We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 556: English reviews
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with friends whilst in the area for the Cheltenham racing. Friendly welcome, spacious triple room, clean and comfortable. The building itself is amazing. The courtyard, and bar and reception areas leading off it, with the rooms looks over is really different and unique. Breakfast was good. Ample choice, although slow to bring out fresh food. There were several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GhostZapper
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic find, right in the centre of Gloucester town, a bit of olde worlde charm. A traditional coaching inn, step into the courtyard from the main shopping street and its like going back in time. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But this is a very old place with all the charm and querks that brings. Great staying at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen146
Borth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here over new year, more so for the rugby on NYD than midnight. Our first impressions were good very old building set in and around a very busy high street which is actually very convenient and not at all an impact on our stay. If you stay expecting the Ritz you will be sadly disappointing, the worst thing we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seewlh
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here on my lunch break for lunch and had a carver, they had turkey or pork so I made a rare decision to have pork, I don't like it usually but this pork was soft and delicious, and the vegetables that came with were yummy, I will be back, good value for money too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate s
nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

These are my impartial views as an experienced traveller of the world. Found the hotel really nice with a fantastic court yard. I stayed in room101 which was very noisy. Great big bathroom and the water was really hot. The towels don't really fit the larger figure but for 1 night not an issue. We were on a big birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NottinghamCrazylady
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The New Inn is in a great location in central Gloucester and steeped in history, has a beautiful gallery overlooking the courtyard, you can almost see all those grand lords and ladies of Tudor times. We stayed in the Lady Jane Grey suite, the floors are very uneven due to the age of the building, but adds to the charm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avers55
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the New Inn Gloucester for one night in The Oak room. The room was full of character and a very comfortable bed. The staff were amazing in the bar and restaurant and the food was fabulous. Highly recommended xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbeard9600
Brisbane
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The coffee shop is such a classic antique place with over head beams and white washed walls. Good value menu. Breakfast all day for 3 pounds. Very popular with the local seniors. Outside seating for smokers..was 1 degree but the stalwarts were outside with coffee and cigarettes. Good range of coffees.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RufusBrisbane
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the rooms are quite different in location, furnishing and feel, some of them prime, some shabbier, but we keep coming back as this place has a lot of character and the adjacent restaurant serves nice fish and chips with a very friendly service all over. we always book well in advance as the place is nearly always sold out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tereziakrishnannair
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a stay at the New Inn. I chose this site because of the history and being just before Christmas, I did think there would be more Christmas decorations. The service I am afraid was very poor. The staff did not know a great deal, no drinks menu available and were late for breakfast on Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newinn2016
Matt R, General Manager at The New Inn-Relaxinnz, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have recently been taken over by a new company to which our drinks menu is waiting to be updated. This was an extremely rare occasion and this happened because of the staff which was suppose to be on duty phoned in ill late, this is the reason for the...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (214)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.2 km away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
331 reviews
0.9 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
326 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
539 reviews
0.3 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
187 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Pilgrims Restaurant and Old Tap
Pilgrims Restaurant and Old Tap
Cuisines: British, Steakhouse, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
15th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard on first and second floors. There are no ground floor rooms. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music on Thursday and Friday until midnight and karaoke on Saturday until 2am. Kindly note that we are in the City Centre and guests are advised this is not the place for a quiet break. Reccommended parking is available at Bruton Way NCP (opposite the railway station) - GL1 1DG. Drop off area in New Inn Lane GL1 1EA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The New Inn-Relaxinnz

Address: 16 Northgate St, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range: €62 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn-Relaxinnz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your The New Inn-Relaxinnz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Inn-Relaxinnz staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Carmarthenshire Wales
Burry Port, United Kingdom
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn-Relaxinnz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top floor rooms you will struggle with bulky luggage up the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles seewlh, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“newer rooms upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles tereziakrishnannair, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not for the disabled as all rooms are up very steep stairs”
 of 5 bubbles susie305, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“second floor harder to reach but further away from the bar so quieter when there is live music”
 of 5 bubbles John_and_Gwyn, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on second floor facing away from the street, no view but so quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 720jackson5, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay