We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vale of avoca, Arklow Y14 XT95 Ireland
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (339)
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (60)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 in Arklow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge Hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge Golf Club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. Our newly renovated Goldmines Bistro serves delicious bar food every day from 12.30 to 9pm. Our latest addition is the Smokehouse Restaurant at Woodenbridge Lodge. On the banks of the River Aughrim, the Smokehouse promises to be the venue of the summer, with 180sqm of sheltered outdoor seating! Using our very own smokehouse rig and a variety of garden grown herbs, the Smokehouse offers a unique collection of smoked meats, seafood and vegetarian options. You can kick back and relax under a vast, fully-floored stretch tent that shades and shelters from the Irish weather. The Smokehouse is the ideal location to catch-up with friends and family! We're sure the Smokehouse will continue the 400 year tradition of timeless hospitality that is long associated with the Woodenbridge Hotel!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1358Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 670
  • 417
  • 157
  • 69
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kevlambert77 wrote a review 17 May
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
Myself and my wife got married here 3 years ago. Due to coovid restrictions we never got to celebrate our 1st or 2nd anniversary. Woodenbridge kept their promise of a free anniversary meal regardless and of course brought back the memories of our unbelievable day to remember. We look forward to our return to here. And i’m sure we will return so many times, they’ll end up naming a bridal suite after us. The staff, the food and the drink was all perfect and i can find no faullt other than i cant spend more time there. To sit outside and admire the scenery alone is beyond description. Even when it rains. The sound alone is pure paradise. When the sun is out its a truly epic experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
gipi wrote a review Oct 2020
Drogheda, Ireland35 contributions38 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We have visited Woodenbridge Hotel several times over the past few years and have never been disappointed. Our recent short break was no different, even though these are different times with Covid-19 restrictions. We stayed in the hotel (rather than the lodge), and were given one of the newer rooms - the bridal suite, no less! The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of space and a balcony overlooking the nearby golf course. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm. Breakfast is no longer a self-serve buffet (due to restrictions), guests are shown to a table and are served there. All hot food was cooked to order and was delicious. We also ate dinner on 2 nights, and the food was delicious. Service was friendly and attentive. We also enjoyed a few afternoon drinkies in the outdoor space, as the weather was beautiful during our visit! The hotel takes its Covid-19 responsibilities seriously - all staff wore masks, there was regular cleaning, guests were asked to wear masks in public areas (walking through the hotel, along corridors, etc) and there was plenty of hand sanitizer available. I was very happy with my recent visit to Woodenbridge, and I look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
GrandTour28687173210 wrote a review 17 May
1 contribution
Great 1 night stay with dinner, B&B. The whole experience was excellent from check in, food in the bistro, live music, check out. The service was excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
lisasmithcarnaross wrote a review 16 May
Kells, Ireland1 contribution
A beautiful hotel with beautiful staff. Can never fault it. So quaint and peaceful. Rooms are too the highest standard as is the food they serve. Views are breathtaking. Well worth booking a stay for a quiet retreat. They also have a wonderful golf course and Lodge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
receipts2022 wrote a review 16 May
1 contribution
Great place to stay. Comfortable and reasonably priced rooms. Wi-Fi worked well. Friendly staff. Restaurant excellent, if a little overpriced (in my opinion only). I would definitely stay there again as the location was perfect for my work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tessa Howard, Sales at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Responded today
Hi receipts2022, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Woodenbridghe Hotel & Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back again, either for business or pleasure. Kind regards, Tessa
Read more
rhondabicraig wrote a review 14 May
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Please be aware we booked through booking .com we paid extra for breakfast it stated very good breakfast we obviously expected a cooked breakfast but when we arrived we were told we would have to pay £10 extra for a cooked breakfast and go to a hotel up a hill and across a road difficult for disabled and people with mobility issues the continental breakfast we were offered was bland and poor at best not worth the money ! We tried to speak to the receptionist/manager but she was so rude we walked away not good Irish hospitality! We will not be returning and we have warned all our friends this is misrepresentation of their breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If you have to go do not pay for breakfast
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tessa Howard, Sales at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Responded today
Hi rhondabicraig, We are disappointed that the issue over your breakfast lead you to leave a 1 star review. Our breakfast policy is made clear at the time of booking. We hope that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay with us. Kind regards, Tessa
Read more
msalmi112824 wrote a review 13 May
1 contribution
Very regular bus next door ! The price-quality ratio is perfect. The quality of the restoration is excellent and it would be a shame to miss it. Very special atmosphere, you feel good there. Exceptional setting with the golf course across the street.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tessa Howard, Sales at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Responded today
Hi msalmi112824, We are thrilled that you found our hotel to your liking, we are truly blessed with our beautiful location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Woodenbridge gain some time. Kind regards, Tessa
Read more
Roving18248166064 wrote a review 11 May
1 contribution
I've stayed in Woodenbridge several times with my quilting / sewing friends and I love it. With friendly and helpful staff, wonderful food and views to sooth your soul, even on wet days, this is a perfect location for a quiet getaway.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tessa Howard, Sales at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Roving18248166064, We absolutely loved having you to stay and seeing your wonderful creations! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and seeing your latest designs. Kind regards, Tessa
Read more
nbradl877281 wrote a review 3 May
1 contribution
The hotel is old but also modernized, which made for an intimate setting that you just don't see in urban areas anymore. The countryside there is quiet, beautiful and peaceful. Woodenbridge is close to many historic sites and natural beauty spots, so no matter which direction you go in, there's always something to see. Also, the motorway is 15 minutes' drive away if you need to travel fast. You do need a car though!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tessa Howard, Sales at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Hi nbradl877281, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have been trading since 1608 and are always upgrading and improving to meet the needs of our customers. We are delighted that you found our Hotel to be so welcoming suited to your needs. We are extremely luck to be surrounded by so many beautiful attractions and thankfully you got to explore some of them. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Tessa
Read more
knicol202973 wrote a review 2 May
1 contribution
All in all no complaints. Very nice stay Travelled to Powerscourt and a few other places as there is not a lot to take in in the area around the hotel. The Avoca shop was just opening the day after we arrived so it was good to have a look around and have our lunch there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tessa Howard, Sales at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
Hi knicol202973, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be a good base to explore Wicklow. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Tessa
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
woodenbridge hotel arklow, woodenbridge hotel and lodge, best western woodenbridge hotel, best western arklow, arklow best western
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty WicklowArklow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Mill at Avoca Village (3.4 km), Falconry Ireland (4.7 km), and Arklow Maritime Museum (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Ship, Links Restaurant, and Christy’s.
Does Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mill at Avoca Village (3.4 km).
Does Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.