We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Detling Coachhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Detling Coachhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Detling Coachhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Booked the Detling Coachhouse due to attending my companies Christmas party at the Kent showground. The B&B is literally right outside, so perfectly located. The rooms are great and comfy beds. The rooms a very well priced as well, so good value for money, especially with its location. The staff are also very friendly and make you feel extremely welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee E
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We really appreciate that our hard work is noticed.

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Fantastic accommodation fantastic staff. Very accompanying with help to and from venue our Christmas party at Detling show ground they arranged for the back gate to open for it to be easier for us to get there and back. The accommodation was clean and fresh. Breakfast was nice. Meeting the other residents was a nice touch. Was easy to find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank humphr3
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous find, right on our doorstep too. Enjoyed our stay so much, we booked an extra night. Breakfast was tasty too :-) Recommend, recommend, recommend!! A summer visit looks like it could be interesting... Lots of rambling to be done. All amenities were available including WiFi. Hosts were lovely and very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andi K
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Tucked away off the main roads so extremely quiet. Made to feel very welcome and breakfast was lovely. There was a variety of cereals, juice followed by a cooked breakfast. Will be returning regularly as very close to spires Alexandra. Prefer this to the big hotels

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie P
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you fab review. Nice to know we can help you feel comfortable.

Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My wife and I needed somewhere to stay near Maidstone for a night before visiting friends and the usual chain hotels that we normally use were all full or described as noisey, which we did not want having just had a stressful day at a funeral. Searching Trip Advisor I came across this place which was highly recommended. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter R
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We shall take on board your suggestions. Unfortunately as the nights are drawing in, it is harder to see, but we do have a sign which is lit up facing the main road as the majority of people come in from that direction but if you drive past us we do not have a...

Skelton-in-Cleveland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Lovely peaceful b&b, tucked away, but just off a main road. Clean comfortable rooms. Decent breakfast. Pleasant gardens. Ideal for maidstone & surrounding areas. Dont follow your sat nav, its not reliable for this location !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Lisieux, France
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Good location , but Rooms very small and was exceptionally hot when we were there. Only had a fan and windows didn't open very wide. Ensuite very small, but shower was ok. Rooms cooler downstairs . Breakfast was average/poor. Not a lot of choice of cereals, and the cooked breakfast wasn't very nice . The owner I believe was away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry that you was disappointed. We were away on our annual holiday,however we do have a very good manager to look after the business whilst we are on our annual holiday. Unfortunately we were experiencing an unusual heat wave so it was extra hot! Windows Do open wider depending on which...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Wonderful welcome to a beautiful building. We had an upstairs room and therefore had wonderful beams from the building. Room was comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was very good especially the sausages. We will use this again if we are down that way again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review.

S W London
Reviewed 20 September 2016

'This is a lovely house in a quiet place a little off \'the beaten track\' in the Kent countryside.. The room was very comfortable, the host welcoming and despite the heavy rain I slept very well.' I had a very good dinner in a nearby pub restaurant as they recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suevinales
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Welcomed with hot drinks and friendly smile. Room lovely with high ceilings and beans and even old fireplace. Nice garden with seats round pond. Breakfast excellent. A very welcoming friendly place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolm c
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.4 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
528 reviews
4.0 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,462 reviews
24.7 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range: €70 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say any room would be as good as any other.Used a ground floor room which had a bath,and,this year,an upstairs room with a shower.”
Geoff1953, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it sitting in the garden next to the pond.”
J4022WTdavidm, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 4 and room 1 both nice and big”
johnybob1, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you need a good nights would recommend .As just off main road with no noise . Well worth a visit”
KenH302, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had the ground floor room which was lovely”
Minicooperdogs, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5