We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mitre Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mitre Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mitre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 752: English reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2014 via mobile

we called in at the Mitre whilst christmas shopping. it is a while since i have been there. this has been refurbished and well decorated. the food was excellent and well priced. enjoyable lunchtime visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyson G
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Really awful hotel. Fine if they are charging less than £40 for a night but at £109 I would expect cleanliness at least. I stayed in room 12. There was no bin in either the bathroom or bedroom, no desk or dressing table, no bedside table, just three mid matched beds and a huge wardrobe. The room was freezing with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Belter1234
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for the soulless sterility of a Travel lodge, you'll hate this place. Also if you travel with huge heavy cases full of stuff you'll never use, there are stairs everywhere. If you prefer a nice comfy room with a bit of character and friendly, personal service then this place is great. I met three different receptionists all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarveyNobum
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you received a high level of customer service and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait to see you again. Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 9 December 2014 via mobile

I was initially put in room 17, but I complained about it and was moved to 16. The lady on reception was more than helpful, and the new room was fine. Room 17's window does not lock, you can secure it with the lever and ledge but that wedges it slightly open, not ideal. The bathroom was clean but in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Coffee_Wench
MitreReservations, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. You will happy to know that we take all the issues you have raised in your review seriously and will endeavor to rectify those issues where possible. We are in the process of a full refurbishment which is neither disruptive or intrusive for our guests. Unfortunately, however, this is not an easy project...

bolton lancs uk
Reviewed 3 December 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location Good reception Ok room to sleep in No luxuries bed basic could do with an upgrade Room clean and tidy You know you pay more for town centre would be lucky to get a 1/3 rd their room rate for night only anywere else Yea probably same all over c c manchester but I feel to expensive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodcock
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Stayed here for a night to attend the Enrique Iglesias concert at manchester phones 4 u arena. Nice hotel for the night. Staff were very friendly. The room was a decent size for us 3. The bed was so comfy, definitely got a good nights sleep. Allowed food in so we brought home a McDonald's. (which was fab) We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Its great to know you liked your stay at our hotel and we can't wait to see you again hopefully in the near future. Kind Regards Management

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly staff and brilliant location room size is well good, this hotel is fab and not expensive at all. I would defo recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It's good for honeymooners and family's the bed is comfy the facility's was 100% clean I can't fault it in any way at all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jermoy
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again. Kind Regards Management

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as going to phones 4U arena and great location paid £109 en suite and the room was freezing in fact there was not even a radiator in the bathroom so couldn't take a shower as too cold and for which I had paid £20 extra for en suite asked at reception what time heating came on was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pb_berry
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week and at first impressions i was impressed. I was in the executive double room 33. It was a very nice room with modern decor, but the large windows in the room was a downside as it is a old building they are not double glazing, so with 2 of the 4 walls windows, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cumiska
England
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Chose this hotel simply for the location as very close to the shops. First thing I want to say is it was beautifully decorated downstairs throughout, everything co-ordinating and not a xmas decoration out of place. I travelled with 2 friends we were on a retail weekend, I had booked a room for 3 which I was a little disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CEdwardsEngland
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of updating our rooms so we hope this will encourage you to book with us again in the future maybe for a another shopping trip. :) Your lovely comments have been forwarded to staff. Hope to see you again...

382 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.2 km away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#38 of 118 in Manchester
894 reviews
0.2 km away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 118 in Manchester
987 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.5 km away
PREMIER SUITES Manchester
PREMIER SUITES Manchester
#56 of 118 in Manchester
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: €61 - €324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mitre Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mitre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We checked out after 1 night and went found another hotel”
  • Very tired and warped bed & mattress
  • Broken light fitting above the bed
  • Just not cleaned properly
  • That's how people die in fires
  • The only heating provided
 of 5 bubbles PaulGuildford, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid the top floor where bathrooms are shared.”
 of 5 bubbles 195peterq, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay by card.”
 of 5 bubbles N9457BTseanc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try the room not be back . Not facing the alley ,”
  • disapointed unacceptable
 of 5 bubbles albertoaA5723KV, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just make sure you are okay with climbing stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 338MargaretT, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay