Riverbank House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Riverbank House Hotel

Riverbank House Hotel
Traveller (125)
Dining (25)
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 5 hotels in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
"Since opening the Riverbank House Hotel our aim has been to create a refreshing alternative venue for exceptional yet reasonable accommodation, good consistent food with availability all day and a level of service to be proud of. From the feedback I have received to date I am confident we have achieved, and are maintaining our goals. However we are constantly striving to improve our standards so that you ‘the customer’ receive the highest possible level of service and customer care. Whether you're passing through or a registered guest, on behalf of the management and staff, I wish you an enjoyable stay with us at The Riverbank House Hotel." Colm Campbell, General Manager.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Classic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

The Bridge, Wexford Y35 AH33 Ireland
603Reviews4Q+A80Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 366
  • 162
  • 44
  • 21
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
travellingmomde wrote a review May 2022
Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel very much. The staff here is outstanding, always friendly and very efficient. The room was big and clean, the bed the most comfortable I have slept in lately. The food we ate there, including the breakfast, was tasty, served with a smile.
The distance to the town center takes about 10 minutes walking and is enjoyable in good weather. We would definitely return if we are back in this area.
Now a few points to consider, the carpet in the room could do with a thorough vacuuming and in this time and age, if we hang up our towels they do not need to be changed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Newton wrote a review Oct 2021
Marden, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Riverbank Hotel where to start, as this was my first time to Southern Ireland and only for two days we were recommended this hotel. Staff on arrival were warm and friendly, nothing seemed to much trouble. The room I stayed in was clean if maybe a little dated, but it fitted the character of the place, if you want all modern go somewhere else this isn't for you, if you want to soak up a little of that Irish magic, it's perfect.

Being disabled access was more than adequate. Some of my medication makes me a bit of an insomniac, but even at 4am, the night porter, I think his name was Jim, brilliant guy, knew a lot about the local area and gave me a few recommendations on what to see.

OK I'll be honest, is it 5 star no but my room was clean, the bed was huge, and although I was here for a very short time I would definitely stay here again..

So the reason to only give 4 stars. The particular room I was in has limited ventilation, a single window that opens into what I imagine is a staff service corridor. But at 2am I was awoken by two very loud male voices and a radio blasting out. So that was it for me, awake from that moment on with no realistic chance of dropping off again.

My second reason for the 4 stars, Although the toilet facilities were spotless, ample towels etc, I am not a small guy and the shower enclosure was a little tight for me to get into, doors that opened out would have been much better instead of two very small sliding doors but I guess space limitations ruled that out. Also be mindful of the tiled floor, once wet it's like dancing on ice, lay a towel down and walk on that.

At the end of the day I am not the hotel inspector, but I loved the place it suited my needs pretty much perfectly, I feel sometimes that people can be a little over demanding and tend to over exaggerate any negative points. But everyone is entitled to their opinion.

Would I recommend the Riverbank House Hotel, yes i would, even with the minor problems I came across. But next time I think a room who's window opens to the outside world will be the order of the day.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Dear johnuk1960, thank you for your recent review of the Riverbank House Hotel. I must say, one of the fairest, most informative reviews I've read, not just for the Riverbank but of any venue I have read as I have used Tripadvisor myself for in my own travels. You certainly captured the essence of the Riverbank, what we try to achieve and where we can improve also, constructive comments are essential for overall guest experience that visit in the future. I must apologise for your sleep disturbance, so very disappointing when sleep is a major part of your experience. Despite this you rose above it and listed our many positives, for this I cannot thank you enough, you cannot be fairer than that. I certainly do hope you make it back again in the future, please do make yourself known as would like to personally thank you for your fair and impartial review of our little hotel. Hope to see you soon? Best wishes, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunshine65 wrote a review Sept 2021
ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights here recently and it is a nice quiet hotel. Defenitly as other reviews stated its a bit dated and has a musty smell in room. But having said that it didnt take from the good food and friendly staff.
We had drinks and tea in the room the first night and was surprised that cleaners never took the rubbish .ie the glasses and teacups from the table the next day while cleaning room?
The breakfast was good except the sausages were slightly undercooked. Dinner was very good and portions very generous. Husband ordered the mixed plate for dinner but unfortunately they forgot to put the corn on the cob on it...
Wine was expensive at 27/28 euro the cheapest.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Nice gardens and in a nice quiet spot just a few mins walk across the bridge to the town
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Dear sissy022, thank you for your recent review of the Riverbank House Hotel. You raised a number of issues I must apologise for and assure you I will look into, despite this you very kindly gave us 4 our of 5 stars, perhaps undeserved but appreciated all the same. We will try to do better and appreciate your time in reviewing. Kind regards, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loretta wrote a review Sept 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t normally do reviews but I do find them very helpful when I’m trying to book so I said I would give my opinion on our stay at this hotel last Saturday.
On arrival on the Saturday I went to check in and I was met by a lady on reception she was not overly welcoming But I did manage to check in, this was my first time to stay at this hotel so first impressions and all that.
The reception area and entrance hall could do with being upgraded it was all looking very outdated.
The room had three single beds as requested but the bedroom could definitely do with a overhaul it was very shabby and decor was very dated. The window had a net curtain on but you could see staff members walking up and down and lots of cats in particular one cat sat on our bedroom window the entire stay.
That evening we ate in the bar it’s was à la cart menu which was excellent we had a staff member serve us I did not get her name and she was extremely friendly and we were delighted with the service and the whole atmosphere was just lovely and relaxing, it was very busy with people eating which is a really good sign.
The following morning we came down for breakfast there was not many people around as a matter of fact we were the only three people eating for the first half hour, menu Had good Selection of food but coffee was freezing.
We met a lovely girl on checkout.
This hotel is in a really good location but I did think it was way overpriced for what we got and offered.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear Lor1999, apologies for the delay in responding but appreciate your time in reviewing the Riverbank House Hotel. Thank you for your kind words and suggestions, we let you down in a couple of areas which I promise to take on board, sincere apologies. Our Victorian style I appreciate can look dated but will be mindful in case you were referring to furnishings as such? Hopefully you were not deterred from staying again? Best wishes, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
irishgirl069 wrote a review Sept 2020
Cork, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 2 weeks ago, the place could do with an overhaul really, very old and shabby. Despite that the staff were nice, and the food was excellent. You can only have a drink if you are eating in the restaurant, but I assume that will all change next week when pubs are permitted to open again. Drinks can be sent to the room at no extra charge. The one way system they are operating seems a bit pointless to me. When people who don't really need to, are constantly walking through the restaurant just to get out. The location was lovely, just over the bridge from Wexford Town, lovely view from the restaurant at sun down.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear irishgirl069, apologies for the delay in responding but appreciate your time in reviewing the Riverbank House Hotel. Thank you for your kind words and suggestions, our Victorian style is sometimes confused with being dated but will keep an extra about for any signs of wear and tear just in case. The Covid restrictions sadly we have to follow, the one way system is a requirement when possible and as it is must implement it. Hopefully it won't be long before life returns to normal? Otherwise I'm pleased you liked our location and appreciated to great crew I am proud to work with. Hopefully will see you again soon? Best Wishes, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deirdre M wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for excellent service and amazing food- this is the place to go in Wexford! Situated away from the hustle and bustle of the town, this hotel is located on the banks of the river, yet less than a ten minute leisurely stroll to the town. We received a very warm welcome at the reception during check in. We booked a triple room which was very spacious. Although the bedrooms are dated with regard to decor, the wonderful staff and service along with amazing food more than made up for this small shortcoming. One can experience amazing sunsets and panoramic vistas from the large windows in the bar area which more than added to our dining experience. A special word about Barry- a wonderful staff member who pandered to our every whim in courteous and lighthearted manner- he is a great asset to this establishment. Myself and my fellow guests will definitely be making a return visit!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Dear deirdrem798, thank you for your recent review of the Riverbank House Hotel. I appreciate very much the time you have put into your description of our hotel & service, very informative indeed. You described exactly what we try to achieve in our day to day business. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and for your special mention of Barry, thank you. Kind regards, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EleanorS wrote a review Aug 2020
Western Ireland, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had lunch here. Three children in our party of five, all of whom were thoroughly sick of the goujons and chips on offer everywhere else! I counted 14 dinner options on the children's menu alone. They were delighted to have such choice. They also had a range of fabulous desserts for the kids and the waitress gave them each a Kinder egg which was such a lovely touch. The food was absolutely delicious and service extremely prompt, professional and friendly. We immediately booked to go back the next day. Apart from the food the hotel itself is full of character and well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear eleanor s, apologies for the delay in responding but appreciate your time in reviewing the Riverbank House Hotel. Delighted you and your children enjoyed your visits to the Riverbank and equally our children's menu. We try to have something to suit all age groups and pleased to hear the younger guest approves! Best wishes, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jess W wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for just one night with my partner as we were attending a wedding nearby. The room was spacious and the shower was very good. The one thing I wanted to comment on was how amazing and friendly the staff were during our brief stay. Loretta on the front desk was so welcoming from out initial check in, ensuring a room was ready for us when we arrived before check in time and allowed us a later check out. She took the time to welcome us and signposted us to parking. On check out the hotel contacted to say I had left an earring in the room which they kindly posted to me as we had already left wexford.
Even though we only had a brief stay I would definitely recommend the riverbank for the staff alone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear jessw294, apologies for the delay in responding but appreciate your time in reviewing the Riverbank House Hotel. Thank you your kind words and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully won't be too long before you're back with us again? Best wishes, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M58 wrote a review Sept 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately the hotel is very shabby but clean. Room was awful. Very poor lighting, heavy doors and room decor resembled a convent. Staff were lovely and genuinely tried to help when I expressed dissatisfaction with the room. The hotel is in a prime location overlooking the river but very tired and dull. Shame really as so much potential if the awful lighting, stiff doors and dark rooms were given a makeover. It would make such a huge difference to put in light coloured carpets and paint the dark furniture pastel. Unfortunately though, none of the hotel rooms appear to have any decent views. The little beer garden was very pretty.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colm Campbell, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear mr58an, apologies for the delay in responding but appreciate your time in reviewing the Riverbank House Hotel. You have given me a lot to ponder upon, I thank you very much your appreciation of my colleagues, just so sorry you didn't fully enjoy your stay. Our Victorian style we settled on many years ago and do understand it is not in everyone's taste. All the same I'm happy to take your suggestions on board and see what simple changes I can make. Thank you again for taking the time to write, hopefully you will consider staying with us again. Kind regards, Colm Campbell General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SmeeLondon wrote a review Nov 2022
Sutton, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at this delightful hotel from 23 to 26 October, in connection with the Wexford Festival Opera.

The bedrooms are most comfortable - and very quiet if one is located away from the main road, which is between the back of the hotel and the Slaney river.

Wexford Town is across the bridge; a ten minute walk. There are pleasant 'country' walks from the hotel along the sea shore.

Breakfasts are excellent, with orders individually prepared rather than helping oneself from a buffet. We favoured such an arrangement.

The staff were unfailingly pleasant and efficient. Indeed, the friendly and helpful manner in which they conducted their duties contributed greatly to our having a truly excellent - if all too brief - holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Browne, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2022
Dear SMEEBYES I'm delighted that both you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Riverbank House Hotel and thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. Hopefully if you get the opportunity to return it will be for a longer duration and we may even be able to arrange some of that famous Sunny South East sunshine which has been so lacking in recent week Warmest regards Barry & all the Riverbank team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sunnymommy22 asked a question Jan 2020
New Jersey60 contributions15 helpful votes
Is the hotel close to beaches and the town and restaurants ?
Answer from wedonttalkanymore
Wexford, Ireland8 contributions2 helpful votes
10 mins drive to Curracloe beach, 5 mins walk to the town across Wexford bridge!
ann291 asked a question Oct 2016
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
Just wondered. Is there a swimming pool.
Answer from Monika K
Klaipeda, Lithuania53 contributions26 helpful votes
Don't think so, but there is beside hotel is swimming pool and gym , to walk from hotel around 20 sec :)
Donbard asked a question Feb 2016
Shropshire26 contributions13 helpful votes
Are there tea/coffee making facilities in rooms please ?
Answer from eaagle
Blarney, Ireland44 contributions27 helpful votes
Yes
Chriswild31 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Ireland268 contributions113 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very few parking spaces belonging to the hotel (Free) car park directly opposite is €2 on exit but takes cash only."
Read full review
juliajhamblet@hotmail.com wrote a tip May 2023
London, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy!"
Read full review
wexfordtourist wrote a tip Apr 2023
Wexford, Ireland167 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bedrooms old and not fit for purpose and lack comfort."
Read full review
Anne R wrote a tip Jan 2023
Dublin, Ireland11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"TRY THE SCONES, THEY ARE TO DIE FOR!!! "
Read full review
Peter B wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the walk across the bridge and try elsewhere."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wexford area.
PRICE RANGE
€96 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riverbank hotel wexford
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty WexfordWexford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVERBANK HOUSE HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Wexford, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Riverbank House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Riverbank House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Opera House (0.9 km), The Twin Churches: Church of the Assumption and Church of the Immaculate Conception (0.9 km), and Maggie May's Bar Wexford (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverbank House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Riverbank House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Riverbank House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverbank House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Vista Cafe Restaurant, 10 West Bistro & Cocktail Lounge, and CDMX.
Is Riverbank House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Wexford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Riverbank House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Riverbank House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Riverbank House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Selskar Abbey (0.8 km), The Bull Ring (0.8 km), and Westgate Heritage Tower (1.3 km).
Does Riverbank House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Riverbank House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Wexford HotelsWexford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WexfordHotels near Riverbank House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire