We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Britannia Bolton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Bolton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Britannia Bolton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

Myself and friends went to a murder mystery night on 8th may 2015 at the Britannia hotel, Bolton, and had an excellent night. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the food was excellent. Couldn't fault a thing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joeybirch
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for your kind review of our Murder Mystery night. It was a great night for all and we still can't stop talking about it. We can't wait to welcome you back to the next one! Kind Regards Britannia Hotel Bolton

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Visited this hotel 9th/10th May, the hotel is looking very tired and dated, the rooms were ok, nice white crisp sheets and towels, carpets were old and dirty. Corridors were very dull, the food in the restaurant was very good. Staff friendly and helpful. The bar has a happy hour and a glass of house wine only cost 2.20 a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandrac58
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to learn you enjoyed the food and found the staff pleasant and helpful - this is two main things we pride ourselves on. Our hotel is currently having a refurbishment but as you can appreciate this takes time as the hotel is open 24 hours...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

My hubby and I went to a murder mystery evening with several friends on Friday 8/5/15. When we arrived out table was beautifully presented set out like a wedding(this was the theme). Attention to detail was superb. The 3 course meal included was delicious, and bar prices very reasonable. We all had a great evening and finished the evening with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terry335
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your review. I am so happy to see your review and learn you had such a good time at our Murder Mystery event. The food was delicious and I am happy this is something have taken away from the night. I am happy you had such a good time and danced the night away. I can't...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Myself and my friend visited the Britannia Hotel on the 8th May for the Murder mystry Night, it was a three course meal and entertainment followed by a disco. From start to finish it was a well organised affair, the setting was perfect and the meal that was produced was absolutley excellent value for money without a doubt, the entertaiment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank latimer8
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our Murder Mystery evening. I agree; the food served was beautiful and we have had such lovely comments about it from everyone - I will pass this on to the chef who worked so hard and it obviously paid off. I...

Reviewed 11 May 2015

Myself and two friends bought tickets for the recent murder mystery night at the Brittania Hotel, the theme of the evening was a wedding and we were the guests dressed in hats etc. The room was dressed lovely just like a real wedding breakfast. A local group of actors were the wedding party bride, groom etc, they acted out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you had such a lovely time at our Murder Mystery event that was a roaring success for everyone involved. I agree; the food was delicious a beautiful 3 course meal - I'm happy you felt the same and I am going to pass on your lovely comments to the...

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Stayed here with a friend in order to go to the football, the location was ideal for this as taxi to the ground was cheap enough and also the same into the town centre. Had a great night sleep and the room where clean and tidy, in fact had a better nights sleep than i normally get at home !!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YtarmyYtarmy
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted to learn you had such a lovely stay. I hope the football was just as good for you. Our rooms are pleasant and the beds are great so I am glad you felt the same I look forward to welcoming you back to the Britannia Hotel in...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We spent one night at the hotel as we were meeting friends in Bolton. The hotel staff are very friendly, breakfast is good value. The bar area is OK but the rooms and corridors could do with sprucing up a bit. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also a hairdryer and trouser press. Overall a value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 71susan
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind comments to all staff. Our hotel is currently undergoing refurbishments but as you can imagine this can take time as the hotel is open 24 hours a day. I hope that when you return we...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Cheap rates, decent breakfast, friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. Hotel could do with a full makeover but this is reflected in the price. 24 hour bar and £10 per stay for dogs in room. Great location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Honor1971
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am happy to read lovely comments, I will pass these on to the staff. We will all look forward to welcoming you and your doggy back to the Britannia Hotel soon Kind Regards Your Britannia Hotel Team

westmidlands
Reviewed 25 April 2015

I stayed here on a business trip in March, as I was working in the area for a month, I only stayed for the first week, the room was adequate, I had booked the full board option, this proved to be a bit pointless as I regularly didn't return to the hotel until after 20:00 hours by which time the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blackcountry
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you stayed with us at Bolton and we do cater for all types of guests both business and coach parties. Entertainment is for all to enjoy so please feel free next time you are with us to join in and enjoy yourself. look forward...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed twice this month and it has become my hotel of choice each time I have a very been upgraded. Staff great rooms clean and well equipped. No WiFi in rooms and it's a little shabby in parts but it's worth a try excellent value for money

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robb F
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review. we are glad you have stayed with us now several times, we are slowly re furbishing the hotel to bring it into line so please bear with us. we look forward to welcoming you back and if there is anything further we can do to...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.7 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
4.2 km away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A former Holiday Inn, the Britannia Hotel Bolton is in a fantastic location for exploring the North West. Situated close to the M61 motorway, Bolton's Macron Stadium is only a 10 minute drive, or for the shoppers, The Trafford Centre and Manchester City Centre are just a 15 minute drive. All the family will enjoy the highly rated Go Ape at nearby Rivington Pike and Bolton Town Centre is just 2 miles away with its great range of bars, clubs and nightlife, as well as several golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Price Range: €43 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton
Britannia Bolton Hotel Greater Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only use executive rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 104 as good as a Premier Inn”
 of 5 bubbles BarryDarwen, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm just so glad to have stayed in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jroberts394, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cheap and cheerful, rooms at the back are very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Adekama, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I saw a lift but we did not use it as our room was easily accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosemarie000, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5