Buckatree Hall Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Buckatree Hall Hotel

The Wrekin, Nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL England
The mouldy muffin - the mould is the light blue fluff at the bottom right of the blueberry.
Traveller (584)
Scenic View Triple
Room & Suite (171)
The mouldy muffin in context of the hotel's restaurant, to prove it was photographed at this hotel.
Dining (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#14 of 24 hotels in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
1,773Review31Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 666
  • 577
  • 265
  • 156
  • 109
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
summershopper wrote a review Aug 2021
Norfolk, United Kingdom60 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights, the communal areas are clean and nicely decorated, we avoided using the lift as on our arrival other guests were struggling to call it, a member of staff offered to run up the stairs to send it down then instructed guests to “keep pressing the button, the doors will open eventually”. We chose to avoid using the lift and saw several guests giving up on it when they couldn’t call it, in fact I did not see anyone use it and noticed elderly guests struggling with their luggage down the stairs so clearly they were also avoiding using it.

We had a scenic view room with a balcony which over looked the hotel pond and adjacent farm land it was very pleasant just a shame that the pond and outside areas in general require some TLC the pond has a water feature but it didn’t work, the glass, privacy panels in between balconies was cracked on both sides, we could not lock the balcony doors, we were not concerned that anyone would scale the balcony and intrude but felt guests should be able to lock them, we informed reception on our first morning and was assured maintenance would take a look whilst we were out for the day, that evening we discovered we still couldn’t lock them.

The rooms are a nice size and have everything you need (bar plugs on the wall by beds) but they are tired, both headboards were extremely stained, wallpaper pealing off the wall, bathroom door handle loose, loo handle & flush temperamental, paintwork in need of a fresh coat of paint, cobwebs on lampshades above the beds and on ceilings throughout the room/bathroom, bathroom floor mopped (we presumed for our arrival) but looked like it needed a good clean, kettle had rust stains on internal bottom plate. Linen and bedding immaculate.

Breakfast - You have to pre-book a slot, our first morning a young man seated us he asked what hot drink we would like but failed to tell us what the service was, he’s shirt was stained with food he was not well presented, he disappeared and we were left waiting not knowing if breakfast was table or self service 10 minutes later our hot drinks arrived. We asked about service and discovered it is self service. Good selection of hot food items, cereals limited choice, second morning croissants were also available.

A small point but something Iv never seen in a hotel a DIY tip box at reception which I found odd.

Excellent parking available & great location for walkers, no more then 30 mins car ride to local attractions the Ironbridge museums.

Overall the hotel has potential. it felt a little neglected, it would not take a lot to get it where it needs to be just a little TLC and attention to detail, we felt there was not enough staff available whether that was due to Covid pinging or not we don’t know.

Photos of room and concerns raised available but unable to upload
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter H wrote a review Feb 2020
Telford, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night recently myself, my partner and 2 small dogs. We were allocated a room on the ground floor because of the dogs which is normal but were then placed so far away from the entrance that it was a good job the dogs were not desperate. Unfortunately check in did not go smoothly as the room we were allocated was occupied, but it was soon resolved. The room was large, a family room with a connecting door, which fortunately was locked. We ate in the bar and were allowed to take the dogs which helped because the food was very average. Breakfast was served to us in the bar the next morning, because of the dogs, and it was good and served to us quite quickly. We do travel quite a bit and things would have to be really awful for us to complain or walk out, so we rate the Buckatree as only average and that was achieved because all the staff were pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was good. One particular gripe was the fact we had to pay £20 for the night for the 2 dogs and they were not given a bed, no ensuite and they had to share our food. Would we stay again, sadly no because there is better accommodation nearby and they don't charge for dogs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that there was some confusion when you arrived. I think, because of this confusion we were not able to allocate one of our pet suites. Our pet suites offer a superior standard for pampered pooches with individual pet beds, en-suite pet toilet and shower, personalised dog bowls and a pet dietician to ensure the food supplied is of the highest standard! Locally at least it is common to charge a small premium for pets which we do disclose prior to booking. Where do you normally stay that provides your dogs with their own en-suite? Joking aside we do (normally) try our best to accommodate pets. Your room was located by a fire exit with direct access to the outside walks and importantly, the pooh bin! We have dog biscuits at reception and you should have also been provided with a dog walk map and a letter from our Buckatree Hound addressed to your pets with further instructions for the 'humans' Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean Barnes-Hurley wrote a review Sept 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom17 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The service we had was helpful and friendly from arriving to checking out. All the Covid-19 precautions were well explained and the staff were all wearing masks.

We had forgotten to bring a pack of cards so asked at they bar if they had any. A few minutes later, the barman said he couldn't find any cards and instead asked if we would be interested in Scrabble. We played 3 round which was fab!

Dinner in the restaurant was tasty and from a reasonable, but reduced menu. The food came out quickly and hot.

I am marking the Buckatree down as it is very dated in all areas which is a shame, as the staff are lovely. Hopefully the owners will decide to spend some money to bring the rooms and public areas up to date.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victoria H wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for Valentines weekend. On reception we were asked whether we would like to upgrade for a Valentine’s meal in the restaurant. This was described as a a candlelit romantic dinner. When we came, the other tables were set up in the romantic manner with hearts and rose petals, red charger plates and candles but not our table. The person in charge showed us to the table and we sat there for 30 minutes waiting for somebody to ask for our menu choices and drinks.
Waiters were following one another and were very disorganised. They did not seem to know what they were supposed to do.
After 30 minutes we asked a waiter who served another table when we were going to be served and instead of asking our orders she went to the another person who stood at the entrance of the restaurant. This person looked at us and then went to clean another table and later came to us. We were served an appetiser and were waiting another 10 minutes for the next dish.
It was a 4 course meal and intermediated dish was a soup but not in our case. We were served a main dish. When we asked about the soup. The lady said that it is not on our menu. She did not apologise and asked us what she supposed to do with the dishes. At that point we asked for the manager who was the man standing at the entrance to the restaurant and he explained that in his book we are there for an ordinary meal and not for a Valentine’s meal. We explained that we upgraded and so on and the manager without apology said that he would talk to reception later.
We were served a soup and they reheated our main dish later.
When we asked for the advertised truffles we were told that they were not served on that day only yesterday
This morning was also very entertaining. How many people do you think required to clean the table for two and set for next guests? 3 people and 6 visits to that table!!! One person came to collect cups, another person collected plates, the third person came to collect remaining items from the table, then first person came to wipe the table, then another person came to bing cutlery, his next visit to the table was to bring cups.
While three people were cleaning and setting up one table we were asking for coffee, then cups for the coffee, then for milk for the coffee....which we had to fetch ourselves rather than wait for our coffee to go cold.
We were laughing when a lady came with a tray left it at another table and carried the dishes in her hands...
This place has a serious management issue and does not have a clue how to optimise work and use resources appropriately!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WayneJenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Victoria, First and foremost please accept my apologies for a disappointing stay with us. I am saddened to read your review as are my team. I fully respect your opinion and desire to share your experience but do wish, that in today’s high profile world of social media exposure people would consider the consequences of publically shaming a business in the same way it so frowned apon to do so with individuals. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan W wrote a review Sept 2021
Beverley, United Kingdom15 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Could be a beautiful place with a good bit of investment and updating but the current decor in rooms and public areas is a dark and dated mishmash last popular in the early 80s. Our room had an odd, stale greasy type smell that despite spraying the air, and having the window open did not go during the two nights of our stay.

Only one member observed wearing a mask during our long weekend break but housekeeping services continued and buffet style breakfast with open, uncovered bowls of cereals from which guests could help themselves.

First nights dinner was fine but on trying to book the second night, we were gold that guests who had booked independently would be bumped from the restaurant and have to eat in the bar because a coach party was due to arrive. In essence, not a problem until we found, that the bar only had a couple of tables of a height suitable for dining from the rest were low slung coffee tables and Chesterfield sofas - neither comfortable nor practical to dine from. We were then told that several items from the already limited menu were not available; but the absolute last straw was when I received a thin wedge of a defrosted frozen cheesecake and a couple of spoonfuls of defrosted red currants under the description of Baked Vanilla Cheesecake with berries. This cost £5.95 for maybe 75p worth of food, it was horrible, expensive and not what I ordered. This defies the trade description act so think VERY carefully before eating here. And yes I did complain and was told it would be reported to the kitchen - no apology, no refund!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stj34 wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is nicely situated.
There was no heating in the room (February) and we were unable to turn either of the radiator valves on.
We paid for the advertised buffet breakfast but only received 'plated' brekfasts.
Dirty towel not replaced despite leaving it in the bath.
Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CAROLE S wrote a review Jun 2021
Rochdale, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked privately, after seeing advertisement on Facebook. We booked the 2 night offer and chose the Penthouse Suite. On arrival we got our keys and were asked what time we wanted dinner. It was advertised to commence at 6.30 p.m. so we said 6.30 p.m. please. No, we could only book for 8.30 pm. Even when I explained to the man that I had to eat earlier than that, (on medication), all he could offer was that we eat out the first night and dine in the hotel the second night. OK, 6.30 p.m please. No can only do 7.30 p.m. OK then. That afternoon a coach trip arrived. They were all booked in at 6.30 p.m. Priority as they were a coach party!!!!! We arrived at the dining room 5 minutes early and were told we still would have to wait until 7.30 p.m. as they coach party were first!!!!!

Obviously the coach party were first in the best seats in the lounge after dinner too!!

Penthouse Suite. OK. However in the lounge area, tucked behind the curtain was a drinks tray, and also under a chair was a bottle top from previous guests. Obviously not cleaned very well. The bathroom was big with a corner bath and two basins, neither of which drained at all well. The bath was like glass with no safety bath mat available. When I rang down for a bath mat the receptionist said, jokingly I hope, "That will be extra, do you think this is a hotel?" We did get a bath mat.

Also on checking in, we were informed that we would not get our room serviced on the 2nd day. We had to make our own bed, request extra bath towels, shampoo and body wash etc.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Penthouse Suite is very quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveChapman wrote a review Jul 2020
Wirral, United Kingdom197 contributions164 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed here 17th to 19th of July as we needed a break from the long lockdown. In our opinion this hotel should not have opened up as they were not ready ready for guests. These are our reasons.
As the hotel was not very busy we thought if they wanted to make a good impression we would have been given a good room, the one we got according to the receptionist overlooked the lake it did if you went outside and looked to the right. It was very dark so not conducive with doing your hair, makeup was ok as you have light in the bathroom.
Breakfast we were told would be plated and not buffet which was fine except when we were asked what we wanted we were told no hot food just continental so ok .
Asked for juice. no juice, no fruit segments , no yogurt and compote, no cheese, no cold cuts, no hard boiled eggs, no danish pastries. Asked what there was and were told toast cereal fruit yogurt pain au chocolate or croissants tea and coffee. not what we would call continental. We ate dinner in the hotel the first night but ate out the second. We were really looking forward to staying here and even told the receptionist that we were looking at booking a family room for the 8th August weekend to take our grandchildren to see the iron bridge and museums in the area. Our children had bought this stay for us for christmas and this was the first time we could use it it was very disappointed with our choice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: room 64 does not look out over the lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geoff Adams wrote a review Aug 2020
8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 4 adults, 2 small children and one small pooch have just had an excellent 2 night stay here. Very friendly helpful staff. Our rooms were spotless and smelled great when you first walked in, and very comfy. Bathroom excellent. The hotel is set in its own scenic grounds, which are immaculately kept. Our room balcony faced onto the gardens, so you could sprawl on the grass outside and relax while the kids slept inside. You only have to walk across the road and you are immediately in the woods with lovely walks. The bar is well stocked and the restaurant is good, with a reduced but functional menu at the moment. You can eat outside if you wish, but have to ask, its lovely when you do. The breakfast is full English and good, really enjoyed it. At no time did I feel uncomfortable with small children or the dog. There is a really good atmosphere running through the place, and our fellow guests seemed very nice. Like all hotels at the moment the staff here are struggling with Covid restrictions, but these guys are doing it better than most, loads of sanitizer available and clear instructions for the guests. We found this place by accident, having had other accommodation cancelled last minute. I'm so glad we did, it worked out for the best. Value for money? YES, this hotel punches well above its weight. My only picky point - I look forwards to them having a full, less basic, dinner menu on in the future, but what we had was fine. So glad we found this hotel, we WILL return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wayne Jenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2020
Dear Goeff, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed brief stay with us. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AniO0812 wrote a review Jul 2021
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom59 contributions31 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited here with my husband and our friends. We were really looking forward to it but we were all very disappointed. The first room my husband and I were allocated looked as though someone had been sleeping on one of the beds and the other one looked like someone had been standing on it and the balcony looked onto a 8ft hedge! My husband asked if we could be moved and the very helpful man (his name Matthew) moved us immediately to another room with a nice view over the lake. The bathroom was clean but there were cobwebs under the shade on the wall light and the hotel phone was covered in dust, I had to clean it before use. There is no room service for your stay so we had to use the same towels for the 3 days and ask at reception for tea, coffee etc.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere which was very peaceful but meant you either had to drive or get taxis to go anywhere.
Now on to the staff, the young girl on the bar on the first night said she hated her job and didn't want to be there, the the next day an older man said to my husband was lucky he didn't have to work there! The restaurant staff were also quite miserable. The only friendly and helpful member of staff as I have said was Matthew.
Don't expect any special treatment if you are celebrating anything, apparently my daughter had emailed the hotel advising them it was our wedding anniversary but we didn't receive anything complementary. I am afraid I wouldn't recommend this hotel and would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DB asked a question Jun 2021
Berkshire, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi, may I ask if there are any other pubs within walking distance of the hotel. Many thanks
Mr Curl asked a question Oct 2018
136 contributions78 helpful votes
Check in time
Answer from nickhig
123 contributions33 helpful votes
We could not check into the room until after 14.00hrs.
Sarah J asked a question Sept 2018
Luton, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
My mum has booked for next month. Are there have hairdryers in all rooms?
Answer from Shinyandnice
Felixstowe, United Kingdom51 contributions30 helpful votes
I’m not sure as I took my own and used it! Just ring them and ask.
Matthew W wrote a tip 11 May
Telford, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dogs welcome "
Read full review
Freshwaterrose wrote a tip Apr 2024
Somerset, United Kingdom125 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for exploring Telford "
Read full review
Linzi wrote a tip Apr 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom58 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"More cost effective to book the dinner bed and breakfast deal direct on the Buckatrees own website"
Read full review
Duchess2Uk wrote a tip Mar 2024
UK6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fab place to stay if you want a nice walk up the Wrekin and an overnight stay. Apparently it is dog friendly as well only we didn’t see any"
Read full review
Maria J wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't trust OYO group they will let you down at the last minute"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Telford area.
PRICE RANGE
€58 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buckatree hall telford, hotel buckatree hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShropshireTelford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUCKATREE HALL HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Telford, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Buckatree Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include XscapeNow (3.6 km), Hoo Zoo and Dinosaur World (7.3 km), and Exotic Zoo Wildlife Park (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mishu, Sofia's, and Albion Inn.
Are pets allowed at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Buckatree Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sunnycroft (1.7 km), Wroxeter Roman City (7.5 km), and Benthall Hall (7.3 km).
Does Buckatree Hall Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Buckatree Hall Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Telford HotelsTelford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TelfordHotels near Buckatree Hall Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire