We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The St George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 984: English reviews
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looking very tired and shabby our bedroom on the front was very noisy as the windows fit badly.bed runner dirty,food cheap and nasty,some staff look miserable,pool good beer expensive location very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroleharrison28
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I will review them with my team. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a weekend break at the st george to celebrate our Golden Wedding.The room in general was very clean although we did have a couple of issues a stain on the mattress topper and the throw on the sofa was a bit dirty we informed reception and they were both changed very quickly also the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilian D
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm glad that my staff resolved the issues you had promptly. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards Edwina

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is situated very close to the town centre of Harrogate. The hotel is very good for the money paid on a Shearings winter break. The public rooms are in very good decorative order. I was advised by staff that the bedrooms and bathrooms would be done during 2017, which will improve the overall standard of the hotel. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank glowie58
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I'm pleased that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us, we do have a continual refurbishment programme. I will certainly look into your comments regarding breakfast with my Chef and Restaurant Manager. Thank you for your review. Kind Regards Edwina

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 3 nights at this hotel on a Shearings coach break and was not disappointed. Price was right, I had a single room with a three quarter bed, spotlessly clean and this was the same throughout the hotel. Can't fault the restaurant as service was excellent, evening meal menu varied and when presented looked appetising and tasty. Breakfast was self...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TinyTears1949
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I will monitor the heating in the public areas to ensure they are warm. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Edwina

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

My wife & I stayed at this hotel from Monday to Friday with a Shearings self drive deal. The room had an extra single bed in it and had a flat screen TV & was spacious and very clean. The bathroom looked as though recently refurbished. The heat in room easily adjusted by the stat on the radiator. Food choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoffviking
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review as you rightly say we have had many bathrooms refurbished and continue to do so. I will pass on your comments to my staff and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for business and have to say it was absolutely fantastic. The historical style blended in with it's surrounds. The bar grub was great. The rooms were 100% but the real highlight was welcoming atmosphere and helpfulness of the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarethH1980
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you rate the staff and hotel so highly thank you. They will be thrilled to receive your comments. Kind Regards Edwina

Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

How disappointing stopped here for well earned coffee after visiting the gift show ordered two coffee after a long wait the coffee arrived on a dirty well worn tray no teaspoons and dirty milk jug don't know where the water for the coffee had come from it was tepid to say the least no member of staff about to complain

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra S
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you encountered poor service if you would like to give me a call at the hotel I am happy to talk through the issues with you. Kind Regards Edwina

UK
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Great location for this grand old hotel but rather dated now. Nice swimming pool so if you secure a good deal what's not to like! Car parking on site and lots of fine restaurants literally next door and across the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BNL55
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as you say the St George is a grand old building with great character. We have plans to refurbish more bedrooms this year. Kind Regards Edwina

East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

After a lovely days Shopping in Harrogate we were walking back to our B and B, as we walked past the St George Hotel we were really cold and hungry and not sure where to eat so we popped in for a quick meal . I asked the man at reception if non residents were allowed and he said yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ladybell3
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit and will look into your comments. Kind Regards Edwina

sunderland
Reviewed 6 January 2017

great new year break. food was really nice, staff very friendly and the service excellent throughout our stay. yes the hotel could do with decorating,but i am nitpicking really. the hotel is situated perfect for a very short walk into town. we really enjoyed our stay and the staff did their best to ensure just that

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wearman
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it's great to hear you enjoyed your New Year break with us. Best wishes for 2017. Kind Regards Edwina

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
1,176 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
2,503 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: €75 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St George Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Skegness
North Shields, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor good. 107 on front but not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaS506, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“check breakfast times !!”
 of 5 bubbles GAZEFC1, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid at Best!”
 of 5 bubbles TheHonestJoker, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room away from the street side”
 of 5 bubbles JandRandTandC, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are better”
 of 5 bubbles caroleharrison28, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5