We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,539: English reviews
Start your review of Townhouse Hotel Manchester
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had a reservation for this hotel for 4 nights and then away for a few nights and again back at this hotel for a further 2 nights. Although the rooms appear, clean, tidy, well presented and "posh", they are far from. I had a total of 3 rooms for this vacation. The beds are the typical two singles pushed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeviBlount
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My Husband treated me to Afternoon Tea here with a Wowcher Voucher that I think was about £24! I was expecting it to be really good as the website it says it's usually £25 each. Unfortunately I was pretty disappointed. We got 3 quarter triangle sandwiches each which was ham and mustard, egg mayo (we think as it was tasteless)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandraLouise87
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is in a fab location! We stayed as we were seeing a show at the opera house. Arrived to a warm friendly welcome! Great room which was well equipped and very clean! Mattress was to soft for my liking and pillows a tad on the hard side. We were on the second floor but could still hear the hustle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsPrescott
London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was here on a business trip. Hotel was booked for me First impressions were very good. Staff and reception very friendly. Room on first impression large and clean. A few issues. Room was cold and heater only worked when cars in holder so it was cold when I came back later. Shower was ok but did not refresh me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smeg1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited as a large group of friends staying one busy Saturday. We received a warm welcome. Hotel is stylish, rooms are nice and a decent size. Our bathroom had a bath and separate shower. One criticism would be the breakfast, poached egg was overlooked more hard boiled and the sausages were awful. Overall a great city centre hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VanessaW1974
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear VanessaW1974, Thank you for your kind comments and feedback - Kindest Regards Jodie Veevers Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To start with it cost us £99 for the night of a drake concert - bargain! Until they told us to pay an addition £50 deposit which we will receive back into our bank account "in a few days" the cheek!! Rooms are lovely but I have not had a worse night sleep ever. Constant noise in this area of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Laura C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a trip advisor review. Kindest Regards Jodie Veevers - Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stay in a lot of hotels on my business travels and I needed an efficient one night stay in Manchester. This hotel was impressive. At a very good all in price, hotel staff were friendly, the room was well appointed, good size, the water was hot, the shower, perhaps a touch slow, was effective. Everything was spotless, well equipped....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCHEKO
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Big issue with the parking, as there is no hotel parking. You receive a 30% discount from the Q parking lot, which is less than a 10 minute walk. Cost me an additional £ 30 for parking. Room was clean but with very limited TV channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgriding
Aberystwyth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stopover and prepaid via hotels.com, however, upon check in there was no record of my booking at all. Provided my confirmation of payment and the receptionist asked us to take a seat in the lounge so he could have a look into it. Ordered a couple of pints of Peroni which came to £10.80...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lou1978
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear lou1978, Thank you for the great review, Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the confusion regarding the booking. To get the best rate guarantee - email reservations@townhousehotelmanchester.com. Kindest Regards Jodie Veevers Guest Relations Manager

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel for two nights whilst visiting my daughter who was studying in Manchester. Incredibly comfortable room, stylish and clean and great value for money. The hotel is very central to the heart of Manchester, close to the Art Gallery, museum, theatre, shops, etc. The reception area and bar is lovely and the staff very helpful. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea C
Townhousehotel2, Guest Relations Manager at Townhouse Hotel Manchester, responded to this review

Dear Andrea C, Thank you for the fabulous review, Hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Jodie Veevers - Guest relations Manager

574 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (48)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (59)
Viewed
Feature Double Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Suite (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
1,272 reviews
0.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
2,329 reviews
0.5 km away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#24 of 115 in Manchester
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 115 in Manchester
1,653 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: €91 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Townhouse Hotel Manchester staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Townhouse Hotel Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a top level room”
 of 5 bubbles alwynpreston, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors, at the rear of the hotel for maximum quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Warhead, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As far from the main road as possible”
 of 5 bubbles gwernymynydd2, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“stay at the back to avoid the traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles HuggieSRL, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never accept 116”
 of 5 bubbles furryferretderby, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5