We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 503: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
 Click to rate
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

An overnight stay in the Cotswolds was made very special by a stay here. Yes it's an old hotel/ inn from days gone by but it was really rather good. I had booked it through a travel discount voucher scheme so I was wary . However , no issues at all. The paintwork in the bedroom needs refreshing and carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedorDead58
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm welcome, very friendly atmosphere, lovely room over looking the garden (101) with an amazing double bed. Altogether a really well run hotel, tastefully and originally decorated. Perfect location in the middle of Chipping Campden. Very good breakfast choice highlighted by excellent eggs with proper orange yolks! Disappointed by the small portion size of the bar meal and also by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

what a wonderful place to stay,superb room and really helpful staff,we had a cottage room at the top of the car park just a few steps from the hotel bar and restaurant we had a wonderful meal with attentive service i would stay again without hesitation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HgLissa
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear HgLissa Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the not too distant future. Kindest...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Chipping Campden for 3 nights and had dinner here every night. We could not have made a better choice. The food was excellent and well presented. Good choice of wine to go with the meal. Nice ambience in the restaurant. We could not have been better looked after. As it was the end of February and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gperky
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear gperky Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the stay, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the future. Kindest regards, Craig Routledge General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived to find parking at rear of hotel - which was great! Friendly welcome to hear we had been upgraded - but room height was a real issue! if we had been staying more than 1 night we have asked to be moved - so please note don't go in room 107. Staff and food were great and really helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OliverAmy
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear OliverAmy Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the stay, I will be sure to share your comments with Chef regarding portion size. I am glad youe enjoyed the homemade little touches that we feelk truly make any stay. We very much look...

ipswich
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel A charming hotel in the centre of Chipping Campden, very boutique style with traditional features.The bedrooms had everything you need, including a fast hot shower, TV, comfortable bed and the best homemade shortbread biscuits!! Location The location was perfect, right in the heart of Chipping Campden and walk-able to a good selection of pubs and restaurants (5+). There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vladavere
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear vladavere Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the not...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an adequate 3 star hotel but nothing special. The room was small and the shower was a dribble. There are better options out there for the money . . . the Ebringtom Arms, the Seagrave Arms, the Noel Arms are all better. All ion al . . . it's 'OK' but nothing to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhys54
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear Rhysy54 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. I am saddened to read that you found the stay not to your liking and for this a truly aprologise. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Kings again in the future. Kindest regards, Craig Routledge General Manager

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through a Daily Telegraph offer for two nights. The hotel is easy to find in the centre of the village, a narrow gateway gets you to the car park. We were delighted to be upgraded into one of their cottage rooms, this is a small cottage "at the bottom of the garden" with a huge room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doc50
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear doc50 Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the not...

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel on a short break through Travel Zoo. We had BB for two nights and evening meal on one night included. Stayed in room 107 at the top of the house in the attic. Room OK if a little worn and had to keep bending down to avoid banging head on rafters. Also, shower in bath and couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank raycarew
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear raycarew Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the stay, however I will share your feedback regarding our food and beverage offering with the team to help us improve moving forward. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fantastic hotel. Set in a wonderful location. My Partner and I celebrated before Valentines Weekend and while we only stayed 1 night we thoroughly enjoyed top class facilities of the hotel. The rooms were first class - tastefully decorated, and the food were of excellent quality. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cpearce1972
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this review

Dear Cpearce1972 Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the not...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 km away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
977 reviews
0.0 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
990 reviews
4.8 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,137 reviews
8.6 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,756 reviews
7.6 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Price Range: €100 - €244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire
8 months ago
8 days ago
26 days ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not 107 - tight access via narrow stairs into the loft suite - no headroom even for my wife who is 5ft 7ins and I am 6ft 2ins.”
 of 5 bubbles OliverAmy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“probably worth paying more for a larger room, but then you'll suffer with poor value for money . . . . .”
 of 5 bubbles Rhys54, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cottage room ("Broadway") large and beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles doc50, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not room 107”
 of 5 bubbles raycarew, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel are of excellent quality”
 of 5 bubbles Cpearce1972, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5