We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Principal Manchester

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Principal Manchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Principal Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived the Staff were falling over themselves to help , customer service a high priority. Checked in and had a minor issue with room and sorted out within 10 mins .Quirky hotel , agree that navigation can be an issue , but relaxed and very informal .The bar area is impressive and staff were a little slow , but has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woolhead29
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear woolhead29 Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently invested in a new navigation system which will make finding your way around much easier but our Concierge and Guest Service team are always on hand to provide assistance when required. I hope to welcome you back again soon....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Less than easy lay out out makes for tricky navigation for the first time visitor. Seems to consist entirely of corridors and steps taking you somewhere. Quirky and old but not my cup of tea. Service very efficient and very convenient for central Manchester. 10 min walk from Piccadilly rail station. Didn't eat and hardly slept so a limited review....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike4wales
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Mike4wales Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Our hotel is certainly a large building with many rooms and 'hidden' historical areas. I can appreciate this can cause challenges with navigation for some and we have just invested in new signage which will make things much easier for guests. Our Concierge team are...

Antigua
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very impressive historic building in a good location. First impressions didn't disappoint staff were friendly and courteous. Check in was excellent even gave us a free upgrade. On leaving the lift you are greeted by the smell of new carpets our room was freshly decorated to a very high standard and was large and comfortable. Lots of nice little extras...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 216jordanb
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear 216jordanb Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Principal Manchester. I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you return to visit us again soon. Hopefully, you will get the opportunity to visit our bar and restaurant on the next occasion. Warm...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Principal is a beautiful hotel. We were greeted warmly by staff at reception and check in went smoothly. Our room was on the second floor and was spacious and clean. Comfy bed and good amenities. Nice large bathroom. Our only issue was the bar area. It took ages to get served both in the afternoon and later on at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lukeymom
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear lukeymom I am sorry to hear that you are unlikely to stay with us again due to us not offering a residents’ lounge. As you are aware our bar area is for the use of our guests and the public although I can appreciate that the ambience may not be everybody’s preference. We do have our Post Room area...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the plus side is the wonderful façade of the building and superb internal design and architecture, especially some of the staircases. Our room on the second floor was very clean and functional, with a comfortable bed and a small fridge with fresh milk which is always a bonus. The staff were very polite and everyone acknowledged you. As this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IvanPage
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear IvanPage Thank you for your wonderful comments about our building, room amenities and staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed these elements of your stay. I am, however, very concerned to learn that you did not get a good nights sleep. I can completely understand your frustration and must apologise for this. I am also very sorry to hear...

Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is impossible to have a relaxing stay in this hotel due to the excessively noisy bar and restaurant. £8 for two cups of tea, the lager pumps were down so was served canned local beer - all gas and no substance. Made to pay upfront as we were paying by debit card. Room large but was one for disabled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ollie162016
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear ollie162016 I am saddened that you found your experience in our bar disappointing and that there were aspects with your room which did not meet your expectations. We do have a number of different room types available and I am sorry if the room you were allocated did not meet your requirements. Should this situation arise again please let...

united kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed just one night recently check in was smooth was shown to our room 218 by 2 members of staff . That's 4 people inc us with one bag. stayed in a room about 9ft x 20ft which is fairly small but it was about 16ft high so the space was there but upwards . never felt small though ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank guzzle-guts
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear guzzle-guts Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay and also for highlighting some areas that could be improved. I have shared your comments with our team members so action can be taken to avoid similar incidents. As our restaurant get very busy it is always advisable to book in advance, so should you stay again please let...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Principal during a weekend in Manchester and enjoyed a nice, relaxing stay. The lobby sets the theme for the hotel with it's wide expanse of architecture and interesting bronze horse statue overlooking the guests checking in. The clerk had been tipped off that it had been my birthday, so wished me well and promptly checked us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheForrestGump
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

TheForrestGump Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday here with us at Principal Manchester. I am delighted that you enjoyed the treats in your room. I am sorry that we didn’t deliver additional tea for you. Let me know if you have any plans to return to Manchester, and I will ensure that you will have a plentiful supply...

Staffs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family booked the hotel as a birthday treat for myself and my friend. We had a marvellous overnight stay - upgraded room, which was excellent, surprise gift of champagne. Breakfast was superb and included Bucks Fizz. The staff were courteous and extremely helpful with a special mention to the concierge who spoke to us about the Christmas Markets and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jollyhollyStaffs
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear jollyhollyStaffs Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us. Bucks Fizz is always a nice start to the day! I hope you enjoyed the Christmas Markets – it’s something that Manchester does very well to get us all in the Festive spirit. Thank you again, and I hope you will be able to visit us again...

Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a 3 day business trip. Recently had a refurb (use to be the Palace which was not so good) and all the better for it. Really interesting building (used to be a Life Assurance company HQ back in the day when oppulence was good and not a fault on a balance sheet..... Google Palace Hotel Manchester Evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleightym
ThePalaceHotelMcr, Manager at The Principal Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Sleightym I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have shared your very kind comments about the staff with our team. As you say, the new selection of gins and craft beers in The Refuge has been very popular with our guests since we launched last month. A good reason to come back next time...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#12 of 118 in Manchester
1,212 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#16 of 118 in Manchester
4,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,588 reviews
0.2 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Principal Manchester is a fabulous Grade II listed building initially built for The Refuge Assurance Company in 1895. Many of the 270 loft style bedrooms and suites have original features and all rooms have modern touches such as smart TVs and free internet access. The Refuge Dining Room and Public Bar is curated by DJs turned restaurateurs Luke Cowdrey and Justin Crawford of the award winning Volta restaurant in West Didsbury. Featuring small plates and large sharing dishes the food is influenced by the global travels of Luke and Justin. The hotel includes 17 meeting and event spaces including the largest hotel ballroom in the northwest of England. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Principal Manchester

Address: Oxford Road, Manchester M60 7HA, England (Formerly The Palace Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: €109 - €418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Principal Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Manchester
The Principal Manchester
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Principal Manchester staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Principal Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms on 1st Floor”
 of 5 bubbles farooqs508, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try for third or fourth floor rooms to avoid noise from bars opposite the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles lynne-friend, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a higher floor if possible”
 of 5 bubbles 216jordanb, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't face onto Oxford St.”
 of 5 bubbles TheForrestGump, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the Refuge Bulding, not the Tower”
  • Bedroom, interesting tiling but very comfortable
 of 5 bubbles Sleightym, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay