We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Etrop Grange

PricelineUS$67*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$105*
US$67*
Great Deal
US$81*
US$84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Etrop Grange
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Etrop Grange
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,177: English reviews
manchester
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I was taken for afternoon tea to Etrop Grange today and was excited due to its 'top class' reputation. On arrival no one met us, then the receptionist asked us to sit down whilst he found someone to tell we were there. The table we sat in reception, at still had ring marks from glasses. After 6 or 7 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rally5
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear rally5 Thank you for your feedback following your recent afternoon tea experience at the Etrop Grange Hotel. I am sorry to read that your overall experience did not live up to your expectations. Please accept my apology for the failure on our part to make your afternoon tea experience a memorable one. All your comments are very important to...

Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

This is a certified 4* hotel but I would say it is more like a 3* hotel but with 5* service. Could not fault the friendly and helpful service of all staff, especially reception. Hotel seemed a little tired looking and in need of some refurbing in places. Disappointed by the normal size double bed as many hotels now have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donut1976
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Donut1976 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. The team work so hard to create a welcoming and comfortable environment for all our guests, and I know they will be as pleased as I to discover you have appreciated and shared this with all our Tripadvisor friends. I appreciate your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Bought a groupon voucher to have a prosecco afternoon tea at Etrop Grange. Oh dear! I am unsure how you can get a few sandwiches and cakes so badly wrong. I very much doubt it was even prosecco....undrinkable so left it and bought a bottle from the menu. NHS equivilant crockery, sad sandwiches: a child could make better (see photo)...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Linda D
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Linda D Thank you for taking the time to share your afternoon tea experience with us. I would like to extend my sincere apology in this matter as this is not our usual standard. Please note that all your comments and concerns have been fully noted and we will use them to improve the quality of our afternoon tea...

Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Booked through a third party agent at short notice due to anticipated weather and the price included parking so I cancelled my pre paid parking to stay here instead. When I got there the hotel queried the arrangement but a call to the booking agent got it sorted out. Have a tasty meal in the restaurant and a complimentary transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Stephen M Thank you for your online review after your recent stay at the Etrop Grange Hotel. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our courtesy shuttle service and the tasty meal in the restaurant. We are also pleased to note that you would recommend us for an overnight stay....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

As most people will be doing, we booked it for the night before a flight. It started badly, as we turned up believing we'd already paid via Laterooms, including parking, but reception were of the view that we hadn't paid, and the advertised parking deal would be extra on top of the advertised price. So we paid again, and reached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Kevin A Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at the Etrop Grange Hotel. Your great feedback on our courtesy shuttle service is much appreciated. I am however sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay on this occasion. All your comments and concerns have been noted and be rest assured that...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We were looking for an hotel that looked after your car & boy did we find a gem of one , we arrived & were greeted by fantastic front of house staff that couldn't do enough to make us welcome , filled in the paperwork & handed over the keys , they asked what time we wanted taking to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmartinwba
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear dmartinwba Many thanks for your feedback about our property following your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our rooms, our courtesy shuttle service, our location and enjoyed the food. It is fantastic to hear our team provided such exceptional service and I will be sure to pass on...

Barcelona
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Not impressed. All good at check in, fast and friendly. The room had some abstract art on the wall (photo) which is not a big deal, but devil is on the details. Details such as having 2 bottles of sparkling water rather than one of each or just one towel are also to be mentioned. Greasy and overpriced dinner, at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank superclarker
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear superclarker Thank you for providing a feedback following your recent stay at the Etrop Grange Hotel. I am sorry to read that your overall experience did not live up to your expectations. Please accept my apology for the failure on our part to make your stay a memorable one and be rest assured that your comments are very important...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

A very nice and friendly hotel with family feel at a very busy and big airport where it is tucked in a quiet corner less than a mile from terminal 2. Rooms are good size equipped with all you need. Very nice breakfast and good sitting areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence N
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence N Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at Etrop Grange Hotel. I was really pleased to read such positive feedback, and I know the team and I would be happy to welcome you back the next time you have opportunity to visit the area again – I know they have already set themselves the challenge to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2015

The staff were great and very attentive, lots of extra tea and coffee. I was disappointed with the decor as I had always thought that the Etrop Grange was a smart hotel/restaurant. The furnishings were all a little tired and worn, it needs updating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 420sheila
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear 420sheila Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent afternoon tea experience at the Etrop Grange Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food with lots of extras and that you found the staff attentive and great. We appreciate your comments about the décor and furnishings - we already have started a...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We had an overnight stay at the hotel prior to our holiday to Cuba at the end of June 2015, The package included parking for 14 nights. Check in was pleasant and done in a timely manner, I wrongly thought breakfast was included but paid the extra to include breakfast. (£10 and was lovely, much better than airport food) Once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadolirugby
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review

Dear Nadolirugby Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Etrop Grange Hotel. It is a great reward for all of us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and rated many aspects of your stay so highly. The whole team are always working hard to try and make...

589 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (260)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (309)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (43)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (52)
Viewed
Four Poster Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: €68 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Etrop Grange staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Etrop Grange staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose another hotel.”
nigelf207, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Check you're not going to be in the attic!”
klfairy, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not accept Room 5. Room 65 was excellent.”
Jan47Cheshire, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel seemed quiet despite being very close to the airport”
wendyrR8260OL, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 16”
wilky1961, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$67* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$81
Booking.comUS$84
CancelonUS$105
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates