We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Lancaster

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

981 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Showing 964: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Stopped in this hotel Christmas eve on my way home. Nice rooms and nice breakfast in the morning. Didnt make use of any of the other facilities as i basically arrived at 1.00am and left at 10am But not bad for a quick stop over and cheap as chips too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank my_reviews_uk
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear my_reviews_uk Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Should you choose to stay with us again, I hope you have more time to enjoy the facilities we have available here at Holiday Inn Lancaster. Sincerely, Francis Hindle...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

On our way to scotland this was a good point to break the journey, close to the motorway it was easy to find. Plenty of free parking and a clean and tidy entrances was a pleasing sight! The room was clean, comfortable and had everything you need for a nights stay. Breakfast was served in the Restaurant and was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie L
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Ellie L Thank you very much for leaving a feedback for others. It pleases me enormously that we met your expectations and I hope you will keep us in mind when you're next in the area. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Drove down from Aberdeen and we chose this hotel for a one night stopover as we've been here before on a coach holiday. After the fiasco or incorrect key card programming at HIE Aberdeen Exhibition, the last thing we expected was a repeat performance from HI Lancaster, OK so we didn't get stuck in the lift here, just that only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaveJC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear DaveJC I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay at our hotel. This is not the experience we wanted you to have. If we had known you did not find the pillows in your room comfortable then we would of course have been happy to exchange them for different ones as we have a...

Belfort, France
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We recently stayed overnight in this hotel to attend a wedding locally. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy, staff generally were pleasant and helpful. Our room was what you would expect in this kind of establishment although we were a little disappointed to find we had a twin room instead of the double I had booked. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Lyn B Although I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, naturally I am a little disappointed you were not completely satisfied with the drinks served in our bar. Had you mentioned the wine to your waiter, he would of course have replaced it for you. However, thank you for taking the time...

Reviewed 8 April 2015

Pleasant and commodious property situated on northern fringe of Lancaster, alongside the river and the arterial road (now undergoing much overdue major surgery). Had needed to book a two night stay via two separate bookings - one night paid for with points and cash and the other one paid for as normal in order to jump through the various hoops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear jdboyd I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with others. Although overall you were happy with your stay, I can see there were a few issues which we need to address so thank you for raising these. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

The saving grace of this trip was the staff. We arrived shortly after 6p.m. to find hotel overbooked and short of rooms. We had by booked a family room and had confirmation but were not in the system as this. The room we eventually got met minimum standards but was very clean and service team obviously care as even towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank technic_al2013
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear technic_al2013 One of the qualities we instill in our team members is to deliver excellent quality service with a personal touch and I am glad you can attest to the connection you felt with our team. Thank you for sharing your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back. Sincerely Francis...

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over the Easter weekend. I saw that the rooms were on a deal so I took advantage of that. The deal has its pros and cons. Yes, the room was nice and clean and could not be faulted at all. However the restaurant was like being at Butlins for breakfast and evening meal due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andyluke2
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Andyluke2 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Francis Hindle General Manager

London
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Very nice comfortable hotel. Families friendly. The room was very spacious and we were happy to find the cot-bed in the room that we had requested online while booking. We stay there for the weekend and travelled to Lake District on both days. Really had great time. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Ali S The Holiday Inn Lancaster does indeed benefit from a great location with city, coast and beautiful countryside within easy reach and there's lots to see and do in the area. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased to see you would choose to stay with us again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

One night stop-over place on M6 and since our last visit in 2013 looks a bit tired. It's a great location for motorway and does the job - just needs TLC. Oh, and if they are happy to book 25 lads in for a night out in Lancaster (?!) then don't stick a couple of families on the same floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattSE25
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear MattSE25 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay. I take on board your issue about better allocation of rooms and I will share your comments with the team and use them in further training. In the meantime, I would like to apologize that your stay was not as relaxed as it could...

Reviewed 4 April 2015

This hotel is perfect, The rooms are very spacious and extremely clean. The staff were very kind and helpful any thing you needed they'd do their best to help. The beds weren't the biggest but certainly comftable and I got free coffee, free wifi, Tv, free access to the gym and swimming pool that was open early and closed late....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alextho311
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Alextho311 I am glad that our great team of staff looked after you so well and that you appreciated the service you received from them. Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we're delighted with your feedback and of course with the 5-star rating. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
7.2 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,282 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
3.2 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
310 reviews
6.4 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
2,297 reviews
8.1 km away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Traders Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: €74 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lancaster England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Lancaster staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the river.”
Duststorm, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chose an executive room, much nicer and facing the river not the road.”
celand23, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose twin or river-side room”
NickB720, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor facing the river on the south end of the hotel Nice view of river and quieter”
dorothy25443, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view”
U9239HIkevinb, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5