We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chiseldon House

Save
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (11)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good26%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sorbet”(18 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(54 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Chiseldon House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
99
63
41
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
99
63
41
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetafternoon teafinger sandwichesscones and cakescake standjam and creamwedding meallovely afternoonpublic roomscountry houselovely buildinglovely surroundingsvegetarian optionslarge roomonly stayed one nightwaiting staffthe main hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
201 - 205 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This feels like a proper country hotel although it is only 10 mins from Swindon. The grounds are nice, the rooms large and the staff helpful. But overall it does feel a little run down, but not to bad. The breakfast was good with excellent...More

2  Thank Graeme W
Response from David P, Owner at Chiseldon HouseResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that dinner was not to your satisfaction. I hope that next time you stay you will experience more changes to lift the feel, and a much more enjoyable dinner.

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Taking a party of 17 adults away is not an easy task, BUT Chiseldon House made it so. All of the staff Sue, Mark and thier entire staff were exceedingly helpful, attended to our every need and made our stay an imensly enjoyable one. Almost...More

Thank stphanie M
Response from David P, Owner at Chiseldon HouseResponded 29 July 2012

We am delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and the experience of our private dining. We look forward to your return.

Reviewed 2 July 2012

I enjoyed the restaurant and the breakfast was good and served earlier than the advertised time as I had an early start. The rooms are unfortunately rather in need of a makeover, particularly at the prices they are charging. Ancient wallpaper and poor lighting from...More

2  Thank JeffCypress
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found us accommodating and helpful. We are undertaking improvements in the hotel, which you will hopefully find quite noticeable on your return.

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were disappointed with the poor reception and extremely noisy room.

3  Thank susieandjohn9
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Four of us stayed two nights before and after my wife's 60th birthday celebration where they catered for 60 of our friends and family with Pimms (in the garden!), three course hot Sunday lunch, & super chilled champagne. Sue and Mel are excellent hosts, Sue...More

Thank Roxsrgreat
Response from David P, Owner at Chiseldon HouseResponded 30 May 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed celebrating this special occasion with us.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Swindon
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$118 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$118 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mullered88
9 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from John P | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your question, check out time is 10am. Later check outs may be available on request. Thank you
0
Votes
Plantman4U
7 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tuvkergirl | Reviewed this property |
Lots of things to see in the area inc Cotswold wildlife park. Steam museum. Various shopping centres. And of course the many beautiful Cotswold lakes and villages. Inc Bibury and Burford. Thanks.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I suspect all the rooms are of a very high standard and spacious too."
Read review
"Executive twin had a good view of the garden"
Read review
"Did not stay overnight"
Read review
"Don't accept Room 17; see if there are deals to make the stay more reasonable on price"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing