We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 561: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We booked the hotel, only to find we were allocated The Lodge, it was more like a hostel, very loud guests wondering around drunk in middle of the night, no night security on duty. Bar was packed when we arrived wasn't very comfortable. It was a stay to remember for the wrong reasons.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank padraigboylan666
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. . I'm disappointed to hear that you found the lodge 'hostel like'. The Lodge is part of the hotel, built in 2004. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily and are equipped with television, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, and complimentary WiFi...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

It's been a few years since I last stayed here. It's certainly changed for the better! Room at the lodge was comfy and big enough. The hotel had a wedding on that evening but the staff still looked after the residents just as equally.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wooddy1971
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, it was lovely to welcome you back to the hotel after a number of years. We are absolutely thrilled to hear you favoured our new extension and refurbishment of the hotel, and felt well looked after by our Woodenbridge team members. I shall pass your wonderful comments along to all of our team....

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel & travelled down to it and were quite happy with the appearance set into the Wicklow mist, we ordered dinner ( beautiful & plenty) , the ladies very friendly and helpful that served us, Ciaran the barman was brilliant ( only for him I would have given a 1 star review) but our problem was with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dell794
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed and honest review. While I am glad you enjoyed your evening meal with us, I am disappointed with the negative experience you received during your stay. We have built up an excellent reputation for customer service here at Woodenbridge, so I can assure you this matter is...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Had a fabulous stay over new year, Lorcan went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable, everything ran smoothly and he still had time to have a chat with everyone, with his personality and management skills any hotel in the world would be lucky to have him. Gillian provided exceptional service with food and drinks and kept everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DoloresOKelly
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wonderful to hear from you and thank you for your five star review. We are pleased to hear you felt well looked after by our Woodenbridge team members (especially Lorcan and Gillian- they are wonderful emcees- we are so lucky to have them). We take great pride in all our staff and we take our customer service very...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I attended a family wedding here in October and will definitely return. We had booked a room with 2nd bed for our son but received a double room. This was quickly resolved when we asked at reception. The meal at the wedding reception was lovely and service was great. They made a special effort with our son during the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LilacGerber
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review, it is such a pleasure to hear back from our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding celebrations- Woodenbridge always promises a memorable time! I am pleased to hear you felt accommodated and well looked-after by our dedicated Woodenbridge Team. I am sorry that you came across some issues during your...

dublin
Reviewed 2 January 2017

we have stayed here before and were a little disappointed this time around.The hotel extension is quite modern and the bar has alot more space but it has lost its homely atmosphere and charisma.The food this time around was poor,steak lacked any flavour and mushrooms and onions tasteless and soaked in grease. Overall not as good as previos visits

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carlito6391
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, it was lovely to have you stay with us again. Our new extension has been reveived very well, with lovely cosy areas with their own fireplaces and we have kept the front part of the bar original for our guests that prefer the more homely atmosphere. I’m sorry if you were disappointed with...

Reviewed 2 January 2017

We visited the Woodenbridge Hotel last night for a bite to eat whilst staying at a local guest house. I have to say that I was very disappointed at the quality of the food. I ordered chicken fajitas and was surprised at the unconventional presentation with rice, only one tortilla wrap and an unusual sauce. Any fajitas I have had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you did not find your meal up to the high standards we set ourselves. I am particularly disappointed about this, as we have built up an excellent reputation in the area and our food is normally received very well as can be seen from numerous positive reviews. This...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We were returning from a holiday in Europe and decided to spend New year's eve after getting off the ferry. We were really impressed with how clean the hotel was. Our room was really lovely . We had a three course meal which was delicious. Waitresses were great very attentive. The two lady waitresses in the bar on 30th Dec...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The M
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, I would like to thank you for giving us such a wonderful five star review. We always ensure good company in our Goldmines Bar when ringing in a new year! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the New Year's Eve festivities and your short break-away with us. I will pass your superb comments to Chloe and...

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Where to start, beautiful venue and amazing staff. Stephen and Cathy look after us all so well. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. Would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding. What a great place to see out 2016 and welcome in 2017 with family and friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandrakeating
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your wonderful five star review, and may I wish you a very Happy New Year. It is lovely to hear from you and to hear you enoyed the wedding celebrations- it was a great day for all! I will pass on your complimentary comments to Cathy, Stephen, and all of the Woodenbridge staff...

Rep of Ireland
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, very clean with very welcoming staff. We ate in the bar when we arrived, lovely food and very quick service also. Our room was over in the lodge part of the hotel, the room had one double and a single bed, had everything you'd need for a single night stay. Breakfast the following morning was self service and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonard76_
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments, it is great to receive such positive feedback from our guests. The satisfaction of our guests is of highest priority and it is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and your dining with us. We look forward to...

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
6.9 km away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
647 reviews
30.8 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,904 reviews
35.3 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
971 reviews
30.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
478 reviews
21.5 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Price Range: €55 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge Arklow, County Wicklow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Ardee, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best Views great location”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethberryla2017, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“211 ... don't be fooled ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles gschulzb, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in the lodge,rooms quite good but basic”
 of 5 bubbles carlito6391, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles rachelgU9824JV, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles rtmb1247, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5