We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Detling Coachhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Detling Coachhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Detling Coachhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I was recommended to stay here by a friend. I would definitely stay here again. I stayed in a single room as it was a business related visit but I would visit again with my wife. It is in a beautiful setting and there is a warm and friendly atmosphere. The room was well appointed and the whole experience was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After sampling a number of hotels and B&B's in the area, I was recommended to stay at the detling coach house by an acquaintance of mine. I was initially bowled over by the beautiful picturesque country-side setting, simply stunning. Despite the rural setting the B&B is conveniently located only a few minutes away from the M20. upon my arrival I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy during their stay. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had been over to Calais and wanted a room near to the motorway, at a reasonable rate. We booked this via Booking.com at short notice and paid £49.50 for B&B. The location was excellent for us, 5 mins from M20 but in a very quiet and picturesque setting with ample parking. The building is obviously very old and quaint,... More 

Helpful?
Thank joan t
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A lovely looking B&B with fantastic surroundings. Absolutely beautiful. But just a small downfall... the room we stayed in, the heating system had broken and where the door had been kept shut from the rest of the house, the room was freezing! They gave us a small fan heater but it look a while to heat up. Breakfast in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_Saunders
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Friends and I used this accommodation for our yearly reunion, renting out several rooms for the night. I had a single room with en suite. The proprietors made us very welcome and gave us the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for them. The stay was very relaxing from beginning to end. The coach house is very atmospheric, cosy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare O
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Detling Coach House on our way to and from France and cannot recommend it highly enough. The service was excellent as is the location, convenient for the motorway and channel ports, the many historic sites and beautiful countryside, in fact something for everyone. The gardens are a delight Our room was comfortable and well appointed, breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandA94
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

stayed for one night while we were rubbing shoulders with famous musicians down the road at maidstone studios. when we arrived we were loitering about in the lobby until we managed to get the attention of the owners (our own fault for not ringing the doorbell, although it was raining heavily) we were escorted to our room and offered a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doctorglover
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly service. Received texts before arrival to check ETA and arrangements. The place is set in beautiful surroundings. Typical English cottage style, which was lovely. Unfortunately the bedding smelled musty and bed was very squeaky. The other downside was the very interesting plumbing. After turning the tap on, you had to wait about 10 seconds and then it came... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CherylSteph
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we shall look into the comments you have made. As we don't have much height for the water we need to employ a pump to provide the pressure which unfortunately does have a time lag . We have looked into many possibilities but this is our only option.... More 

Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a lovely stay for 6 nights at this b&b at the end of June. Lots to do and see using the Coach House as a base to explore from and then come back for a good night`s sleep with a delicious breakfast in the morning. Lovely country garden - felt very peaceful yet in reality near main roads for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joyce99
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It makes our day to know we have happy guests. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We chose this B&B after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We found it was good, and it did what you'd expect, but didn't quite live up to expectations. It was in an attractive location and we received a friendly welcome. The room was small, the shower/hot tap sporadic, and there was wifi but no code. The breakfast was good,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry it wasn't quite as you expected. The Coachhouse is a very old building and operates a pump to ensure hot water is at a good pressure but there is a time lag of a few seconds before the water comes out. Wi-Fi code is always available, Its either in the brochure or... More 

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
1.4 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
500 reviews
4.0 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.8 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#9 of 15 in Maidstone
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,337 reviews
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
8.0 km away
Larkfield Priory Hotel
Larkfield Priory Hotel
#15 of 15 in Maidstone
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range: €73 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it sitting in the garden next to the pond.”
 of 5 bubbles J4022WTdavidm, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 4 and room 1 both nice and big”
 of 5 bubbles johnybob1, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you need a good nights would recommend .As just off main road with no noise . Well worth a visit”
 of 5 bubbles KenH302, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had the ground floor room which was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Minicooperdogs, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are of similar size, ground floor rooms and 1st floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamW460, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay