We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Wrekin, nr. Telford, Telford TF6 5AL England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (489)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (31)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 16/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 26 hotels in Telford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Buckatree Hall Hotel is a country house hotel set in its own mature gardens and woodland beside a scenic lake. The hotel offers first class accommodation and facilities in which you can relax and enjoy the memorable surroundings and location. We are ideally located at the foot of the famous Wrekin Hill for all of Shropshire's finest tourist attractions including Ironbridge and its museums, the Black Country and Shrewsbury. Just a short journey from Telford central we are also ideal as a base for visiting Chester, North Wales and the West Midlands. A full service hotel of which the team are highly motivated to provide a professional, friendly and fantastic product at all times.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
1667Reviews31Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 633
  • 566
  • 250
  • 141
  • 79
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tamaralass wrote a review Yesterday
Telford, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Absolutely amazing and beautiful hotel. The staff are all lovely and the rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast was delicious, and nice and hot! Shame about the miserable old woman being rude to all the staff though. The staff all worked hard and remained professional at all times. Cannot wait to return on our way back from Edinburgh!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trevor wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Great room. Great service. Great location. Great value. Really nice view from the room of The Wrekin, a beautiful woodland. From the hotel there are many beautiful walks. Local services are easily accessible- the hotel is a cheap taxi ride from nearby towns. I would go again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of parking spaces. Easy to find.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PEGGY R wrote a review Jul 2022
Cornwall, United Kingdom54 contributions25 helpful votes
We recently spent a week at the Buckatree on a bed and breakfast basis. The food was of a good quality but there were shortages. I have to agree with the previous reviewer, housekeeping really isn't good at all, in fact its pretty bad ! Such a shame when all the other staff go the extra mile to be helpful and friendly. Towards the end of our stay I did complain about the lack of attention to our room and Kirsty listened to our complaints and kindly offered a courtesy glass of wine later. On a positive note, although the hotel is badly in need of some money being spent on it, it has character and is in a lovely spot. Our room had a lovely little balcony overlooking the lake - thanks Catherine. We had a problem with our shower and it was attended to immediately. I hear the hotel has new owners so hopefully some money will be spent. We have stayed at the Buckatree a few times in the past and will hopefully do so again. Thanks again to the staff who make such a difference.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Davina S wrote a review Jul 2022
Chaddesden, null, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Perfect location, we came away feeling recharged, only real problem with this hotel, housekeeping as you could see the dust on the chairs and balcony was full of cobwebs and floor hadn't been cleaned, maintenance work is required in the room toilet roll holder hanging off, some lights not working in the room we stayed, ladies toilet sink are all cracked and really do let the hotel down, housekeeping in the dining room also chairs and table legs have a build up of dust. Overall our stay was lovely with a spacious room, the hotel is old and in some areas dated but that adds to its character, staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. Would we return yes we would
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jerome B wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Stayed here for one night en route from Holyhead to Cornwall. Would have loved to have stayed longer. Beautiful location, spacious room and very friendly staff. Food is very tasty and not expensive. Definitely would like to return one day and stay for longer
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chantmarle wrote a review Jul 2022
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom37 contributions28 helpful votes
Stayed on a two day special break including evening meal and a river cruise in Shrewsbury. Last minute booking on Facebook. On arrival place looked clean and tidy and well maintained. Suitable for people with disabilities. Booking in simple with friendly and knowledgable reception staff. Had to book a time slot for breakfast and evening meal which was not a problem. Probably as everywhere seems to have just enough staff as long as they manage demand. Room was really good for the price, clean and tidy with good wardrobe space. Bed very comfortable and quality curtains kept out the light. Rooms are quite apart from odd bit of guest noise. Rooms also came with iron ironing board and hairdryer. Bathroom was nice and big, bath with overhead shower. Shower mats are available. The shower flow was a bit slow but adequate. Breakfast was buffet style, with a small selection of cerial and fruit and yogurts. Then a help yourself cooked buffet with bacon, egg, sausage, mushroom. Toast an jam as well. I thought it was really good and nice quality. Breakfast staff were really pleasant and helpful. Evening meal was three courses. All seemed well cooked and of reasonable quality. No need to go out if you don’t want to. Property had a nice bar,reasonable prices. No entertainment on offer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Some very nice walks near the hotel, pack walking boots
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sandy wrote a review Jul 2022
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom6 contributions16 helpful votes
Hotel was fine. Food was lovely, so we're the staff that we meet in dinning area.. I had spoken to lady receptionist when booking via phone, and asked for a disabled room or one nr to restaurant area on the ground floor, due to severe mobility issues. I was told no room available on ground floor and no allocated disabled room. I accepted one next to lift on 1st floor. So easy to reach reception and restaurant. On arrival lift had notice...out of order. I had now been reallocated to ground floor. (No notification of room change given prior to arrival) new allocated room was in fact 80 yards from reception. Way pass my capabilities. We ended up having to obtain a wheelchair just in order to get to our room. I felt that nobody had taken into account my mobility problem, although this had been highlighted when booking and also at reception on booking in. We did however manage to relax on our balcony, Which overlooked the fish pond and was entertained by a heron. Would visit again but would need to insist on a room no further than 10 yards from reception/restaurant. Having to rely on a wheelchair just to get to breakfast or into room was not what I wanted. So very disappointed in that respect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Derrick F M wrote a review Jul 2022
Rhondda, United Kingdom391 contributions82 helpful votes
An impressive hotel set in picturesque surroundings. It is accessed via a one way roads system. Satnav boldly announced we had arrived, but not. It was several hundred yards short. No issues with this; as it was a one way road so you had to continue. You then found it easily. Room was clean, spacious, comfy bed but hard pillows. Shower head fixing was broken so had to hand hold the shower head. Probably due to the size of the hotel and the size of the dining room, breakfast had to be a pre-booked timeslot. The food was first rate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wayne Jenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Rhondda, Thank you kindly for your positive review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards,
Read more
Vdoo wrote a review Jul 2022
Newquay, United Kingdom64 contributions38 helpful votes
Where to start I was given a dark room with a sloping ceiling with just a Velux window for lighting,no view, You needed to go downstairs to see what the weather was like.But the staff were quick to change my room when I complained but it should not be sold as a guest room.Next the food was really bad,potatoes were as hard as bullets meat was of cheap quality the dessert was ok.Our coach driver complained on our behalf & a manager came the next evening but spoke to no one re the complaints but was very rude when asked for more potatoes as there were 6 between 4 people.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Not room 111
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wayne Jenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Vdoo, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Room 111 is a standard room with 2 velux windows. I am pleased that we are able to offer you an alternative room as this room was not to your liking. I am sorry that both the quantity and quality of the food was not to your liking and I assure you that that your feedback has bee noted. Kind regards,
Read more
Michelle E wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Stayed here the night of my step sons wedding. We went down to breakfast. No one was there to book us in, My stepson had pushed tables together so we could all sit together, we were told this was unacceptable but they would allow it. After being together in the dining room for no more than 15mins a man, I presumed was the manager, as he didn't have the manners to say who he was, came to the table and advised, as loud as he could, that the consumption of breakfast (between 6) was unacceptable and if we had any more he would charge extra? We had, 2 breakfasts, 2 poach eggs on toast, a bowl of cereal and a bacon sandwich and juice. Not unreasonable for a Buffett breakfast. Then in checkout they tried to charged my stepson £27.50 for a bottle of Red wine and rose petals on the bed. The petals on the bed were part of the confetti from the Wedding which was requested to be out and supplied by a wedding guest, and the wine was never received or asked for. They agreed to take off the charge, but this was after trying to over charge for two rooms, then rang the groom the day of his wedding as the room had been left in a mess, and advised he would be charged for extra cleaning services, it wasn't until he advised that the room was booked for a second night and apologised. It totally spoiled the whole experience of the morning after your wedding. It's was very disappointing and if your thinking of booking here for a special occasion I would seriously reconsider
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wayne Jenson, General Manager at Buckatree Hall Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry that you have had not had an enjoyable experience and pleased that we were able to remove the wrongful charges from your account. It was noted by the 3 staff on duty that your party were eating above and beyond what we consider to be the norm and taking items from the buffet which are intended for everyone (full cartons of juice). It is obviously not our intention to cause any offense and it is rare that that this happens. However, on this occasion we felt justified in bringing this to your attention. Kind regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buckatree hall telford, hotel buckatree hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShropshireTelford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Buckatree Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include XscapeNow (3.6 km), Hoo Zoo and Dinosaur World (6.9 km), and Exotic Zoo (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mishu, Eighty-Six'd, and Restaurant 1840.
Are pets allowed at Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Buckatree Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Buckatree Hall Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sunnycroft (1.7 km), Wroxeter Roman City (7.5 km), and Benthall Hall (7.3 km).
Does Buckatree Hall Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Buckatree Hall Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.