We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lowry Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lowry Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lowry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,267: English reviews
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Room was beautiful and large, stayed for breakfast but staff were already clearing away the breakfast foods while the head waiter was showing diners in, when I asked if plates were being replenished I was told they were preparing for lunch at 9.45!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah A Thank you for your recent feedback following a stay at the Hotel. We were pleased you enjoyed the Hotel facilities but disappointed to read your comments about our hospitality. Normally we receive excellent comments about our staff and service and so sorry to hear that this was not the case in your experience. I would like to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Firstly what i'd like to say is the staff at the Lowry where impeccable, you cannot fault them for there hospitality, helpfulness and even quirkiness! that was the waiter who produced an amazing polish G&T for us, as was the service we received whilst staying with them for two nights, However i found our room very drab and dated with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serenity_DK
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Serenity_DK Thank you for your recent trip advisor review and for your positive comments about the hospitality received from our team. We were disappointed to read your comments about the upkeep of the Hotel especially as we are currently refurbishing all bedrooms and much of the public space. On this occasion it appears that you were not allocated one...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Superb location right near the town centre, so ideal for shopping, eating or drinking. We stayed in a "Superior Deluxe River View Room", the size was fantastic with all the usual mod cons, very luxurious. We had afternoon tea in the restaurant, which was very nice and would definitely recommend. We also had breakfast on both mornings, again it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David B Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the services and facilities to your liking. We were pleased that you found time to enjoy our afternoon tea which is one of the Hotels signatures. Hopefully we can assist for future visits to Manchester and would...

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

My fiancé and I absolutely loved our stay, the team were so friendly and approachable, everyone said hello wherever we went. Our room was fantastic, really comfy bed, spacious and clean. We would definitely love to come back and stay at this hotel again. The location is wonderful, a quick five minute walk and you are in the centre of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smurfey84
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Smurfey84 Thank you for your review following a recent stay at the Hotel. We were [pleased to read that you enjoyed the services and hospitality at the Hotel and hopefully provided you with memorable experiences of your time in Manchester. We were pleased that you tried our special cocktails which we create seasonally and hopefully on your next visit...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The service here was impeccable from start to finish. Great concierge service, extremely helpful. All members of staff were very smiley and helpful. Large room and bed, not the best view as building work taking place at the front of the hotel, so I'd perhaps recommend request a room to the rear, overlooking the river for the next few months....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrideInService
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PrideInService Thank you for your recent trip advisor review and we were thrilled to read your very positive comments. It was pleasing to read that our teams from Concierge, the Bar and the Restaurant provided such welcoming hospitality and we look forward to being of service again. For your information the building works at the front of the Hotel...

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, I was here for my honeymoon so asked for a special request to add rose petals to the bed, bathroom etc, I was advised there would be an additional cost for this which I agreed to, the hotel failed to provide this on the day, which was a let down. They only had a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Safwan O
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Safwan O Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We will certainly investigate the rose petal service as our records show that this was delivered on the day it was requested. We have also taken note of the comments about the cracked tiles and door in the bathroom and our apologies for this oversight. We hope that on...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Stayed at the Lowry for one night with family, hotel was very nicely decorated and in a great location, only a short walk from the city centre and a range of bars, restaurants and shops. The staff all seemed nice and friendly however, a bit of help with our bags upon arrival would've been nice. The room was spacious with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael B Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We were very pleased to read your positive comments regarding the warm hospitality you received from our team and your feedback about the comfort and décor of our rooms. We have recently refurbished many of the bedrooms and it is very pleasing to hear that you liked the décor...

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

The room on the 5th floor was very comfortable. The view out of the room was a liitle disappointing. The bar service was ok. All the staff we met were really friendly, and seemed genuine. Best thing bout the hotel was the breakfast - so much to choose from... need to start a diet now! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonic176
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jasonic176 Thank you for your recent positive remarks following a stay at the Hotel. We were pleased that you chose our Hotel during your visit for the Manchester Pride weekend and thank you for your kind comments regarding the comfort of the rooms and the hospitality received. As Manchester hosts a number of different and interesting festivals over the...

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel with near zero class, treated with near derision by staff. Not the first time I have stayed here and not first time I have experienced this kind of treatment. Setting and decor spot on, staff way off. Going to try other options in future in city.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David J
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David J Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We appreciate your kind comments about the Hotel facilities but were very disappointed to read comments made about our team. Having checked with staff members who were present during your stay we cannot find anything that seemed untoward and would ask that you contact me direct so we can...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Great location in city centre but quiet river side setting, quite expensive rack rate but we used a Secret Escapes offer that made short city break good value.Excellent meal in Rver View restaurant, bar is plush but would be expensive for a long boozy night out.

Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b
AdrianEllis, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear david b Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay at the Hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the quiet location which is also conveniently located near to the shops and restaurants in the city centre. It was good to also read that you enjoyed the services of our Bar and Restaurant and we look forward to...

1,062 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (650)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Other (312)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Suite (106)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room with City View (53)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room with River View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (65)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
438 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 116 in Manchester
4,610 reviews
0.6 km away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,223 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The River Restaurant & Bar
The River Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manchester's most fashionable hotel, the award-winning Lowry Hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the River Irwell in the recently-developed Chapel Wharf area on the Salford-Manchester boundary. The first five-star hotel in Greater Manchester, The Lowry Hotel makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, curved, glass-fronted façade that creates a light and airy feel within the hotel interior. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lowry Hotel

Address: 50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Manchester M3 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: €139 - €452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lowry Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Lowry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lowry Hotel Manchester
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lowry Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Lowry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles LucjaM_12, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't bother this hotel is terrible”
 of 5 bubbles suewU7798UX, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room at the back overlong the river.”
 of 5 bubbles Ecpg, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I only went for afternoon tea I cannot answer correctly about the rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles debandy2016, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles KenU902, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5