We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

713 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 707: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

As the only boutique hotel in Derby, it offers an individualised experience. Staff were friendly and the bedrooms and bathrooms have been renovated appropriately. Internet access was excellent. The only drawback was the access to my room which was up two flights of stairs and was more difficult with a heavy suitcase. I wasn't advised of this when I booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visted last night for Valentines day. Upon arrival we were greeted with a valentines cocktail and a rose which was a nice touch. We were seated and had the six course taster menu , and it was delicious the staff were very attentive . The only slight downside was that i am coeliac and my partner specified this when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Joanna, Thank you for your review and I am glad we could sort the Coeliac oversight quickly and efficiently. Hope we can welcome you back soon

banbury
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a good location. However it took 20minutes in a queue of 1 waiting to check in as only one person knew how to check guests in and they were dealing with a wedding enquiry. We were allocated a 3rd floor room and then told the lift was broken. As someone with a knee problem this turned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caronmartin
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Shopping drinking and watching falcons in the tower nice day out Parking on stmarys gate not to expensive Not to much left of derby so come and visit before it is closed for good and no one remembers derby

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for comments. hope to see you again soon.

Kent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely hotel; clean and with excellent service. The bedroom was a little too dim but it was clean and adequate. A beautiful, modern bathroom. All was topped off by a splendid breakfast - wonderful choice of foods, prepared to order served by a tireless waitress for whom, nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to staying there next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has some good points and some bad .Let me start by relaying the good. Its a lovely building, the beds are super comfy, the staff really cared about providing a good service, its right in the centre of Derby, the rooms are marketed at good price, Its got a nice bar, the food is ok and its a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel A
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Daniel, Thank you for your review. We are working hard to improve all areas in the hotel, including the lift. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a return visit owing to a disappointing dining experience in October, we were invited back by the manager Mr Hubert to have another Sunday lunch. We were this time very impressed with both the food and service both were of a good standard and will go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaynebingbong
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Jayne, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to put right your initial experience. I am glad you had an enjoyable lunch second time round. Hope to see you again soon.

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extremely disappointed with this place as the imagery used on the website could not be further from the truth. For a little over £240 for two nights, the two of us were checked in to our 3rd floor room. The lift wasn't working though and there was no offer of help. The receptionist just laughed and said "you're gonna hate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrewWalsh
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Mr Walsh, Could you please contact me personally to discuss your experience.

Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I frequently stay in Derby and this hotel was a disappointment. I usually stay in 3* hotels which are fine but thought I'd try something different this time. For a 4* hotel I expected the rooms to be clean and fit for purpose however the rooms are more like 2*/hostel standard rooms. The bathroom wasn't clean with hair everywhere, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaileyGreen
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Green, Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in room 15. There is an on-going maintenance programme, but I have escalated the issues highlighted in your review. Both the ceiling and window are not at the standard that we set. Contrary to your review, not all rooms are in this condition....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I had amazing time at the hotel, as soon as come into lobby mesmerised by the marble stairs. Large restaurant and cosy bar, food is amazing,music everywhere, great atmosphere. Bar and night staff very welcoming and chatty tells you anything you want to know, can order drinks till late and not get kicked out of bar. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simmonsdana1989
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back soon.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.3 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,569 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#8 of 8 in Castle Donington
268 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
0.9 km away
The Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Opulence Restaurant
Opulence Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: €90 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cathedral Quarter Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
29 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cathedral Quarter Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd seek a room on the ground floor if stair climbing would be a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles X9036RYrobertp, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although rooms on floor 3 avoid the party noise from functions, bear in mind the lift probably will not be working”
 of 5 bubbles caronmartin, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the third floor and it was quiet except for the distant sound of students returning home - no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles davidpB1976FE, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“n/a i did not stay there”
 of 5 bubbles gregl397, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“there are a few parking spaces at the hotel, otherwise there's a big secure car-park nearby, with a 30% reduction for hotel guests”
 of 5 bubbles TudorInjordan, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5