We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel

Save
Share
Stratford Road, Solihull B90 4EP England
Trip.com
PremierInn.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 30 hotels in Solihull
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Want a quiet location that's close to the transport hub of the UK? Premier Inn Solihull South M42 ticks all the boxes. We're seriously close to major national and international transport links, but surprisingly tranquil too. Discover the latest trends before they hit the shops at the NEC Spring Fair. Or hit the shops pure and simple in central Birmingham. Do business at the nearby training centres or business parks, then come back and unwind in our Beefeater restaurant and our ultra-comfy beds.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
602Reviews10Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 296
  • 195
  • 57
  • 26
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jayne157 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Nice room very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Great location for Nec/Airport. Close to Solihull and shopping centres. Good restaurant onsite. Plenty of parking and easy to get to.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Derek S wrote a review Mar 2022
Gravesend, United Kingdom20 contributions27 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This was a clean and comfortable hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The meals at The Plough were good quality and a reasonable price. This hotel is ideal for a visit to the NEC exhibition centre.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Solihull South, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Hello Derek S Thank you so much for this 5-star review. All the team here at Solihull South M42 appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We're here for you any time you need to visit Solihull in the future and hope to welcome you again soon. Ben, Reception team
Read more
Marieyaris wrote a review Jun 2022
36 contributions4 helpful votes
Excellent overnight stay to break a long journey. High standard which we have come to expect from Premier Inn. Easy access from the M42 and the meal at the beefeater was excellent and we had a good nights sleep and a good breakfast the following morning for the journey ahead.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
PM789 wrote a review Jun 2022
Woking, United Kingdom83 contributions41 helpful votes
We often stay in Premier Inns, you know what you are going to get, it’s generally a consistent standard and this one didn’t fail. Good quality budget hotel, ticks all the essential boxes without any additional costly frills. Staff were very friendly and breakfast great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tim O wrote a review Jun 2022
Basingstoke, United Kingdom28 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel as I was attending UK Games Expo at NEC. The hotel was only 10 minutes by car from the NEC making it very convenient to come back during the day to eat and freshen up. Room was to the standard that I have come to expect from Premier Inn - Basic but comfortable and clean. Also the location was quiet so I got a good night's sleep. Staff were friendly and helpful as normal too. Breakfast at the Beefeater was good value at all you can eat at £9.50. I also used the meal deal for £24.99 which got me a 2 course evening meal with a drink as well as the breakfast. Evening meal was OK but all in good value. The only issue with the stay was that the internet was a bit hit and miss - otherwise a very nice stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Solihull South, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the 5 star rating Tim O the team were really pleased to receive such great feedback. Ben, Reception team
Read more
Maureen M wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Meeting the high standards of every premier inn. Very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Staff were very friendly going the extra mile to help with carrying cases, and organising the best table for a large family get together. The food was great, good breakfast and excellent steaks in the Beefeater. The staff were the icing on the cake.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Solihull South, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much Maureen M for taking the time to leave an excellent rating about your stay at Solihull South M42. The team really appreciated your feedback when I shared it with them. We look forward to welcoming you to Solihull South M42 again soon. Ben, Reception team
Read more
Patsyex wrote a review May 2022
Bideford, United Kingdom7 contributions
Excellent stay comfy bed, as always. And pillows, well rested the next morning reasonable price for a good nights sleep, the breakfast looked really good as did the evening meal but we don’t eat breakfast, and we had had a mea with family before we got there, but next time
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Solihull South, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review Patsyex. We really hope to welcome you back soon. Ben, Reception team
Read more
louisehughes2015 wrote a review May 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom24 contributions12 helpful votes
We will NOT return to this Premier Inn because of the Beefeater Plough Inn next door used for breakfast, etc. we couldn’t even find a clean seat ….so we left NOT to return and cancelled our breakfast booking! Our room was OK but to be expected to eat at The Plough Inn….never!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Responded 26 May 2022
Hi Louise, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to a poor experience in the restaurant. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Restaurant Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Megan
Read more
laurakayclarke wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Clean room and lovely reception team. Room as expected, amenities as expected. The lady at reception was very nice and interacted well with our son. Hotel was quiet at night. A fan was provided in the room which was useful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Solihull South, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Hi Laurakayclarke we are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a 5-Star review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Solihull South M42 in the future. Ben, Reception team
Read more
Louisa C wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Thanks to James our room was lovely and clean and no smell so fresh. The room was spacious and comfortable and not complains. Decor is elegant and clean . Bathroom very clean well impressed will come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Solihull South, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Thank you Louisa C We really appreciate you taking the time to share your 5-Star review with us. I've made sure to share your feedback with the James. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Ben, Reception team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn solihull (shirley) hotel solihull
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Premier Inn Solihull - Shirley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsSolihull
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hillfield Farm, Dining & Carvery, The Farm, and The Finest Catch.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Baddesley Clinton (7.7 km), Packwood House (5.5 km), and Sarehole Mill (6.6 km).
Is Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.