We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Manchester Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Manchester Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,838 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,675: English reviews
Start your review of Britannia Manchester Hotel
 Click to rate
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here 25th march! Whilst the location is good, that is all this hotel has to offer! Outdated, wallpaper peeling off, ridiculously old bathrooms, one towel for a double room, non working hair dryer, broken lift, rude restaurant staff, poor breakfast...and for a staggering £129.99!! Will not ever be staying again!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donnar290782
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your email, I sincerely apologise for the issues in which you experienced while on your stay here at the Britannia Hotel Manchester. During your stay if any guest has an issue with the room you can speak to the reception either on the phone or in person to arrange for the room to be changed. If the...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For the amount we paid this was reasonably OK. Entrance quite impressive. Our room was reasonable except the radiator stayed cold (it was a pretty cold two days) and the hair dryer didn't work. If we had been staying longer we would have followed these things up. The meals were also adequate but the organisation left a great deal to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merrywidow2016
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review, we have taken all comments on board and passed them to higher management to look in to. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Do not use under any circumstances. The hotel is grubby, dirty and generally a real dump. There is a lack of power sockets in the room, there is tea & coffee making facilities in the room but only if you want one cup each per day. There is no wifi in the rooms unless you cough up £7 per day....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve B
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Traveled to Manchester and stayed in the Britannia hotel on Portland street. The grand entrance hall and sweeping staircase are magnificent and a testament to Victorian architecture design but unfortunately this hotel has been left to go in to a sorry state of decline and is in need of renovation. However the staff were very friendly and helpful but would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mampyswift
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the facilities provided at the Britannia Manchester Hotel. The Britannia Manchester is undergoing a gradual refurbishment of rooms which due to the size and location of the Hotel can only be completed a few rooms at a time. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future in...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

i was overwhelmed by the grandness of this hotel the entrance blows you away. the staff are courteous and very helpful. suprised i had the choice of a smoking room declined even tho a smoker. the room was basic but comfortable.we ate here the fòod didnt look anything interesting but tasted delicious. breakfast was very good . in my opinion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine C
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Britannia Hotel Manchester prides itself on the style of the décor and we are very glad to hear you were pleased by this as well. Thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future, if you have any special requests please email customerservices704@britanniahotels.com.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a fantastic location for exploring Manchester. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating and the rooms clean and tidy. The bed especially was very comfortable but this hotel was very noisy, l thought as one point the window was open but it wasn't. The only big let down was the food, both the evening meal and breakfast were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you were happy with your room and the service provided by the staff. Britannia Hotel Manchester is in a busy city centre location and noise levels are higher during busy times. We apologise for the noise disturbance. It is always best to let a member of staff know if...

LANCASHIRE
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife & I visit Manchester every 6 months for hospital check up! We leave the car at home and travel in by public transport, the bus stop just at the side of the hotel on Chorlton Str.so very convenient. Over the years we have staid at this hotel several times, and it has improved over this time. The reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BILLPLUMBER
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Britannia Hotel Manchester. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Please if you have any special requests, do not hesitate to contact us at customerservices704@britanniahotels.com.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

So you're driving home after a necessary but ultimately depressing trip when you decide to make an unscheduled and spontaneous detour to Manchester. We felt somehow drawn to Manchester, I can only assume, by the collective supernatural power of the Mancunian Hipster. Unable to resist the a fore mentioned pull of the beard, my wife jumped on-line and set about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank markandlizzy
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret that you were unhappy with the room you were provided. Had you informed a member of staff we would have done our best to move your room for you. We have taken all of your comments on board and passed them on to higher management to look into. We appreciate your feedback as...

leeds
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

But could do with a little love. The hotel is in a great, central location. it has an imposing entrance and a stunning lobby, the staff were helpful. Admittedly this was a last minute booking and at a cheap price but the room wasn't too inspiring, it was small, and cold, the 10 minutes free wifi allowed me to JUST...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foxyleeds
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The Britannia Manchester is currently undergoing a gradual refurbishment of the rooms, which due to size and location of the hotel can only be done a few rooms at a time. We always try to our best to move guest when hearing that they are unhappy with the room. As for the Wi-Fi, we have...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently stayed here with a group of friends for a stag do in Manchester. 10 of us stayed in 5 rooms for a recent stag do. The location of the hotel was perfect as it's a short walk from Piccadilly and has loads of pubs and clubs nearby. The hotel was stunning inside. The room was as expected. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PASTA_Mick
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future, if you have any special requests please email customerservices704@britanniahotel.com. The room rates do go up on nights when there are big events in the city such as Football, Concerts etc. Calling our central reservation team or checking...

949 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (935)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (268)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (462)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
1,290 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.3 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 km away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.3 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: €54 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Manchester Hotel staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Manchester Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles BILLPLUMBER, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles markandlizzy, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles 341natalk, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front of the hotel and those closer to central hall-well may have some noise problems for light sleepers if so then ask at desk”
 of 5 bubbles HughK1956, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This is a city centre hotel so there is lots of hustle and bustle going on outside. No good for very light sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles Collette1833, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5