We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 611: English reviews
St Blazey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Why oh why do hotels these days not do a proper English breakfast,I mean it's the only meal provided and they can't do bacon,probably the most important part of a traditional breakfast.Everything else the room, the staff, reception were fine and clean, so come on it can't cost you much to give people the option of a full English, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smithers271
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Smithers271, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us, thank you for your feedback in regards to the bacon I will be sharing your feedback with the relevant departments. Unfortunately it is brand standard at this moment in time that Holiday Inn Express do not serve bacon on our breakfast...

Worksop
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We had an overnight stay and the visit was wonderful. The check-in staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. The room was immaculate and breakfast the next day was good. I would certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgms
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear rgms, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on your most recent stay with our hotel I am so pleased to hear you had a great experience with us and I will defiantly be sharing this with the team. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kindest Regards Emily Baker Guest...

Almeria, Spain
Reviewed 4 November 2015

I booked into this hotel and it was as I expected, clean, bright and hospitable, but there was some confusion when I added a breakfast to my booking. Initially they wanted to charge me an additional £60.00, which I of course refused. The second receptionist advised her colleague she had made a mistake, it was then reduced to £30.00 extra....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rooster_España
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear rooster-espana, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the confusion with your stay in regards to the breakfast. If an extra adult is staying in the room when you already have 2 adults in the room it is charged at an extra £30...

Launceston
Reviewed 1 November 2015

The hotel is very nice in a very convenient location for business travel. I was allocated a disabled room on the ground floor and it was very comfortable, and for a guest requiring these facilities it would be ideal, and I appreciate it that they provide these facilities. The bar area was a bit unwelcoming - mainly because it has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian M
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I will defiantly be sharing your feedback with the relevant departments. I am sorry to hear you experienced problems with the WIFI I have been speaking to my maintenance manager and he has advised me unfortunately it is out of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We visited Cotswolds 27th October and picked this hotel for one night stay. We booked on the telephone direct and they gave a good price including breakfast. Room spacious on ground floor, and the whole of ground floor has no smoking rooms which was great - no cigarettes smell in corridors! Staffs very polite and helpful. Teas and coffees in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hafez1953
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Hafez1953, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on your most recent stay with our hotel I am pleased to hear you had a great experience with us. I will defiantly be sharing your feedback with the rest of the team. The whole hotel is non smoking and I am pleased to hear you...

Dublin
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Fine for a stop over sleep. Room is sufficient, comfy enough but not Premier Inn standard of bed. Rooms need updating - old furnishing, bad electric heating and damaged window vents, but other than that its fine for what I use it for. I stay here about 5-10 times a month for work as it is convenient. The restaurant in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doyned
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Doyned, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you had a very disappointing experience in regards to the WIFI, I have shared this with the relevant departments as our guests feedback is always much appreciated and valued. I have spoken with our maintenance who...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We stayed here as there was no other accommodation available due to a World Cup rugby match being played in Gloucester. The room rate was exorbitant for the one night, at STG139, well over twice the advertised rate for other dates. The double room was up to the expected Holiday Inn standard but nothing more. Staff service was perfunctory and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haematocrit
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear haematocrit, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. Please could I ask you to contact myself directly so we can discuss your recent stay further as our guests feedback is always very valued and we are always looking for...

West Midlands
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Modern hotel,pleasant staff, room quality good and breakfast good too.A good example of this chain. Easy distance to Gloucester shops, cathedral etc. Also close to M5. On commercial estate but sleep quality was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leisurely_8
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Liesurley_8, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kindest Regards Emily Baker Guest Services Manager

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

My 2nd visit to this hotel. The hotel is always busy but remains quiet and I always have a good nights sleep here. The rooms are a good size, Clean and comfortable. Ample car parking and very well situated just off the M5. Both times I have stayed here my room has overlooked the car park and, even with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seaibiza
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Seaibiza, Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on your most recent stay with us. I will defiantly be sharing this with the team and relevant departments. I am so pleased to hear you always experience great stays with us and I would like to thank you for your loyalty to the brand. I...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Our room was nice a clean , but that is the only good thing to say. Had a very poor nights sleep if any. Which was needed after a long drive. Used a as one night stop over. The bed poor a lumpy/soft. Could not get all the room lights to work so very dark. And the free breakfast so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caz111273
Emily B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review

Dear Caz111273, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with our hotel I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with us and I would like to ask you to contact myself directly at info@expressgloucester.co.uk to discuss your most recent stay further. I hope to hear from you...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
7.2 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,051 reviews
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
8.2 km away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,468 reviews
6.5 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
744 reviews
6.7 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range: €53 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem as good at Holiday Inn Express hotels.”
 of 5 bubbles sunny_the_red, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“haven't had any problems with rooms/suggest you enquire when booking as I'm sure the staff thre will be more than happy to guide you”
 of 5 bubbles jimboSaundersfoot, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“haven't found one room better than another”
 of 5 bubbles Mem1952, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High Floor Every Time.”
 of 5 bubbles RichardB303, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room and you will get one.”
 of 5 bubbles amandus1864, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5