We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 550: English reviews
Leixlip, Ireland
Reviewed 19 October 2015

It was Ok People pleasant, prices too high in the bar and to stay €30 supplement to stay sat night, not worth it, Food good . Gluton free bread , bad, I would not stay again.Atmosphere good and the restuarant was ok but tired.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 394patricia
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, we ensure to work on the issues you have highlighted and hopefully you will return to give us a chance to redeem ourselves. I would like to thank you again for your valuable feedback. Kindest regards, Ciara Aherne

ireland
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We stayed for two days last week on the Escapes.ie package excellent value at €89 euro for the two of us, I hope they repeat the offer again soon!! We were, as we already understood in the Lodge, because that was on the offer and also I needed disabled accommodation. Luckily we had really glorious Autumn sunshine for our stay,don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mkmIreland
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your short break away with us, it always helps when the sun is shining! I am sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay, please do not hesitate to say it to us at the time, we have a 24 hour reception and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Arrived in to the main hotel and were primly told we were in fact staying in the Lodge and not in the main hotel at all...we took this to mean we were the poor relation. My partner and I found it kind of amusing especially as we looked a hot mess after cycling there. I don't believe we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mearbhall
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge. As a family owned and managed hotel, we take very seriously all feedback and will work on some of the issues you have raised. I would like to thank you again for your feedback and we hope you stay with us...

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Stayed here while walking in the area....great location with easy access from Dublin.. The staff were very welcoming and the kitchen was super efficient. Stayed here for 3 nights ...delicious dinners and breakfasts...warm cosy spacious rooms

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seafoodsouls
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are glad you enjoyed it and found it a relaxing experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your many meals with us during your stay and shall pass your kind comments to our chef & staff. We are delighted to hear that you have explored the...

Arklow.Eire
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Have not been to for lunch here for a few years but today decided to give it a try. Food was very good and as we had two children with us the kids menus was very good. But the negative is we as a couple had a small bottle of white wine each..hello 6.30 a bottle how can any hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Boo57Arklow
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your family lunch with us, we do not cut corners when it comes to our food, and as a result we have built up a very good reputation for dining in the area. I would like to assure you we take all comments seriously and will review the...

Butte, Montana, United States
Reviewed 27 September 2015

After assistance from Bernie of Cherrybrook Country Home B&B we got a room here. It was after 8PM when we checked in. We had not eaten dinner yet. The restaurant was scheduled to close at 8:30PM but they told us it would remain open for us to get some dinner. That was greatly appreciated!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karla P
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments, your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. It was absolutely no trouble, we were delighted to welcome you both and we hope to see you again in the not-so-distant future. Is mise le meas, Ciara Aherne

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

First the good points - Fantastic location, nice food in good public areas, friendly staff. However the bedroom we were given was very poor - Cigarette burns on plactic bath, grouting stained, toilet roll holder handing off, light bulbs out. Sorry not again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richardhware
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the issues with the bedroom that you encountered during your stay. We would like to investigate these issues further; if you could call us on 0402-35146 at your earliest convenience we would be delighted to take your call. Kind regards, Ciara Aherne

Reviewed 22 September 2015

From the minute we checked until we left the service was excellent, staff very friendly and extremely helpful. We had a few late stragglers for breakfast and although some arrived after the time stated everyone was looked after with a smile no matter what the time. The food and the atmosphere on the Friday night we were there was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a thoughtful review. We are delighted to hear your group enjoyed your short break away with us and that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. I shall pass your kind comments to all the Woodenbridge team, they will be delighted to receive such wonderful comments regarding our...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We stayed in the lodge, the room had a balcony overlooking the river, very nice. The staff were very friendly and food in the bar was nice. Lovely breakfast in the morning, my only disappointment was there was no fresh fruit , in future I will just bring my own.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz d D
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We serve fresh fruit with our breakfast menu so I'm disappointed to hear that there was no fresh fruit during your breakfast, I would like to apoligise & we shall look into this. I would like to thank you again...

Clonmel, Ireland
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We stayed in the lodges, which were very close to the hotel. The rooms were spacious enough and the beds comfortable. We quite enjoyed getting breakfast served to us as opposed to the self service you get in most hotels these days. The staff were very pleasant, which is always important. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joewin2015
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, it is great to hear such nice comments from your guests. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms were up to the high standard we set ourselves. Our Woodenbridge breakfast menu keeps with some old favorites and introduces a variety of Healthy options, to cater for all,...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
7.0 km away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
628 reviews
35.3 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
939 reviews
30.7 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
947 reviews
30.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
467 reviews
21.5 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Price Range: €55 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge Arklow, County Wicklow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Ardee, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in the lodge,rooms quite good but basic”
 of 5 bubbles carlito6391, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles rachelgU9824JV, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles rtmb1247, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a room at the front of the lodge, the music from the hotel was very loud request a room at back of lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles ciarad524, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view in the Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles HoPip, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay