disturbed by motorcycles that were part of a gathering of bikers, we 're sorry . You can be sure that we will talk with the organizers of this event. If we could predict these excesses we would have asked officials to maintain calm during the night. Sorry...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Despite not being in a modern building my room was big and clean. The bathroom appears to have been totally renovated and the bedroom has fairly modern furnishings which nevertheless retain some of their French charm. Check in was quick and efficient with my room ready early. The main plus is the view overlooking the Casino and the sea. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaAxyz
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, Thank you for your warm message concerning you stay in our hotel. You can be sure that my team will be very happy and your testimony will help them to keep their effort in their daily mission for the quality. We hope to Welcome you very soon, Best regards,

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2015

the hotel is very well located not far from the beach and shops and restaurants. We had an excellent time there. The room was spacious and clean. the internet worked very well. the breakfast was very good . Everybody was very nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrederiqueJ
Christophe D, Manager at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, Your satisfaction is our rewards, I thank you to take the time in sharing your testimony. Your message help us to maintain our daily effort to keep the quality that you wait for in staying in our hotel. We hope to see you soon, in traveling again thru the Pays Basque. Best regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My wife and I had stayed in the Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza three years ago and had much enjoyed our first visit to Biarritz. This was a return visit. The hotel itself is very well located in the centre of town, a short walk from the shops, restaurants, local amenities and, importantly for us, only 100 metres from the beach....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William, Lucy S
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel. My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you shortly at the Mercure Biarritz...

Vancouver
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed. Very run down looking. Walls and door paint is deteriorated. Carpets dirty in room. Windows in restaurant dirty. I awoke to find itch bumps on me, around 6. Bed bugs???? A 4 star hotel should have a bell hop. None available. Plus no valet. Personnel were pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virginie g
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, Thank you for your message on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and I beg you to accept my sincerest apologies. Your comments about the state of the hotel will be subject to our service that will look after the future renovation of the hotel. Concerning the Porters and valet is a...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Great location in the centre of Biaritz with views over the bay if you get the right room. Rooms were pleasant withiout being outstanding with a decent price tag. Staff were English speaking. Didnt have the breakfast as I thought it was over priced. Yes I would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A M
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, Je viens de lire votre message sur Tripadvisor. Mon équipe et moi sommes sensibles à votre confort et...

Cork
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Hi we only stayed 1 night in the Mercure Plaza hotel but wish I had booked it for our previous 2 nights in this city We were greeted with courtesy and kindness on arrival from San Sebastian Our room was ready on arrival at about 12 30 and were pleasantly surprised to find that we qualified for free breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kath70Cork
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, Thank you for your message on Tripadvisor. My team joins me to tell you that we are grateful to you for taking the time to share your testimony. It is important for us, it reassures us in our quality approach. We recognize that this is important, and we need to be careful every day. Your satisfaction is important....

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Staying in Biarritz for one night for the Bastille day celebrations we finally found a hotel which had space for the 4 of us. Parking was a short walk away and was behind keycode access security gates. So we were comfortable leaving the 4 motorbikes. The hotel is located a mere 5 minutes from the seafront, close to the many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meloquin
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, My team joins me in thanking you from the testimony that you left on Tripadvisor. We are conscious that quality is important and to read that you were happy we make us satisfy. That renovations are planned in the short term by the end of the year. I hope to welcome you next stage in Biarritz for a...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We requested a top floor corner room. We had a room on 4th floor corner room 405 and the view was great. Decor not so. Dirty skirting boards, paper peeling off, paper cups and bits of wood for teaspoons. Breakfast was OK if you liked burnt bacon most days. Chef did not turn up after festival night. Had to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene700
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, I just take note of your message and regrets that the hotel's quality is not up to your requirements. You can believe in my capacity as everything will be implemented taking into account feedback to keep you happy during your next visit. Hope to see you soon, Best Regards,

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We checked in and went to our room only to find that the hotel's hot water system had failed earlier in the day. We weren't made aware of this when we checked in at Reception. We were left to find out for ourselves. A promised 1 hour wait turned out to be 3 hours. Common courtesy demans better information at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Christophe D, Directeur at Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur, I read your email and I am sincerely sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. I will certainly give a feed back of your comments to the technical service, which will be préciseuses during the renovations planned soon. Regarding the problem of hot water, we did as soon as possible in view of the importance...

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.1 km away
le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.2 km away
Hotel Cafe de Paris
Hotel Cafe de Paris
#19 of 64 in Biarritz
192 reviews
0.6 km away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featuring completely renovated rooms, the hotel is located right in the centre of town and just 100m from the main beach of Biarritz. Mercure Biarritz Plaza Centre welcomes you in an art deco architecture unique to the hotel building and recognised by the French National Trust as exemplary of the seaside resort style of the 1930s. Family rooms also available on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza

Address: 10 avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Price Range: €90 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza Hotel Biarritz
Accor Biarritz Centre Plaza
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#12 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're lucky you'll get a seafront view”
 of 5 bubbles TheSGB, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room with a sea view is 'nice to have'.”
 of 5 bubbles williamlucys, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Plenty of parking in around the city”
 of 5 bubbles 841AM, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Higher floor, and sea facing”
  • View from the room
 of 5 bubbles Meloquin, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose 4 or 5th floor, corner rooms if you want to see the sea and the square. 405, 505”
  • Skirting/wall
  • Skirting
  • Paper cups!!!! 4*
  • Torn paper and dirt
 of 5 bubbles Irene700, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay