We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

PricelineUS$83*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$158*
US$83*
US$158*
US$83*
US$158*
US$83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,498: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Britannia country House hotel and it is the dirtiest hotel I ahve ever stayed in. Upon arriving at the hotel at 1.30pm we were advised that our room was not ready but if we headed to the bar the receptionist would let us know when it was. This was not a problem as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dionne L
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that your room was not ready on your arrival at the Hotel, our check in time is from 2.00pm. Unfortunately if our reception staff are busy they may not be able to come to the bar to inform you that your room is ready and for this I offer my apologies. I have passed your comments regarding...

Leominster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014

only booked this last minute as taking Daughter away for the weekend , on arrival just after one i was first surprised to what we found , really quick check in on arrival to our room which for the two of us was quite ample however the furniture was dated , the tv was a portable and there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank S15dem
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I have passed your comments regarding the evening meal on to my Head Chef to ensure this does not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

when we checked in it was lovely... Got to the room and it was disgusting, I wanted to wipe my feet when I walked out the room... The walls looked like the paper had been up for 60 odd years with yellow stains all over it, There were dirty marks on doors furniture, dust everywhere and dried on food on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leeanne87
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated and was pleased to read that when this was brought to our attention you were immediately given an alternative room. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused. I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on Friday. I was very apprehensive and very nearly cancelled after reading peoples reviews about the hotel. However, I personally found the hotel perfect for our needs. Yes it probably does need a bit of updating but with a name of country house hotel you don't really expect a modern interior. Check in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great when guests read negative comments about the hotel but then decide to come and stay to make their own mind up and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you...

Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Room was clean, the food was okay (plenty of choice) and the staff were efficient and friendly. Prices were very reasonable. Would return. The only complaint is that the bed was very hard but all in all it wasn't a problem and everything was very good for the price paid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TB78
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing...

co. Donegal
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We arrived by coach, loads of cars, but using the hotel for parking while they holiday abroad.I found the shrubbery and what were supposed flower beds overgrown with weeds, around the main entrance, cigarttes stubs around entrance. foyer and bar area very grubby and dated, no great toilet facilities in the public area. My room was adquate, but could do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McFadden2013
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the room that you were allocated and feel that it is a shame that you did not contact our reception to enable us to sort out any issues, as...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we have stayed in this lovely hotel before as it is very convenient for Manchester airport. the staff are very welcoming, and the actual hotel itself is lovely. the rooms are spacious, modern and spotlessly clean. the food is great, they have a salad and sandwich counter in the bar area if you want a light snack. we would and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilly-bergman
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will be delighted to pass on to all of our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Country House Hotel - first time was OK, apart from a ill-explained return taxi system - after a long flight you just don't need it! Returned a second time to avoid being snarled up on the motorway before an early morning flight; the deal of hotel room plus parking whilst...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lyndafreespirit
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that on your arrival at the hotel there were no rooms available and you had to be out booked to our sister hotel, Britannia Manchester. I have passed your comments regarding the reception staff that were on duty...

mid wales
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was transferred to this hotel, after the hotel I was originally booked into experienced a flood. The hotel looks good from the outside, but the inside is dark, dated and appears dirty. The check in process took forever, due to there being only 2 members of staff. The pizza restaurant was closed, so the only alternative was the buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westmanbrit
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Unfortunately due to a flood at the Britannia Airport Inn some guests had to be transferred to the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you unhappy to be transferred. Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board. Kind regards, Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a tired and musty hotel that needs serious upgrading. There was a strong musty smell on the floor we stayed on, hallways were visibly in need of a good vacuum! Our room smelled very musty and overall was very dated and dirty. We were part of a bus tour and no doubt this hotel was a very cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank anfi02
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I have passed your comments on to both my head housekeeper and head chef to ensure all issues you have mentioned and investigated and rectified immediately. Thank you...

503 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (488)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
68 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 117 in Manchester
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 117 in Manchester
785 reviews
9.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 117 in Manchester
64 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: €50 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa Manchester
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book direct with the hotel and request a cooler room.”
rwelfare, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Your own bedroom at home would be the best room to stay in.”
Rachowen1711, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
kevandlynndavey, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
ukbod, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to reception ... or leave a trail of breadcrumbs to find your way back to your room !”
348kerryh, 8 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$83* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$83
Hotwire.comUS$83
TripAdvisorUS$83
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates