We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St. John's Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St. John\\
The St. John's Hotel
Panoramas (36)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 971: English reviews
Start your review of The St. John's Hotel
 Click to rate
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Easy check in, ample parking, polite friendly staff, although staff were scarce at the bar area and disappeared after ordering, bar food wasn't great, (there was a large conference in progression so this may explain where the staff were). Breakfast was great with ample choice of fruit, cereals, toast, yogurts, pastries & cooked breakfast, staff were friendly too. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevedani64
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stevedani64, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and will be informing the team of your comments in order to improve our service and presence in key areas of the business. I do hope that we are...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Located an easy 5 minute walk from the station (with the most helpful stationmaster) this is a good conference hotel. The rooms are tired and desperately overheated. Ladies loos need to be maintained as locks are hanging off and the all have a reluctance to flush. The ensuite bathroom had a cracked basin and could do with being attacked with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian S, Thank you for your recent stay and constructive feedback. I have shared your comments with the relevant Heads of Departments regarding the Maintenance and Housekeeping points you have highlighted. These are certainly not in line with our quality of service and will be addressed. I do hope that should you return to Solihull, we may have the...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed here for one night due to early airport check in, well its a a very good hotel check in was super smooth & efficient . we had a large room with king size bed , tea/ coffie facilities inc. you also get free use of the health spa swim pool & sauna etc. the hotel is situated a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul p
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul P, Thank you for your stay with us at The St Johns Hotel and for the feedback you have provided. I am delighted you had a good experience with us and do hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Tony Furlong General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We attended a Charity Ball at this hotel but didn't stay overnight as we are local. The food was fine although the dessert was much too sweet (personal choice?) The room was clean and well presented and the staff were efficient and friendly. I like the separate entrance for the function room and the fact that there were quiet areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MishBarad
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MishBarad, Thank you for choosing to host your event with us at The St Johns and for taking the time to provide feedback. I am disappointed you found our beverage prices inhibitive as they are centrally controlled in line with the hotel star rating. I am however glad you enjoyed your evening with us and do hope that we...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Like attending meetings in this hotel. Excellent meeting facilities. Comfortable rooms. Nice restaurant food. Easily accessible from Wales and other parts of UK. There are many parking spaces. Highly recommended .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey O
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Humphrey O, Thank you for your comments on your conference experience with us at The St Johns Hotel. I do hope that we host another of your future events and that we are able to welcome you back in the very near future. kind regards, Tony Furlong General Manager

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night as we were going to see a show at the Genting arena nearby. The staff were all super friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and tidy. The place looks a little tired but it wouldn't stop us from staying there again. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DE0972
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DE0972, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the St Johns Hotel and the comments you have provided. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Tony Furlong General Manager

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loads of floors on different levels could get easily lost. Nice and basic rooms. A bit old fashioned but goes with the age of the building. Rooms very hot even with heating off. Staff excellent and courteous. Had a buffet evening meal this was ok. Nothing special but hot and well stocked. Breakfasts are lovely with plenty to chose from....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo F
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo F, Thank you for your feedback as it’s greatly valued and is used in the improvement of our business. I have relayed your comments to my Heads of Departments in order to assess and improve upon the points you have mentioned. I do hope that should you return in future, you are able to have a more enjoyable...

Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here recently on our way to the NEC, which was only a short drive away. The location was fabulous; it was a short walk to the shopping centre and high street making it very easy to find something to eat in the evening. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theinnercook
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theinnercook, Thank you for staying at the St Johns Hotel and for the very generous feedback you have provided. I am glad your experience was such a positive one and I hope you had an enjoyable time at the NEC. I do hope we can welcome you back for a return visit very soon. Kind regards, Tony Furlong General...

Culmstock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My hubby, granddaughter and I booked to stay here last Saturday as we were going to Crufts and wanted accommodation close by. We are so glad we did. We were given one of their suites and it was lovely. The bathroom had a nice deep bath and separate shower cubical and very good quality toiletries with plenty of them. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy K I would like to express my sincere gratitude for such a lovely review. We are all delighted here at The St Johns Hotel that your stay was such an enjoyable one. The feedback you have provided is very much appreciated. On behalf of myself and the entire team I hope we can welcome you back for next...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived early on the Saturday morning to go to crufts we asked if we could have breakfast which wasn't a problem we had to pay £14.95 as we were not booked in yet (although I was told when I booked it it was £10) nothing was said to me about the price difference, the breakfast was really good self service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 33tricia
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 33tricia Thank you for kindly providing feedback after your recent stay. I do apologise you experienced some issues regarding your room, I will be sure to relay your comments back to my team to address accordingly. Regarding the breakfast price a full English breakfast would be £14.95 however if you pre book the evening before we would only charge...

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Standard Double (38)
Viewed
Standard Double (newly refurbished) (30)
Viewed
Suite (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.7 km away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
589 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
4.1 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
751 reviews
3.7 km away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range: €55 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. John's Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The St. John's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors would be quieter away from conference rooms on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles stevedani64, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in two separate wings, both equally good.”
 of 5 bubbles Q4048EAdaveb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not sure we asked for ground floor and we got one.”
 of 5 bubbles Jandix, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose the side where the reception is”
 of 5 bubbles sabrinabM1513JZ, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had room 430 and had no problem at all with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles cgs11186463, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5